Ratings based on 1,392 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Good location but room was run down and our room overlooked a rusty tin roof so I needed to keep the curtains drawn. Hotel lobby was lovely and staff very helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Reliable

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Always a pleasure to stay here. Clean, well equipped rooms with friendly staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Black Rock

The hotel was of average Standard.

Posted Apr 12, 2016
It is very unfortunate this hotel is below the standard I believe it could achieve. The furniture in the reception area has seen better days as has the carpet in the hallway. My room itself was well presented and clean and the staff were very friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from w

Tired but comfortable old hotel

Posted Mar 22, 2016
All very acceptable but the hotel is very tired with some modernisation done. Position is good however and it was quiet. Staff very helpful and pleasant. The bistro is ok but not really up to scratch
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Tired and overpriced

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Pros: The friendly pub atmosphere
Cons: Where to start. Demolition might be the best bet
Location: A long, hot walk through drab suburbia to get there.
I stayed two nights in the Hotel which has clearly passed it's glory days. A real rabbit warren, old and well worn. Expensive for what it was. Continental breakfast cost $19!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Old historical hotel (1927) but well maintained.

Posted Feb 22, 2016
Pros: Atmosphere. Real window that opened! (Air-conditioning option too, of course). Walk through from the carpark and enjoy the courtyard.
Location: It's not right in central Canberra but walkable. Close to the War Memorial, I noticed.
Very pleasant, best sleep for quite some time. I didn't get a chance to sample the dining areas. There are some good photos online.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Place was sericable, but as it is an old building, could have been "spruced u"
Location: Aust War Memorial; CBD, and Lonsdale ST Restaurants/Cafes are all within a 10 minute walk
Close to CBD, Aust War Memorial, and food district
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth

Superb. Could not fault the experience

Posted Feb 12, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Perfect from check-in to the room (spacious, clean, great shower, great bed, overlooking the courtyard) and all the their facilities. Very reasonably priced and only a 15 minute walk to where I needed to get to. Could not have been better. Would stay there again in a heartbeat and would recommend to others without hesitation.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

old style & out-dated hotel

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Pros: Big flat screen TV!
small room, small toilet, bed was too soft, doesn't like other Mercure Hotel at all...... Disappointed.....
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Beauty of bygone era

Posted Feb 2, 2016 on Lastminute
Lovely experience wish we could stay a bit longer. The hotel is impeccable but floors are squicky and uneven. But still beautiful and clean. With the price, I thought that's perfect!!!