Ratings based on 232 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Underwhelming and overpriced

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Absolutely nothing
Cons: Just about everything, or halve the price to reflect the true value it offers
I have rarely stayed in any accommodation which offered such poor value. The price was much more than much better accommodation I have experienced, in Canberra and elsewhere in Australia. The apartment was pokey, poorly appointed and, most importantly for Canberra in the middle of winter, very poorly heated. We huddled under coats and spare blankets every night to keep warm in the living area, despite cranking the air-conditioning up the the maximum temperature. The bathroom was minuscule and did not even have adequate towels rails. This was not a serviced apartment so having damp towels piled up on the one towel rail was a bit of an issue after a few days. And did I mention the filth-encrusted exhaust fan in the bathroom which didn't even work? Or the sofa that sagged in the middle because of a broken supporting frame? Or the bed that squeaked every time you moved even slightly? Or the spider webs in the room corners? Of most concern, perhaps, was the extremely misleading photos of the rooms that were posted on the website. We booked on the basis of what it appeared to offer, but the reality fell far short of this. In summary, this place is nothing short of a deceptively presented rip-off.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by Janell , Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for feedback. We will pass this on to the relevant departments. We are sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay as we would have hoped. We note that in correspondence with you through courtesy messages we were not made aware of any issues. Neither were we privy to any discomfort with heating, cleanliness of the unit etc when we collected your check-in form. Such comments would have lead us to having housekeeping service revisit your room, additional portable heaters provided and any furnishing that was damaged replaced. Or we would have even moved you to another room. So this is a cowardly and disappointing way to address your concerns when you had any opportunity to do so during business hours or via our 24hr service line. Our rooms are all clean by a professional cleaning service here in Canberra and we will print and send this review for their immediate attention. We would be happy for you to contact us to further clarify what pictures you thought were misleading as we take your comfort extremely seriously and aim to always provide accurate offerings. It is by guest feedback that we grow the most and even though this one was an unfair account of your stay we thank you for letting us know. And thank you again for taking the time to review. Regards
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Different location to what is in add

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Truth in advertising
Location: Address different to where you stay.
The main reason I picked this is it advertised free wi-fi. There is a pay for available if it worked. The address is not the address advertised. Breakfast is advertised as available again there is none. It is a comfortable place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2017 by Canberra Short Term and Holiday Accommodation , Hotel Management
Hi Thank you for the time you took to review. I must note this the first time we have had such comments. We clearly highlight that breakfast is the continental pack on our profile. We also have free wifi (noting on our profile which rooms) and if you were having difficulties we would have happily had a staff member assist you. I checked the details on our profile and our address is correct. As your comments were done anonymously we cannot really make a full rebut to your statement with out all the details. We have never had any guests state this comment regarding the comment.I assure you all aspects advertised are correctly described. We would however be happy to address it directly if you which to contact us.
5 out of 5
by Alison

School holiday fun

Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Hotels
Hi accommodation was very good. We had 2 rooms, 2 bathrooms and a generous entertainment area with bbq. Would suggest replacing Toaster - could not adjust setting... set to burn. Kitchen floor was a bit sticky and oven needed a wipe out. Otherwise terrific location and lots of parking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017
Hi Alison Thank you for your review. We always aim to provide the best comfort and convenience although we are at a budget price, so this was a wonderful read. We are happy that the accommodation was good and we will speak to housekeeping regarding the floors. Thank you for noting this. We will replace the toaster and sorry if this inconvenience you during your stay. Thank you again and we sincerely hope we get an opportunity to welcome you again soon. Kind Regards Janell
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melb

Convenient for a short stay

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Convenient and quiet position. Room was clean, well presented and well equipped for self catering.
Cons: Staff on site, to be able to assist with local knowledge and to empty bin in room. Apparently this is the guest's responsibility. Car parking is not
Location: Shopping strip wth restaurants and bar nearby. Not far by car to NGA, lake etc
The position is convenient. The Room was comfortable and well-equipped but dark. I would recommend asking for a room on the north side of the building. There are no staff on site and to me this anonymity is a major disadvantage.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by Janell, Hotel Management
Hi Julie Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are happy that for the most part you had an enjoyable stay. The suggestions you have noted will definitely be considered. We thought the Canberra magazine would have been an adequate travel guide but we will definitely aim to provide more information in the future. Thank you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queensland

NOT OUR LUCKY DAY

Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: EVERYTHING WAS GOOD EXCEPT FOR THE THINGS ABOVE THAT NEEDED FIXING
Cons: THE ABOVE ITEMS - WE LEFT A NOTE
Location: WE HAD LIVED IN A FLAT OPPOSITE 40 YEARS AGO AND BEFORE THAT WE BOTH LIVED IN NARRABUNDAH WHEN WE WERE CHILDREN, SO WE LIKED THE LOCATION
CHANGED THE ROOM ON US WHEN WE ARRIVED THE TOILET WATER WAS TURNED OFF THE AIR CON SWITCH TURNED OFF IN THE BATHROOM THE LOCK ON THE DOOR ONLY HELD BY ONE SCREW THE TAP LEAKED IN THE BATHROOM SINK ALL THE TIME CHANGED THE SECURITY CODE TO THE OUTSIDE DOOR WITHOUT TELLING US
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by Janell, Hotel Management
Hi Anne Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are sorry to read that your stay was not as you would have hoped. We sent correspondence by sms to all guest regarding the change to the door code for their security and comfort. We are sorry if you missed this, as it is never our wish to inconvenience a guest. As explained when we greeting each other, we have spoken to housekeeping and emphasized that all necessary switches must be turn on after cleaning. So thank you again for noting this. In regards to arrival and room changes, our email log shows that 3 days prior to your arrival you were sent correspondence noting the room upgrade to the larger studio. We again tried to contact you by mobile before your arrival to ensure you received the details but our call was not answered. I again stress this is not at all what we would have like for your stay and apologize for the inconveniences.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Trouble with checkin but other than that loved it

Posted Apr 7, 2017 on Wotif
Problems with check in but was made up with a late check out Beautiful ladies that work here I'll be back frequently
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by Janell, Hotel Management
Hi Thank you for the time you took to review. We are sorry you have problems with self check-in but we are absolutely delighted you would consider us again for your next visit. We look forward to seeing you soon. Regards
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth

Tried to accommodate

Posted Apr 2, 2017
We had three families staying. One room was upgraded which was lovely. Our first room was on the bottom floor with light flowing into the bedroom at night. Bedroom door didnt shut prperly and rail broken in bathroom. However aftet complaining the staff went to great length to try and reaccommodate. Our new room was better however noisy hot water system which woke us each time someone in the apartments used water. This is only a mid range apartment but they do their best to accommodate. Staff were amazing.Just think some more money needs to go into the place to keep it competitive and in good working order.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by Janell, Hotel Management
Hi Jenni Thank you for the time you took to review your stay with us. We will definitely take all you have said into consideration as it is definitely constructive comments. It is feedback like this that helps us to improve. I sorry the first room was not quite what you were hoping and we happy the move around made it a bit more comfortable for you. Our rooms are all equipped with fire safety doors so guests can always exit but once locked no one can enter. We hope we get an opportunity to welcome you again and from all of us here we truly hope you have a long and happy marriage. Kind Regards
4 out of 5
by Malcolm

Good basic accommodation

Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
Sounds basic accommodation that was good value. In absence of staff notes and guidance could have been better
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017
Hi Thank you for the time you took to review. We are happy for the most part that it was value for money. We have noted your comments regarding notes left for guests. We are always seeking ways to improve and will definitely take your note into consideration. Kind Regards
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice and clean hotel

Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Hotels
It was good. It is close to bus stop.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are always pleased when our guests are happy so this was a wonderful read. We hope we get an opportunity to welcome you again. Kind Regards Janell
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 5, 2017 on Wotif
The room was not clean. There was a dead domestic cocrach at the kitchen and a lit of dust and rubish under the bed. The bathroom was very nausy with almost constantly running water in the tolet. The place was smelly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2017 by Janell , Hotel Management
Hi Ms Barrett, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us during your stay. We are sorry that your stay with us was not received as positively as we would have hoped. Following the email from our Managing Director, generally our cleaning contractors are very good and the information was sent to their management. We provided a 24hr service number and if this was utilized we would have aimed to rectify the situation by relocating you to another unit. Feedback is such a valuable source of information, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and enables us to continually strive to improve our standards. Hopefully get the opportunity to welcome you in the future. Once again please accept our sincere apology. Regards