Ratings based on 1,138 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Traditional and elegant as always

Posted May 19, 2017
I stayed 4 night and was very happy and felt safe The room was clean and very comfortable I had room service dinners as I was working and I was disappointed in the quality of the food I ordered and couldn't eat it apart from the lamb I had one night was nice. Breakfast in the restaurant was self serve and is pretty expense for fruit and muesli and a cup of coffee. Hot breakfast cost even more and table service is minimal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Nice hotel

Posted May 8, 2017
Close to all key attractions and a very comfortable hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really beautiful hotel

Posted May 7, 2017
The hotel was lovely - comfortable with great facilities. The buffet dinner in the hotel was delicious!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 3, 2017
High quality. Old world style. Great staff. Lovely comfy bed!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Below expectations stay

Posted Apr 30, 2017
While the hotel premises are beautiful (art déco style) the room itself consists of two small one person beds (as if I was back in the years when I was a small kid having my own one person bed). Another negative point is the quality of the food: I had for lunch a burger which was burnt and for dinner a steak that was also burnt (fool me once, fool me twice..). Bottom line the Chef at the hotel needs to be replaced as it hurts the brand of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Nice location and Facilities

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: Room comfort
Cons: Renovations/ revamp put some new life into hotel
Location: Great location and activities. Cool place!
Had a great time, pleasant staff, awesome room cleanliness- definitely would go back!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Sleepless in Canberra

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Unfortunately we must have had a room next to the plant room or the like as there was a constant light drone and intermittent noise roughly every 1-2 minutes and more in the early morning that lasted for about 5 seconds which sounded like a motorcycle taking off at the lights. We rang the desk and asked for another room which they didnt have and asked if they had ear plugs which they also did not have and it was left at that. We had interrupted sleep the whole night and as our son was rushed to hospital and had brain surgery we had come up from Melbourne so we were already stressed and getting little sleep did not help. In the morning we spoke to the duty manager who was really of no help but offered us 1 free breakfast (not two??) which we declined. So in short we will most likely not stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Breakfast hmmmm.

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Rooms, style
Cons: Breakfast environment and cost
Location: Good location
The Hyatt still has some style and rooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfast is noisy crowded and just not value at $50. Stay there but eat out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ballarat

Close to everything I wanted

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: The staff were really helpful and kind, and made me feel comfortable when I was getting around on my walking frame.
Cons: Our room was a wee bit small and somewhat dark, but that didn/t matter much because we were so tired when we got back to our hotel each day.
Location: Everything we wished to see and access - was conveniently close, and the Hyatt Canberra was a dream to stay in.
as it was only a five day visit to Canberra it was very convenient to be able to visit most of the 'must see' galleries and museums. It was a wonderful trip, and everything I had wished for - and we even were able to go to the High Court where the full bench was sitting.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Terrible restaurant

Posted Apr 4, 2017
The restaurant let down a wonderful hotel. We ordered pre dinner drinks ( which were forgotten about) and they arrived as we were having the main course (from an a la carte menu). My wife's main course was cold. The head waiter should have arrived after the meal was served to ask if everything was satisfactory. VERY POOR SERVICE IN THE RESTAURANT.