Ratings based on 1,384 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south coast nsw

Lovely climate and ambiance

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Small room but enough space for us. Very clean and comfortable. Excellent restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: General layout of public areas - bar - lounging area
Cons: Food selection, keeping trays stocked, food hot and fresh
Location: Pretty good location for access
Pleasant hotel to stay in, rooms to a good standard, public area and restaurant nicely laid out. Breakfast was a bit disapointing - not really value for money. I would stay at the hotel again but would probably eat somewhere else. Canberra is known for its food venues.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yeppoon

Beautiful hotel close to CBD and shops

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: The Hotel is beautiful inside and out, the open auditorium and restraunt was very appealing and the secured underground parking was great.
Cons: Faster internet service
Location: Close to the CBD and Shops
Our stay was overnight, the hotel facilities were very pleasing, large bathroom and very comfortable beds made our stay enjoyable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mona Vale

Convenient location close to many restaurants

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: Small and personal
Cons: Size of the bath
Location: Many great restaurants and shops in Manuka and Kingston
Great location and undercover parking ideal for cold winter Canberra nights
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney, nsw

Great location becoming dated

Posted May 1, 2017
Good sized rooms​, our suite was huge, but overall the hotel is getting dated and in need of a big makeover. Very pleasant staff and the buffet breakfast was good without being outstanding. Great location and good value for money.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Hi there, Thanks for the feedback. Our refurbishments have commenced across the 3rd level and exterior of the hotel and I am pleased to see that these did not affect your time with us. Hope to see you again soon so that you can check out the changes!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sunshine Coast QLD

Enjoyable

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: The fact that the staff always said goodbye and welcome back every time I went out.
Location: Close to everything.
Close to Parliament House and public transport. Friendly helpful staff and comfortable bed. Great food at the hotel restaurant Booked.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Hi Allison, Thanks for the top feedback, we love it! Hope to see you again soon
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

How can this be 2017?

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: Not too muc
Cons: INTERNET
Location: -
The room was just fine. Nicely refurbished after many years of service. Two things made the visit disappointing. Room 1024 seemed to be above the kitchen area. This meant that a compressor worked all night with both noise and vibration. Secondly and just as importantly, a deplorable internet service. Australia is supposed to be in the high speed age. The connection was less than an old "dial up" service. No way to connect to anything other than really slow mail download. The public wouldn't accept 50 volts through the power outlets. Why do hoteliers imagine that they accept such poor internet services?
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Hi there, Thank you for letting us know of your stay. You have given us much to consider and both items will be easily rectified after an air con service and wifi access point restart. Thanks for sticking with us!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Wollongong

Family getaway -perfect distance to all attraction

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Location: Our family visited Questacon, War Memorial and the Mint
Would recommend Hotel as it is close to all Canberra attractions. Breakfast was fine. Room clean
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

Clean, comfortable and central.

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Lastminute
We stayed here as a family, and found the room to be clean and comfortable, and the location was close to everything we wished to see on our visit to Canberra. There are some model dinosaurs there from the National Dinosaur Museum, and they were right outside our room. Needless to say the kids were so excited every time we walked out the door.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Hotel rooms are soooooo tired.

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Wotif
The carpets are passed its use by date....completely worn. Room smelled like dirty carpet.