Ratings based on 1,543 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Hotel was clean and staff were polite and friendly. Restaurant service was great and portions were big and tasty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central Coast, Australia

Great hotel in a great location.

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: Relatively small hotel, no high-rise. Easy parking. Great location. Spacious rooms.
Location: The location is great. It's next to the central shopping district in the Canberra CBD.
We enjoyed our recent stay at the Mercure hotel in Canberra. We were pleasantly surprised when we got upgraded to a very spacious loft suite. The location of the hotel is excellent--very close to the down town shopping district. The hotel has a good restaurant so you don't have to go out for breakfast or dinner if you don't feel like it. We will definitely come back to this hotel when visiting Canberra.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Restaurant service

Posted Mar 9, 2017
We waited for more than an hour for our meal it was appalling service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane Qld Aust

Nice old hotel, close enough to everything.

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Older Hotel, showing its age. The only negative was attention to detail in room cleaning
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wagga Wagga

Awesome and very close to CBD...

Posted Feb 1, 2017
The stay was awesome, very comfortable and most importantly the staff - they were amazing and very helpful as guide. I was new to Canberra and the way Staff guided me was incredible. I didn't require navigation :). Thanks Dawson and team.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Windsor NSW

Great location.

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: Building could be repainted outside.
Location: Close to the War Memorial and within easy reach to all the tourist attractions. Nice quiet location also.
Room very large and comfortable. Wasn't a fan of the shower should have full screen, water easily splashed onto tiles so you had to be careful. Good breakfast, friendly staff, nothing too much trouble. Location is fantastic tourist sites easy to drive too. Food at Bistro in the hotel was excellent. The hotel is a beautiful heritage hotel, could do with a repaint though on the outside. I would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Blue Mountains

Pleasant Hotel near CBD

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: It was all very pleasant, in a quiet quiet location. Liked it's "Old Canberra" styl
Cons: Furniture in rooms could be revamped. Remove the $10 per day parking fee.
Location: On the edge of the CBD and close to the War Memorial, the National Museum of Australia, and the National Art Gallery. Quiet, leafy area.
Pleasant hotel with sunny courtyards, excellent Dining Room and courteous, friendly staff throughout, Hotel is close to CBD and other attractions. Would recommend this hotel for a Canberra visit. Would like to visit in winter to take advantage of the Ice Rink. What a surprise!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Malvern Vic.

Hotel from hell! I am appalled.

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: Some staff tried - but it was a losing battle.
Cons: Can't think of anything that couldn't.
Location: Enjoyed the Versailles Exhibition at the National Gallery - absolutely no thanks to the Mercure Canberra.
On arrival were told our package excluded the advertised exhibition tickets and audio sets. (Extra costs to us despite my complaint!) Advertised 24 sq metre room was only 16 sq metre, smelt of damp, TV didn't work, free wi-fi activation turned invalid halfway through stay. Have been using same hotel since 1995 - never again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice from the outside

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Staff were friendly and helpful
Cons: New beds and thorough cleaning
Hotel gardens were beautifully presented and was well located with parking available (albeit at a minimal cost of $10) a night. Staff were welcoming and friendly. The breakfast menu was underwhelming and expensive so we opted to not eat there.Bed was a large king but the mattress was soft and old and pillows were huge which meant waking up with a sore back in the morning. Cobwebs hung from the ceilings which would explain the spider in the shower. Nice little patio with a table and chairs which we had to dust before using. Overall disappointing and would not be able to honestly recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mid North Coast NSW

Affordable and conveniently located

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Staff pleasant and helpful. Affordable central location
Cons: Bed linen quality, general maintenance
Location: Within walking distance of War Memorial and Canberra Centre Shops.
A brief stay to visit galleries and museum - hotel within reasonable taxi ride to venues and airport. "Superior room" with fair quality modern bathroom in refurbished old hotel. Quality uneven - nice bed but threadbare pillow slips, clean room but pieces of sticky tape on inside of windows, outlook over old garden shed. Room service meal included steak ordered "medium to well done and definitely not undercooked" but was inedible at medium rare to very rare. Most of the many windows in the rambling old building needing cleaning; garden tired and neglected looking; very odd what looked like a tiled indoor lap pool in the corridor but with sad looking fish - a fish tank is apparently the hotel owner's "signature" . Reception staff were pleasant and helpful - they offered an alternative room, had the tape removed from the window and did not charge for the undercooked meal.