Ratings based on 339 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location, able to walk to shops and res

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Overall great experience, but needs more staff at front desk, waited 15 minutes to ckeck-in and 10 more minutes on separate occasion for other enquiries
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Pros: The location; the friendliness of the staff; the spiced salmon dinner.
Cons: Efficiency of staff; update the rooms (the bathroom in mine looked like a nursing home not a classy hotel); soundproofing. FREE WIFI PLEASE
Location: Walking distance, albeit longe, to galleries, parliament house, shops and museums.
I had stayed here a couple of times before and found it to be a good place to stay in Canberra, however this time I just felt it was all a bit mediocre - a disappointing experience generally. The location is good, it's quite a drawcard for me as I can walk to where I need to be. The in-house bar and bistro were also good, the dinner I had there was excellent and the breakfast was good enough (would have appreciated being told about the made-to-order eggs and coffee on the first morning rather than the last morning though). What I didn't like was that I did not get the room I booked and was placed into a disabled-accessible room. Now, I do think it's excellent that the hotel has these rooms, after all it is 2017. But - for me it was really uncomfortable. Everything was too low, especially the bathroom basin so that after three nights here, my back was aching from bending. It's hard and painful to brush your teeth over a low basin when you have a bad back! The basin itself was badly cracked -hygiene??? The room was not serviced one day, taking two attempts to get this resolved, finally at 9.30pm. I had to explain exactly what I wanted done to the reception staff (how hard can it be for someone working in a hotel to know that beds should be made; dirty towels replaced; and teabags etc resupplied). I found this very frustrating after a long day. It was also very noisy in my room with lots of loud kids and parents nearby talking til v late. And you have to pay for w
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from sydney

handy location

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Pros: service was great, especially in the dining room.
Cons: furnishings seemed quite dated; hall carpet looked waterstained
Location: located within walking distance to many restaurants and within easy walk of Canberra Central shopping centre
we found clothing belonging to a previous guest and the sofabed was unmade. After contacting reception someone attended to it immediately and as a gesture of goodwill the assistant manager give us complimentary wifi and had some fruit and desserts delivered to our room; nice touch
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A 2 day stay

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: Great location. Excellent breakfast.
Cons: Nothing it was great.
Location: It was on Northbourne street Canberra. It was a central location with shops,restarants and places of interest close by.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. One member of staff had arranged chocolates to be my room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2017
goooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooood
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

need better trained staff!

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: Hotel was nice. Staff need ALOT of improvement.
Cons: staff - I don't know why we managed to luck out and get really awful service as our check in was pleasant but all of this in an overnight stay??
Hotel was comfy, nice and well appointed clean. Our experience was made yuk by incompetent staff. We arrived at the room with 4 people staying in a family room to have only 2 pillows and 2 towels. No milk left in fridges for tea coffee facilities and only decaf coffee left. Indicative housekeeping not bothered about their job. Phone didn't work properly and was problematic - had to use my mobile to call the outside line into hotel to get anyone to help. Once phone fixed, every time we called down for reception or housekeeping to get the items we needed in our 4 person family room that was made up for only 2 people, we kept getting disconnected rather than transferred to the appropriate section. We were disconnected 6 times! We then went to the pool only to find no clean towels and a massive pile of dirty used towels overflowing the collection point for used towels - indicating no one had bothered to check the pool amenity cleanliness all day. We again phoned down to have that fixed. Room service dinner was very long wait to finally arrive (bout 50 mins) good food tasty but service wait was too long. Kids fell asleep by the time their ice-cream was delivered after meal - 40 mins after placing order. Then when we rang down next morning to get our car from valet with the requested 30 min notice, we were told "we are too busy & don't know when we can have your car up here". We were made to feel very unwelcome by staff who seemed to hate their jobs.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and not dated

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Beds were clean and comfortable. Bathroom is modern and clean. We stayed in the double room and only negative was the kitchenette was also the powder room/wash basin. Pool amenities sufficient. Good gym.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel was in a very accessible location

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Staff where very pleasant and only to happy to help,dinner at the restaurant was beautiful
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Ok location

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: Location only
Cons: See above and put appropriate staff on to service check in's
From check in, lack of staff and so noisy with a kids play area one could not hear a word spoken by check in staff. Paid $20 for car parking. No staff in car park are. Car park area is an absolute disgrace and very difficult to find a suitable park. On check out, we find that our car was parked in a separate location and took ages to get our car returned. Our room, with a view of a dirty roof only, was designed for a wheelie. Bath floor flooded every time one took a shower.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2017 by Nathan, Hotel Management
Dear Denis, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Novotel Canberra. I am pleased that you have enjoyed the central location of the hotel however I am sorry that the parking did not meet your expectations. I will pass on your feedback to my team and it is our hope that you will give us an opportunity to better serve you again in the future. Kind regards, Nathan Frost General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to restaurants

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Great for a quick stay in Canberra. The pool is quit small but ok. Just got a little crowded.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2017 by Nathan, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Novotel Canberra. I am pleased that you have enjoyed the central location of the hotel however I am sorry the pool was busy. I will pass on your feedback to all staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Canberra again soon. Kind regards, Nathan Frost General Manager