Ratings based on 1,012 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Buen hotel

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Todo muy bien, casi todo el personal muy atento. Me gustó mucho el show de Michael Jackson. La unica sugerencia que haría sería aclarar que el precio de reservación en pesos que se muesta en expedia puede variar (hacia arriba en estos días) por el tipo de cambio del día, ya que mi cargo final fué de 600 pesos mas de lo que esperaba.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

bad hotel

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Pros: none
Cons: I don't think so.
Location: it is located in a center of hotel zone very accessible to public transportation or taxi service.
hotel have very bad maintenance and look rusty and dirt. Service of reception is not good, they don't put attention to requests and you need call them more than once, room cleaning is not good, room equipment like coffee machine or cooler don't work, i complain to the management and they don't care, just answer "we will start a remodel next month" I don't return to this hotel again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nuevo Leon

Barcelo Tucancun agosto 2015

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: El staff muy amigable, la bebida muy bien preparada
Cons: Inlcuir el room service como parte del servicio, mejorar la mobilidad para gente de mas edad
Location: estas cerca de un Soriana por si tienes que ir a comprar algo
Muy buen hotel, descuidaban un poco el menu de los restaurantes (los repetian mucho) los tragos muy bueno, el staff muy amigable. Si eres alguien de edad avanzada que batalla con las escaleras.... no vayas a este hotel, mis tias batallaron mucho con todas las escaleras. Deben aclarar que el room service no esta incluido en el All inclusive.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from boston

Would stay here again

Posted Aug 16, 2015
There are a few reasons I would never stay at this hotel again. The service was more catered to the locals and if you did not tip they dont serve. The food was pretty bad and basically the same thing every single day. The pool was nice and the pool bar was good, but no one comes up to you and serve you unless you tip them. Also, don't wear white colored bathing suits and hope that you don't have really light colored skin because the pool turns it green. We never once saw a person put chemicals in the pool. Both my boyfriend and I both got a rash and I'm assuming it was from the pool.. But, that wasn't even the part that made us the most dissatisfied with our stay. We upgraded to an ocean front room. Which was a great decision the view was beautiful. But, we were charged $50 a night for the room. The first thing wrong was that we came back to our room and there was workers outside our door and the minute I walked up to our door they said hold on. When we opened the door there was 5 men in our room working on our bathroom. Not one person from the hotel warned us that there would be someone in our room and they also were in our room with the door shut. When we went and told the front desk and they didn't see any problem with it. Last time I checked no one should be in our room with the door shut and witout warning us. The hotel did nothing about it. But to top it off that night we got a note saying we needed to switch rooms after we paid for that room. Never again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

AWFUL!

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Pros: I honestly can not think of one good thing to say about this place. SAD!
Cons: I can't even begin... It should not even be an option of choices.
Location: There was a mall in front of our resort. Other than that - NOTHING!
We just returned from a 5 night stay at the Barcelo Tucancun in Cancun Mexico. This was our first trip to Mexico and out last family vacation as my two boys are off to College. Imagine how excited we were to FINALLY be going to Cancun. Our trip was a complete nightmare!!! We arrived with high expectations as per all the reviews and pictures that we had seen while researching where to stay. Our hotel/resort was AWFUL! It was filthy dirty - the beach was filty dirty and the food was so bad that we ended up eating out the majority of our trip. This saddens me because we paid to stay at an all inclusive resort and it was so bad that we were forced to eat elsewhere. I try really hard not to think about just how bad our trip was because we spent a great deal of money outside of the resort. IT WAS THAT BAD!!! On the morning we checked out we were hit with a bill for a crack in the sliding glass door in the amount of $250.00 We tried to explain to the people in charge that we did not break the glass. It had been taped up prior to our arrival and the crack in the glass just continued to grow. Because of the language barrier - and the fact that we had to catch our flight - we paid the bill because we wanted to get out of there as fast as we could.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good location but

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Room on 7th floor was hot, staff was not rude but it was very hard to find good service.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from texas

Not a 3.9 star hotel

Posted Aug 8, 2015
Customer service was the worst ever... They were rude and unattentive, it was very bad with exception of a couple people that worked there. The food was not great. Rooms were not what we wanted. My biggest complain would be they have the worst customer service.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Low-key Resort

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Very low-key resort. Good for relaxation (Spa was a great experience) where resort becomes quiet after 9pm. If you're looking for entertainment, this place is not the resort to stay in. Food was good--just good. Beach and ocean had a lot of seaweed making it uncomfortable to swim/walk. Staff was ehhhhh, no personality and seemed like they were there just to work and didn't enjoy what they did--fake smiles. Overall it was okay because we spent most of our days doing excursions.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Germany

Cheap All Inclusive hotel, okay for quick getaway

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Pros: The small adult only pool area with a pool bar is great and quieter than the main pool. Especially the bartender Alberto is super nice!!
Cons: The food was very average All-inclusive buffett food. The a-la-carte restaurants weren't any better.
Location: Good location for a few days at the beach. Party people should go further north. Families further south were the ocean is calmer.
If you just want to spend a quick getaway in Cancun, the hotel is good. It is quite popular with Mexican people as well as American college kids and young adults. But also some families around. The staff is very nice. The rooms had a good size and were clean. However, the room next door was renovated, so it was a bit noisy. There were more than enough rooms in the hotel to move us somewhere different. The pool bar area was great. The bartender, Alberto, was very nice to everyone, offered great drink suggestions (which were all very good too!), and delivered a great customer treatment. He is definitely the highlight of this hotel! The food on the other hand was very disappointing. The breakfast is okay and offers a good variety between Mexican and international options. Lunch is basically burger, hot dogs, fries and pasta. And dinner is average All Inclusive buffet food. Even the a-la-carte restaurants offered poor to average dishes. On top, you can only enter if you wear long pants (as a man) so take it into consideration when you pack. Many people at the resort also ate dinner in other restaurants around Cancun even this is an All Inclusive hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Y

No lo recomiendo!

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Las insyalaciones son regulares pues casi en ninguna parte hay aire acondicionado, la atención del personal es mala y son irrespetuosos. Siempre es la misma comida, no hay variedad y es de muy mala calidad. Solo había un restaurante y los unicos platos que se veían decentes los cobraban a pesar de que era all inclusive. El internet un robo (7 dolares una hora) y no ayudaban ni en la impresión de los tiquetes. MUY MALA ESTANCIA