Ratings based on 1,618 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Lovely Hotel

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Pros: The staff are an asset, the Hotel is in a great location, very nice looking Hotel, they have been refurbishing so it's looking very smart.
Cons: It would be good if they put an exhaust fans in the bathroom
Location: There are good cafes and restaurants and you can walk to the Centre easily. There are shops nearby as well.
We had a 2 night stay, it was very good service, the room was immaculate, very comfortable. The staff there were wonderful very helpful and friendly. We stayed Friday & Saturday night, on Saturday night came home one evening and there was a party downstairs, which was right below our room.and very noisy. The Hotel attendant was wonderful he happily suggested we take a room at the back of the Hotel so we moved and it was a restful night. We wpuld happily stay there again, and would recommend the Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

A pleasant 3 night stay

Posted Jan 12, 2016
Pros: Renovations good improvement
Cons: Clean the windows from outside to remove the cobebs
Location: Close to lonsdale st restaurants
Overall very good. This was my second stay at the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Recently refurbished

Posted Nov 26, 2015
Recently refurbished, nice bathroom although small. Well presented and clean. Breakfast was not as good as it could have been, fruit a little tired and eggs a bit glutinous. Staff very pleasant. No power to the hotel on our arrival, staff were informative and apologetic
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 8, 2015
Clean, organised and fully equipped hotel. Had a wonderful experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Renovated but needs more work

Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: As above
Cons: As above
Location: Centrally located
The only things in the fridge were small milk containers - all but 1 were frozen solid. There was insufficient room between the table and bed to comfortably sit down and let another person pass. Water pressure in shower was low. Otherwise the room facilities were good. Breakfast was generally good but we thought it hilarious that the signs saying eggs, bacon etc were in front of containers that all had something different in them. After the renovations they are trying hard but at present have not reached a high standard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wodonga

Great location on avenue

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Pros: Location , price , incl breakfast
Cons: It will improve with the reno's
Location: Close to CBD , uni's etc
Friendly staff , good parking , undergoing renovations , so improving.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Missed the mark

Posted Oct 25, 2015 on Lastminute
Booked spa suite arrived told we were upgraded put in another room very disappointed after going and complaining were given our spa suite next day and realising the other room we considered a down grade very disappointing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lawrence from MURWILLUMBAH

REXELENT

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Oct 16, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Clean
Cons: Noise from workers, and instant refund of security deposit upon checkout.
Location: Hand enough location, not a very good car park.
Stayed one night at the Rex, booked online & paid in full, upon check in was also then required to pay &150.00 security deposit, questioned it, but they said it was standard practice, & it would be refunded, that it was a hold & it would be reversed, was then told it would take 3-5 days to refund the money, my money, not some cyber money on hold, my cash funds that came from my bank account. My question is, if a security deposit is required, then why is it not refunded upon checkout ? No use of the mini bar, no damages account pre paid, how can they justify holding funds for up to 5 working days ? Just a rip off ! After I checked in, I observed another customer being given the option of paying the security deposit in cash, to be refunded.. That would require a return of the cash upon checkout, fair I say, well why doesn't everyone have that option.. It is also undergoing refurbishment, but it would be more courteous to have workman banging away after 8 in the morning, very disjointed place to stay, will not return.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Brendan

Posted Oct 15, 2015 on Hotels
hotel wasnt to bad. parking was very limited. hotel needs work