Ratings based on 1,863 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

excellent location, old, no free WIFI

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: so close to city walk
Cons: consider offering free WIFI
Location: walking distance to city walk
19.- WIFI or 10.- if you join their club. ridiculous pricing!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Syndey

good location, but old, rundown & expensive WIFI

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: fix the toilet
Location: good location close to city walk
The toilet didn't flush things away and even after a request to fix it, it wasn't working til the end of our stay. They are charging 19.- for WIFI. I would expect this to come as a free service in a downtown hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Cons: Maybe a bit of renovation.
Location: Very central. Canberra is a city with a lot to offer to visitor.
Location, room, breakfast excellent. Very good inside. Staff very helpful and friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Queensland

Clean, comfortable, centrally located hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: Central location, comfortable and rooms are quiet.
Cons: Bathrooms need updating and food is below par in terms of quality and price.
Location: Australian National War Memorial, Questacon, Australian Museum, Houses of Parliament, the High Court of Australia, shopping venues all within 3km.
Rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable but bathrooms are very dated (need to stand in the tub for a shower, which uses a plastic shower curtain). Staff were very obliging and special thanks to Paula at reception, who is a real asset to the hotel. In-house meals are over priced and offerings are limited, but there is a large number of restaurants and food outlets catering for a wide variety of tastes and offering competitive prices located in the Canberra Plaza, only a few hundred metres from the hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gosford, NSW

Nice hotel, close to shopping and restaurants

Posted May 10, 2016
Great hotel. Lovely clean room with good quality furnishings. Comfy bed although the pillows weren't great. Could hear neighbours through the walls, woke us up in the morning and they weren't being very noisy.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from perth

Perfect location

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Very comfortable and the quality of the food from room service was excellent
5 out of 5
by Pineapple from Granville, Sydney 2142

average

Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Hotels
Though the room itself is lovely and up to date, the bathroom is very old school. Still has a shower curtain with a not so excellent and tight shower. (I was later told at reception upon check out there was works to upgrade). There was no hair dryer, which is weird. The curtains were slightly tacky and worn out, requiring a pole to wind up or down. The bed itself is extremely comfortable. We ordered movies off the TV at $13 each, which I found expensive. We ordered food service and the soup tasted as if it were from a can. The mash potato was dry and the chips from the fish and chips weren't terrible, but weren't amazing. But the breakfast buffet was delicious and fresh. Staff are incredibly friendly. Parking is easy. Overall I will return. But the things mentioned above weren't worth paying $400 for two nights with a title of "Superior room".
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Two night stay for school holidays

Posted Apr 23, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Location is great. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. Nice and quiet ambiance. Red Salt is an excellent restaurant.
Cons: I've raised this before - the single lift to the car park! Literally took 10 minutes to leave. Carpark access tickets failing to work at the boom gate
Last minute decision to splurge out for our last two days on the road. Have stayed here many times for work and the advertised rate was good in comparison to that offered in peak times.
4 out of 5
by Jenny

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

convenient & food great

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: room was comfortable
Cons: would have liked to be able to sit straight in front of the TV when watching instead of on an angle
Location: very central to the city stores for shopping
found the food good but only problem I had was being on my own it was difficult to keep my table at breakfast without staff thinking I had left while going to the food bar. I came back to find my table cleared and someone else being allocated to it