Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Victoria - Australia

Easy sort stay

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Close to shops and a good central location the modern, comfortable room was exactly what we were after as we passed through. We will definitely visit again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Wonderful hotel.

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing. This mid-priced hotel is very well planned and guest oriented.
The East Hotel is an incredible hotel. Everything they offer is focused on enhancing the guest's experience and insuring their comfort. The rooms are spacious, new, and beautifully furnished. The king size beds are comfortable and don't sag in the middle like so many other hotel beds. You may even request another pillow if it's not to your liking! The internet is fast and reliable. Complimentary bicycles are available for a relaxing ride around the nearby park. There is even a complimentary onsite do-it-yourself laundry (as well as a paid laundry service if you're not up to the task!). The location is in a quiet area of the city within easy driving distance to the Australian War Museum and the National Museum of Australia.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great hotel - shame they charge extra for parking

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: Apartments are spacious and have everything you need
Cons: Being charged for parking. Most people have to drive in Canberra. Why not just incorporate into the room rate?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Very modern but comfortable.

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Location: Loads of restaurants within walking distance.
Great bathroom. nice to be able to open the door for some fresh air rather than always relying on the aircon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Hotel is ok

Posted Aug 17, 2016
I choose this hotel.because I thought that it still had the rotisserie. But due to a change in ownership the rotisserie was closed down and instead an intalian restaurant was erected which is very disappointing. The East Hotel was famous for its rotisserie but without it looses ita appeal. Comfort wise the windows are not insulating guests from car and road noises. Overall while staff is friendly and hotel.is modern and well.located it lost its edge with the closing of the rotisserie. And thus nothing differentiates this hotel from other hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glenhaven NSW

Welcoming Atmosphere

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Great decor, Joe's Bar terrific for dinner, warm and friendly interior, highly recommended
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Fabulous location & Hotel

Posted Apr 5, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Maybe bar open a little later on a Saturday night - it closed at 10pm
Location: Wow amazing restaurant strips of Manuka and Kingston, Manuka Oval for Cricket and Football like 2 minute walk, can walk to lake Burley Griffin
Two great restaurant strips in walking distance, Manuka Oval for the football a stones throw, great bar and restaurant facilities, plenty for the children and amazing room - we will be back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful

Posted Feb 28, 2016
The hotel was close to everything.The staff were amazing and very efficient.We received a complimentary bottle of wine as it was our wedding anniversary,and the staff went to all the trouble of getting all information together for some nice places to dine in the area.The room would be by far the best ive ever stayed in.Super clean and modern and very cosy bed.Would highly recommend to anyone and will definately be returning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern Highlands, NSW

Close to Manuka Shops and Cafes

Posted Feb 24, 2016
Pros: Roomy, modern and every thing you would expect from an apartment and very quiet. Close to cafes' and restaurants, supermarket. bottle shop.
Cons: A tiny complaint our room faced West and if the blinds weren't pulled down the aircon struggled for a while to catch up.After all it was February-HOT
Location: Manuka cafes, restaurants, shops, supermarket, liquor shop/s. Kingston Waterfront and National Gallery not far away. 10 mins by car to Central Mall.
What a find! Such a nice apartment/hotel. We have stayed in Manuka/Canberra before and would definitely stay here again. Attended the Tom Roberts Exhibition at the National Gallery which is only five minutes by car. Also about 1.7kms from Kingston Waterfront.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great all rounder

Posted Feb 23, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Not sure.
Location: Easy walk to Manuka restaurants, or Kingston waterfront. Also try the hotel's bar/restaurant Joe's, terrific service, wine and food.
Friendly and helpful staff, room format was generous and very practical, lovely and very clean, great toiletries provided, free loan of bikes, consideration shown to small children (even though we didn't travel with our children). There's nothing not to like about this hotel. We're already planning our return.