Ratings based on 375 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Na Balam- first time

Posted May 19, 2017
A nice spot on Playa Norte but dated and not upgraded - a little out of the way Sidewalks are attractive stone but difficult to navigate Staff was friendly and helpful and the restaurant offered a nice breakfast Yoga instructor did not show up the first day but the next day we had a great session WiFi is limited to front desk area and not in the rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2017
Isla Mujeres was by far our favourite part of Mexico, and Hotel Na Balam was a big part of that. The staff were super friendly and helpful, they arranged our golf carts and underwater museum snorkelling tour. The location was beautiful - we loved enjoying cocktails and meals right on the beach. It would have been good to have wifi throughout the resort (it was just in reception and the restaurant) but it was probably for the best to switch off a bit more! Would definitely recommend and stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Not worth the money.

Posted Apr 23, 2017
There are zero amenities in the room. No tv. No phone. No WIFI. That would be fine if it were advertised on the website but it's not. I missed a very important Skype meeting for work. I wouldn't have booked here if I had known. The WIFI they have in the dining room and lobby works occasionally but more often than not it doesn't. The rooms are clean but no frills. Not worth the money in my opinion. Proximity to the beach is the only plus. The restaurant is pricey but the food is good. The staff is nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Quaint Mexican Hotel on beautiful beach

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: the beach, restaurant, proximity to the centro
Na' Balam Hotel is a small, yoga inspired hotel located on the nicest stretch of Playa Norte. The best amenity of the hotel is it's location on this beautiful beach. The rooms are simple but comfortable and clean. The food at Ocean VS, the restaurant located beside Na Balam is absolutely delicious and great value. We had our best meals here. The hotel is very friendly and welcoming of families, couples, and yogis from all over the world.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Can't wait to come back!

Posted Apr 10, 2017
EVERYONE we came in contact with was very friendly..especially Nicholas in the restaurant! The beach was great the food fantastic. Housekeeping very understanding when my son got sick several times. Front desk was helpful and friendly....we will muss them all until next time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from b

not our favorite hotel

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Our room was not ready until after 4, when check on is at 3. The view from our room was beautiful. The room was fair but quaint. Paid for location,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wisconsin

Exotic hotel

Posted Mar 23, 2017
We had a great stay at na balam. The beach was great, food was great. Only complaints were that the continental breakfast could have had something other than eggs. And they only had one key per room, which the rooms locked on the inside with the key, so if one person wanted to go out there was no way to lock the door. Also a fire hazard if you were locked in from the outside you would have to jump thru the window from the 2nd floor. Also the pool and hot tub needed clorine and temp turned up in hot tub. Other than those three things it was great!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Great service. Wonderful food at the restaurant and views. Very clean. Miss it already.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from grapevine texas

Accommodating Staff and Beautiful, Peaceful Views.

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: Tranquil, peaceful and perfect location. On the beach without all the rowdy crowds.
Cons: Hot water. Our room didn't seem to have it. My friends room did. And of course extra keys.... but that seems to be how the whole island of Isla is.
Location: Yoga, beach, and walking distance to all the restaurants and nightlife that you would need.
Our rooms were not what we had booked on line, but the hotel staff was very accommodating to help us with this. We had a beautiful view of the ocean from our room. The room was comfortable and the whole hotel was very peaceful. The staff at restaurant and bar were very friendly. We loved Jaime our bartender. Yoga classes with Lol were amazing as well.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Nice beach, needs improved hospitality culture

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: Great beach location, nice views from the bar, large room size.
Cons: Room had lots of mosquitoes in it upon arrival. Ceiling fan made noise. No coffee machine in the room. Room was not decorated at all. No hot water.
We had many concerns upon arrival about the condition of our room. Most were fixed. We requested to be moved, and were offered another room, but most of our issues were with the design and the lack of amenities that both rooms suffered so we did not move. The hotel and restaurant have big potential because of its great beach location, but seem to lack a high quality service culture. It is as if there was no management leadership, especially at the restaurant. No special details or amenities to justify the price. The design of the plunge pool at the room puts the patio "in a hole" and blocks off access and views to the beach. Hot water was scarce and the design of the bathtub is dangerously slippery. It does have a great beach location, but our room was right next to the neighboring beach club. (Room 13)