Ratings based on 625 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canberra

good location and nice building

Posted May 19, 2017
everything is beyond average except the thin wall. we stayed 2 nights at the corner room and we can hear clearly the couple next door XXOO......
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Historic hotel close to Manuka Oval

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: Staff helpful and friendly/room comfortable, well appointed and clean.
Cons: Parking can be a bit of an issue
Location: Well located property, within walking distance of Manuka Oval, with villages of Manuka and Kingston nearby.
Check-in handled professionally but room type requested was not allocated. Hotel is being upgraded tastefully but no longer has bar and dining facilities which was part of this property's attraction. My friends and I have been staying at The Brassey for a number of years on an annual basis - it's been our preferred accommodation following an AFL match at Manuka Oval. Now, it's disappointing not to be able to sit around a cosy bar and enjoy the company of fellow guests following a footy game, and have to venture out into Canberra's chilly night to have a meal when it was so good heading downstairs to a dining room which ticked all the boxes.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Renovations, renovations

Posted May 3, 2017
Brassey is in the middle of renovations. You might just stay at Realm across the road.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from darwin

good location, comfortable bed, but no breakfast

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: good heritage type of accommodation, reasonable price as I got the rate on special offer,
Cons: no breakfast room. Offers on-the-run food. No breakfast food selection as most hotels have. Resto is across the road 100 meters. LOL.
Location: good for one night accommodation. mainly for cheap and convenience. But dead place.
just right. nothing exemplary. took the cheap offer for one night accommodation. Standard room is ideally for one person. Too squashy otherwise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Comfortable place to stay in Canberra

Posted Apr 25, 2017
The hotel room was clean and spacious. The staff were polite and helpful. Would definitely return or recommend to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to bars and restaurants

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Hotel was recently renovated. Room was clean and comfortable. Will be back next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Excellent hotel - great find!

Posted Apr 13, 2017
The Brassey was one of the best hotels I have stayed in in a long time. I got an excellent rate and was impressed by the room, the friendliness of the staff.Plus the hotel's location is ideal for checking out the key galleries and museums. I'd definitely return at a later date.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

quiet place in canberra

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Pros: The quiet rooms, friendly staff, where it is situated
Location: Good eating places at nearby Kingston within walking distance, and close enou to the lake to walk
Nice and quiet hotel in leafy part of Canberra, close to good eating and walks along the Lake, as well as many attractions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Walking distance to Galleries
Location: No restaurant meant we went exploring for meals nearby. successfully!
I booked 3 rooms for 4 people. It seemed a little strange that the married couple were not given the largest room. Other than that we had a great time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Picturesque and charming

Posted Mar 19, 2017
This hotel is definitely value for money. Picturesque, walking distance to the cultural precinct, and quiet at night! There is no room service that we could find and the bathrooms are quite cramped - but the concierge is 24/h and helpful, and there are plenty of cafes in a short walk;