Ratings based on 1,564 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Close to war memorial Close to shops
Great experience here. Upgraded at check in due to Accor card status, I think Had a loft room and I was very nice indeed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Syd

Nice old lady style of Motel

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Older style motel
Cons: Dining room should be open EVERY night.
Nice to see an older style motel still used in these modern days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice older style hotel, but renovated

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Comfortable, clean and close to most sights in Canberra (walking distance to war memorial)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane Australia

close to everything.

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Relaxed atmosphere.
Cons: A minor upgrade of the facilities nothing much just a general brightening up.
Location: Close to city, close to Australian War Memorial, public transport past door. Great for seeing Canberra.
Clean, big rooms, great restaurant, very helpful staff. Old fashioned courtesy and welcome. Much appreciated.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Don't stay at Mercure Canberra

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Improve the meals in bistro. Better seating would be nice too. Renovate the rooms. There was very poor lighting.
Location: Within driving distance to shops and restaurants.
AC did not work. Very cold room. Bistro meal was bad. Breakfast very ordinary. The whole place needs a lift.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Noise at hotel

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: Very clean, staff friendly
Location: War memorial just up the road and close to Canberra centre
We were at the front of the hotel and had trouble sleeping due to a constant noise throughout the night
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

It can be better

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, good location, competitive price.
Cons: Provide better air-con and provide slippers.
Location: 10 mins drive to ANU and CBD
I was quite excited when the reception told me they upgraded my room, so maybe that is why I was a bit disappointed. Start from the good things, the reception is very friendly and helpful. The location is not too far away from the CBD. The room I got was a suite style, two storey apartment. There was a kitchen equipped, two rooms with 1 king size bed and 2 single beds. However, there was no air-con in the rooms, and the two air-con in the lounge areas were not working very well to the point that I felt cold all the time in a cold Canberra night. The whole apartment is generally clean, but I could see spider web in the corner of the bathroom. There are no slippers provided.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ok

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Bar was good especially the staff, reception good but 2 bad marks for: - check out was at 11am but my swipe card did not work after 10am meaning I had to find a staff member to let me into my room - room was not cleaned until I asked, an oversight yes, but a pretty bad one for a hotel of this stature
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Do not trust reviews

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Complete re-fit!
Relying on reviews from a single website is a mistake we will not make again! How so many experienced reviewers rated Mercure Canberra Australia as Excellent and Very Good is a mystery. Built in 1927 and added to over the last 90 years has created a disorganised collection of rooms, corridors, entrances, stairways, levels and facilities that is now in need of a serious and major upgrade. Both outside and in, the general condition of the complex, fittings and furniture is rundown. Creaking floors, narrow corridors, surface wiring, added fire doors and poor quality repairs does not match the “Mercure” brand. Check in and check out was smooth and efficient and all members of the staff were friendly, happy and helpful. Our bed and linen was clean, fresh and in good condition. Parking is available onsite at $10 per day. We will not stay there again… Our room was in poor condition with mould and cobwebs in the very compact bathroom. Although the TV screen was large, it was a low-grade poor quality unit. Everywhere we looked, we saw disorganised equipment, furniture, supplies and boxes. The Bistro and bar are poorly maintained with a “pub” style atmosphere including sticky tables, empty salt & pepper, uninteresting menu and tired meal presentation. For those with any disability you will find steps everywhere, a maze of corridors and pathways, unfriendly furniture and a number of other issues including escape corridors blocked during the day with housekeeping trolleys
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Hotel was clean and staff were polite and friendly. Restaurant service was great and portions were big and tasty.