Ratings based on 1,787 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing that double booking was charged

Posted May 20, 2017
While the hotel was a pleasant place to stay it was disappointing that a named guest who was inadventenly double booked was charged as a "no show", even though they did attend and were charged for the original booking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great base for a longer stay

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Great breakfast, friendly staff, big modern rooms
Cons: Parking, especially on busy evenings. Loved it was free, but not many options once the few spots available were gone.
Location: On Northbourne, but without the noise. Easy enough to get into Braddon / Civic
Stayed here for 4 nights. Great big room, comfortable bed, modern and up-to-date. No noise from Northbourne Ave either which was great. Very friendly staff, and a fantastic buffet breakfast which was included in our rate. Food was pretty good quality too so definitely no complaints. Only concern was that the carpark, whilst free, didn't have too many spaces available - a real struggle during peak periods, and no real alternative parking areas around. Really enjoyed our stay and would absolutely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good hotel easy walking to shops

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: have stayed here before and staying again in June good hotel
Cons: the food at breakfast was cold and the guy who cleans the tables doesn't 'like his job never smiles easy
Location: easy walking to the city bit scary at night very dark near shops
handy to every think staff at hotel friendly good room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gosford

Good affordable hotel

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: Excellent breakfast included in rate, plus good menu for evening dining at reasonable prices. Quality rooms.
Canberra Rex has recently been modernised. Very nice hotel, good location for our needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Recently refurbished, but was presently surprised

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Standard of finish of the rooms was excellant. service from front desk was great
Cons: Nothing
Location: We were working at Parliament house as contractors, so it was just 10 min drive away
Parking was at a premium and initially had to park in street because of building works , but Concierge offered to repark car in hotel later in evening when space became available. dinner was great, and the breakfast was also above average My room upgrade to a suite ( I booked 5 Rooms) was much appreciated, and my guests thought there rooms were better than I was going to get them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

good hotel close to the city and shops

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: breakfast quick check in
Cons: breakfast hot food was not hot guy doing the cleaning at the breakfast area didn't like his job not a happy person
Location: short walk to the buses good food area and close to the shopping mall
after a long trip to Canberra was good to get a quick check in and find a well appointed room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Relaxing Stay in Canberra

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: Comfortable and quiet.
Location: Close to shops, cafes.
The staff were welcoming and helpful at this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel in convenient location

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: The convenience of a nicely presented hotel with a good dining room and parking.
Cons: For an overnight stay the hotel fulfilled our requirements.
Location: The location being on Northbourne Avenue provides access to all major highlights. We visited the National and Portrait Gallery and the High Court.
The hotel was in a location that suited our planned activities and with parking provided it made our stay very comfortable and conveniently situated. We found the hotel staff to be very professional and helpful. As we had driven from Sydney straight to the Versailles exhibition we were then pleased to find the dining room to be so pleasant in the hotel as we preferred to stay in the hotel for the evening. We enjoyed a very good dinner and also the next morning had breakfast in the hotel which we found to be pleasantly presented. Our stay was short but professionally handled.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Quiet location.

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Quiet, clean and close to where family live. It was within our price range too.
Cons: Sachet type toiletries would be easier to use, and more clothes hangers too.
Location: Location of the hotel was for us, very convenient.
Very comfortable but there was not a comfortable sofa type chair to sit in whilst watching TV. Guests have to sit on the bed which is not good. Room was a tad too small for us - not much space for suitcases etc but it was clean and comfortable with good air conditioning and although on a main road, very quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Two nights in Canberra

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Travelled to Canberra to see the War Museum. The hotel had the most affordable rates and "extras". Unlike most other hotels, the Rex did not charge for parking, wifi or papers etc. To "seal the deal" we even got a bottle of nice wine in the room and a glass of champers on arrival !! The location is in easy walking distance from Lonsdale St. where most restaurants and bars are. The staff were very welcoming and extremely helpful. The hotel itself is a well presented and comfortable place with a good dining/breakfast area. The dinner was very nice (not pricey) and the cooked breakfast had everything except fried eggs and tomato juice- but no complaints from us !!! Recommend as comfortable, well placed and affordable.