Ratings based on 1,616 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AUS

Convenient and accessible

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Stopped in on way to Wedding. Really nice place, lovely gardens and the room was comfortable. The only downer was the room needs a bigger fridge with freezer compartment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Nice hotel with bonus microwave and toaster

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Great service clean modern bathroom king bed. Close to shops
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NSW coast

Good location, handy to the airport

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: The staff were friendly and obliging
Cons: Make those tiny rooms into singles, certainly not doubles.
Location: Although not in the CBD, is is handy for the airport and the War Memorial.
We stayed overnight in order to catch a flight the next morning. We had dinner in the Bistro which was okay, but overpriced for the quality of the meal. Breakfast was much better, though the buffet was limited. My sore point was the size of the room and especially the bathroom. I haven't stayed in such a small hotel room in Australia and the steep price was not justified. The toilet was placed sideways to the very narrow bathroom so your knees were nearly touching the opposite wall. Not good enough.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2017 by Patina, Hotel Management
Dear Gloria, thanks for letting us know about your stay. Whilst it was "OK" I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the size of the room and the bathroom. The rooms in the heritage section of the hotel are the smaller rooms we have, but if you chose to upgrade to a superior room, or a deluxe room they are both bigger in the bedroom and the bathroom. Our loft rooms are huge, with a separate lounge and dining area. Thanks again for your feedback and we do hope we have an opportunity to serve you better in the future. Kind Regards Patina Farnham General Manager Mercure Canberra
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Good location and in house services.

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: Overall it was good. The room was a little small but comfortable.
Cons: The TV took awhile to come on and chanel changing was slow. Could just be the brand. The was also some confusion about the $10 overnight parking fee.
Location: A great place to stay if doing research at the Australian War Memorial, about 10 minute walk away. Also shops 20 minutes in the opposite direction.
I was there for the dedication of the National Boer War Memorial. I ate most meals in the bistro. Service was good and food serves were generous and tasty. We also had a dinner in the Grovenor? Room and the steak was excellent.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney

Isolated! Musty!

Posted May 15, 2017
it started when we checked in around 7pm. The staff could not find my reservations as my name was misspelt. I will never book again with Expedia! Room musty. Dusty. Lean amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wollongong

Nice art deco hotel

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: Helpful, friendly staff, great breakfast, very comfortable room, nicely decorated room, good location, especially if going to see the War Memorial.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: AWM, near main road, but couldn't hear traffic noise.
Good parking, easy to find hotel, helpful, pleasant staff right from first contact, very friendly, helpful Kiwi man.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced

Posted Apr 30, 2017
The location was good with regards to sights. However I found that the hotel is starting to show it's age. Our room number 500 was too close to a huge work and maintenance area. There was constant noise in the morning and evening. I should have requested a room change. The breakfasts were very good, but I found the area dirty. The room had not been cleaned from the previous evenings supper. There was debris everywhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Close to war memorial Close to shops
Great experience here. Upgraded at check in due to Accor card status, I think Had a loft room and I was very nice indeed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Syd

Nice old lady style of Motel

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Older style motel
Cons: Dining room should be open EVERY night.
Nice to see an older style motel still used in these modern days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel with charme

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Wotif
Nice renovated hotel. Great breakfast and lovely rooms. Close to city center and to many attractions such as War Memorial.