Ratings based on 183 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Quiet hotel easy walk to restaurants

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Beautiful newly ferbished room. Tea and coffee in room and fridge. Staff very helpful on desk. Filled our thermos and froze our freezer bricks. Breakfast was excellent. Parking off street free and easy access. Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Canberra access

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Centrally conveniently located, very good parking facilities, excellent breakfasts and, very well maintained. Has everything one would expect of a high class hotel. Rooms are very well maintained and very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Clean and confortable

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Pros: Location, like new hotel
Cons: all fine
Recently renovated, clean and confortable room has Gym and indoor pool
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Wellington, NZ

Very nice and pleasant stay

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Pros: The service was great. Our requests were readily given. I especially liked the wide corridors which makes the common areas spacious.
Cons: Maybe installing a full length mirror in the room.
Location: It is very close to the Canberra Centre mall and Australian National University. All other attractions are within easy reach.
We stayed in a 2 bdrm apartment adjacent to the main hotel for 3 nights and it was great. The apartment has a large living area with full kitchen facilities. The laundry has another WC which is convenient for the family. There are heat pumps in the living area and main bedroom which is good for any weather. The views of the tower and mountain from any room is nice. The saltwater swimming pool and gym at the Ground Floor is excellent for fitness. Also there is free secured parking at the basement which is handy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Building works closed off car pick up at times but ok.
Location: Could walk into city & shops, restaurants
Breakfast included in price. Good facilities. Bar & Restaurant service good. Staff always willing to answer questions
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Griffith, NSW

Hotel with great access to facilities

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Hotel was clean, had car spaces (limited), great breakfast, foyer to relax in, friendly staff
Location: Hotel is in a great location, very close to theatres, shopping centre, restaurants
Enjoyed our stay , hotel is in renovation, staff very helpful, rooms comfortable n clean, position great, was very quite but yet close to CBD. Walking distance to shops n buses to go to shows.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice & comfortable hotel.

Posted Dec 11, 2016
We had an overnight stay whilst in Canberra attending a concert & found the Rex hotel very nice & comfortable. We will definitely be staying here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Good location

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Pros: Excellent service and indoor pool; breakfast included
Cons: Dinner at restaurant was disappointing although buffet breakfast was good.
Location: We went to the National Museum which was only a short drive away
We enjoyed our stay at the Rex. It is a reasonably priced hotel near all tourist sites.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel but shame its near housing commission

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: how big the room was.. its a fabulous room
Cons: nothing- everything about my stay was great!!
Location: Location is great as only a short taxi ride to the city but again a shame that there is housing commission around as it lets the hotel down.
this hotel is great!! Great location, great service but the area around the hotel made me feel unsafe with my car.. leaving it right near the housing commission place..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Sydney

A pleasant place to stay.

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Pleasant staff and accommodation.
Cons: nothing
Location: see above
I have been staying at the Rex each time I have been in Canberra since I was there in 2013. A previous visit was for a drive around the city in 1970. Upgrading of room and facilities is much appreciated although it wasn't bad before hand.. For those in town for a few days it is a good place to start tripping around with a short bus trip to the centre and busses from there. They have done well.