Ratings based on 981 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Beautiful resort, a few dissapointments

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: Beautiful grounds, very clean. Can't say enough nice things about the staff. They were all awesome!
Cons: Food quality and noise
Location: North Hotel Zone location. Close to convenience stores, bus stops, the ferry, etc.
Beautiful resort, very friendly and helpful staff that frequently went above and beyond. Our room was wonderful, however the bed and pillows were very uncomfortable. For the most part, we enjoyed our stay here. Unfortunately, the food was disappointing and lukewarm at best. My husband got food poisoning from the seafood restaurant, the only a la carte restaurant we ate at. The resort is also very loud. You cannot hear guests in other rooms, however, the way the resort is built around the pool/entertainment area, causes the sound in that area to amplify. Music starts playing at the pool around 11am but was tolerable. Once the evening entertainment began, it was unbelievably loud, even while in our room. The windows seemed paper thin. Overall, I liked this resort, but for a couple in their late 40's looking to relax, this was not the place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location.

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Pros: the location.
Cons: The food doesn't taste that good, and there should be a 24 hr restaurant and its difficult for customer to eat because you need advance reservation.
Hotel location is pretty good, by the beach, near the scenic tower, and near public bus that takes you to downtown or coco bongo. the hotel looks old and that the restaurants are inconvenience, the foods doesn't taste that good. You need to make reservation the day before or early in the morning to dine that night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excelente hotel costo-beneficio

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Un hotel que te ofrece todo lo necesario para pasar un buen rato en cancun; su playa es pequeña pero muy agradable, camastros suficientes y con sombra natural gracias a las palmeras. El personal del hotel (animadores Ricardp e Hilario) muy amable y siempre con actividades.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Hotel was a little run-down. Very small beach.

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Very limited food choices unless you wanted to leave the resort, but it was all-inclusive so leaving for food didn't make sense. Buffet was ordinary at best with fairly limited selection. Check in was after time allowed to make reservation at one of the a la carte restaurants. Our room was very small and our balcony was adjacent to the roof of one of the restaurants where there was work being done so there was always workers right next to the balcony. Not a relaxing situation. Toilet was urine stained. Shower head was moldy. Pillows on the bed were awful. The beach was very small and is right on the channel so there is a lot of noise and boat traffic. Very disappointing after having stayed at the Barcelo Maya a few years ago. We will not be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Selkirk, ON

Good choice

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Pros: Staff all very friendly, with great service.
Cons: WIFI fees need to be included.
Location: Off the main group of Cancun strip -- which for us was fine. Right beside the Embarcadaro ferry stop -- great for going to Isle Majeurs where we went
Quiet season in Cancun, so hotel not very busy. Only 2 a la carte restaurants available, but buffet changed each day so was very good. Only complaint was the $12 US charge per day for WIFI -- they need to get real and provide with base room fee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Friendly staff, very welcoming and remembered our names everyday in the lobby bar and around the pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

This was our 7th time staying at the Barceló Costa

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Pros: The hotel and grounds are very clean.
Cons: Nothing.
All of the staff, waiters, maids, every one was friendly, helpful and fun.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Jan 21, 2016
Pros: The staff was awesome.
The hotel is on the smaller side. The staff was vary helpful and friendly,
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2016 by General Management Assistant., Hotel Management
Dear Nick, Thank you so much for posting a review on this web side. It is our pleasure to let you know that every day we work hard and with very much effort in order to satisfy your needs and provide you the best service that you deserve during your stay. For this reason we are truly glad to read you had an amazing time with us and enjoyed the service provided by the staff. Best regards, Claudia Rocio Garrido Chacón. General Management Assistant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 14, 2016
Pros: junior suite was excellent on the 5th floor
Cons: the food
experience was great, the staff give you a VIP experience from the time you enter to the time you leave, the food was ok. Facilities were clean, elevator close to my room was not working but the other one was just around the corner, no biggie
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2016 by General Management Assistant., Hotel Management
Dear Njamz, Your thoughtful remarks are very helpful in allowing us to continue to deliver the most excellent experience. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. Sincerely, Claudia Rocio Garrido Chacón. General Management Assistant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Centerville, MN

Nice Hotel but not a 3.5 Star Hotel

Posted Jan 14, 2016
Pros: The employees were friendly and the food was good. It was quiet.
Cons: The overall maintenance could have been better.
Location: We didn't do anything but if you want to take a boat to Isla Mujares it's very convenient.
I didn't realize that this hotel was on the lagoon side. It was okay, actually, but forget the long walks on the beach! The rooms were okay and certainly clean. The restaurants and buffet were quite good. The hotel was only 40% full when we were there so that was nice for us. When we booked we were told we had a $550 hotel credit. All we got was a worthless coupon book, of which we never used one coupon!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2016 by General Management Assistant., Hotel Management
Dear Sheila, Before than anything receive my warmest greetings from Barceló Costa Cancún. Let me tell you that our hotel is located in the ocean, however as you mention it's near the pier to Isla Mujeres. We are glad to know that the service, the room and our food was to your liking. Kind regards, Claudia Rocio Garrido Chacón. General Management Assistant.