Ratings based on 714 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Hotel clean but buffet food is horrible. Not fun.

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness and polite staff
Cons: Buffet food and entertainment staff.
Location: Location is good.
I was initially excited about this resort because I had been to Barceló resorts in the Dominican Republic and I loved it. I must say this Cancun hotel is clean and the staff is polite. However, the buffet food was horrible EVERY DAY as it was bland and variety was poor. You would think that their Mexican food would be awesome but it is not. However. the Italian and the Mexican restaurant were awesome (at night with reservations). Although the staff is polite, they are not fun or engaging. Games during the day are dry and the nightly shows are poor quality (performance, stage décor and outfits). Music is minimal and not once did I hear any mariachi or Mexican any music !!! They played mostly bachata and salsa (which I happen to love). The other Barceló resorts that I have been to have a super friendly staff who engage people by talking to them, dancing with them and playing fun games throughout the day and at night they would warm up the audience with fun activities before beginning an amazing show. Overall, I would not recommend this hotel. However, the beach is awesome..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

It was an ok hotel I had better experience.

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: Beach was small but ok and the building style.
Cons: Please improve customers service that's the key of every company no matter what company it is.
Location: Close to many different things.
Coming with a higher expectations from a different hotel company Barceló it was ok I just feel the customer service could be better, had a bad experience with a waiter on the buffet they all need more customer service we had to wait to be notice and get refills where at the other hotel company I wasn't even seated and I was notice and didn't had to wait for service. Building was nice also the grounds, and check in and check out needs a lot of help very slow service but it seems that they don't care. The food was ok but it can be better being in Mexico by the ocean and not having a sea food buffet was not happy non of their food styles got me impress.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from curitiba

Hotel agradavel

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: Atendimento dos garçons, são muito receptivos com brasileiros.
Cons: Atendimento na recepção. São desorganizados do controle dos pagamentos.
Location: Próximo a barca para Isla de las Mujeres! um pouco distante das baladas e da praia do Caracol, mas pode ir de ônibus ou táxi.
Hotel com programação noturna quase todas as noites.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fremont, CA

Average accommodations, loud music

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: Proximity to everything
Cons: WiFi, sound proof rooms or less volume of their "entertainment programs"
We did enjoy our stay in Cancun but mostly outside of the hotel. It is conveniently located close to the bus stop, and the fare is only 10.50 pesos. The hotel's beach is really small and too crowded for swimming. The pool's water was too hot, and again too many people for an average-size pool. The most irritating thing about the beach and the pool area was loud music and smoking. The food was ok but not too fancy, the staff was friendly. A big disappointment was the WiFi - they charge you quite a bit, but won't provide. The service was down most of the time or of poor quality. Also, there was a very weird episode that nobody explained or apologized for. We came back to our room late in the evening after a trip to find out that the only lamp in the room was missing. I called reception and they promised to bring it back???? I never got an explanation why it was removed in the first place. In about an hour, after I had to go down to the reception again, they brought us another lamp. The loud music at night until 10 pm was almost unbearable, my husband had to put ear plugs just to be able to read in peace and quiet- and our room was not even close to the stage. I can't imagine what others who stayed right next to it must have suffered.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Nice hotel with great staff but small beach

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Pros: I liked the all-inclusive amenities and the hospitality of the staff. It was a nice place and you can find something to do, no matter your age group.
Cons: Not all of the staff was overtly friendly, but that may be because of the language barrier.
Location: The ferry to Isla Mujeres is next door. The bus to the downtown area is across the street. There are multiple tours to Xel-Ha, Chichen Itza, etc.
I'm a single young woman who was traveling with her family which included a pre-teen. This place is wonderful for families because of all the activities they offer during the day, and if you don't want to do anything you can lounge around while the staff brings you beverages. It's a little far from the center of the hotel zone, but if you're looking for clubs, they offer tickets at the hotel after their nightly show and take you there. However, you must find your own way back. The room was always cleaned, and the mini-fridge stocked daily. It was surprising to walk in our room and get hit by a huge blast of cold air (I'm from a much colder region). The bus is right across the street from the hotel. The ferry to Isla Mujeres is also next door along with the Jolly Roger/Captain hook ships (dinner, beverages, and a pirate show). There are many tours you can attend, and the tour buses conveniently pick you up at the hotel. The staff was exceptionally friendly and it only took us a few minutes to check in and out. Specifically, Ricardo and Alex were engaging as well as personable while getting people to try out different activities from beach volleyball to water aerobics to bingo and much more. Also, Miguel at the lobby bar and Santos at the beach bar always made sure I had a beverage in hand as they joked around here and there. Honestly, the hotel was as expected, but it was the staff who went above and beyond that made the place inviting. I'd definitely go back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Lovely hotel

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Pros: Excellent food selection, entertaining nightly shows and awesome pool.
Cons: If there is a charge for WiFi use, at least make it usable and for more than one device at a time.
Location: Close to downtown Cancun, adjacent to the docking area of some tour boats/ships and very near the Torre Escenica, a scenic observation tower.
The hotel is nice and clean. The staff are excellent but those at the front desk made the service rating less than perfect. There are 4 choice of restaurants and the dinner buffet has a different theme each night. The beach is lovely but small. WiFi is not complimentary and the quality is very poor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel area close to the beach

Posted Aug 15, 2015
The hotel is nice service is excellent we didn't get what Expedia promised to us no Wi-Fi even if you buy Wi-Fi you has to be close to the lobby to get it very cool place nice beach area I recommend
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel for the money.

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Pros: Love the palm trees covering the beach. They made for nice shade.
Cons: Improvements could be made in the food selection. The food was good would have liked to have had more choices.
Location: Great location. Easy access to many activities.
Overall experience was OK. It is a decent value for the price and located in a good location. The beach was really nice and large compared to other hotel beaches we have stayed previously. The trees on the beach were a very enjoyable break from the sun.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

hotel by the beach nice

Posted Aug 6, 2015
Pros: by the beach
Cons: I don't know
Location: they were close by few steps your there already
staff were great hotel was clean and food was great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Staten Island

Nice hotel..very small beach

Posted Aug 6, 2015
Very unhappy with the booking arrangements.Booking together and paying together to stay in one room,we were denied,for offer to have two join rooms....It didn't happen.We were in two separate parts of the hotel,which made a huge difference for girlfriends to be together on vacation.