Ratings based on 357 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Never again.....

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Pros: Check in and check out was easy. And that's it.
Cons: Tv in the room were horrible, they had two remotes! No one offered to help with bags, no on even took us to our room. No phones. No wifi.
Location: Beach was beautiful. Restaurants and bars easily located.
We have been to the island before and decided to stay here our last night. We weren't expecting much considering we just left a five star all inclusive....however....wow, and not in a good way. The check in was easy, staff was nice but dismissive. Our room wasn't going to be ready until exactly check in time at 3pm so we had 3 hours to wait....which was fine however there are no airconditioned areas to wait in. We be hotel room was unacceptable, no mini fridge to store food drinks or food items. No paint on the walls, no pictures, smelled a little. The tv was horrible. Small, and had two remotes! Took my husband and I a bit to figure it out. There is no phones in the room and no wifi so you can at least make calls. The light was just hanging in the lamp, toilet ran all night....ALL NIGHT. it was loud. No one even took us to our room or helped with the bags. They drew a circle on a life of paper and "directed" is. Check out was easy. Would not stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 30, 2017
The location of the hotel is superb. Staff is friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfy! I can't wait to go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on beach, good staff, nice room,

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Pros: room big and clean, porch, right on beach,swimmable water, helpful staff.breakfast and beach towels and umbrellas,food and drink service on beach!
Cons: bad music on beach.
Location: great restaurants, rent a golf cart and go around island.
We had a great time at this hotel we ended up extending our reservation. beach restaurant convenient, receptionists and managers helpful, beach towels and umbrellas for guests, breakfast included and food and drinks served on the beach. the staff recommended great restaurants all over the island and were helpful and responded to complaints. hotel on beautiful beach, clear water to swim in. it was nice in the morning until 12. then a little noisy with bad music from next door and party boats. it is the best beach so everyone wants to be there but hotel shouldn't rent platform beds and umbrellas to big crowds of people, not so much fun for hotel guests. nice sunset and peaceful when they all go away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Location great, it's simple yet comfy true Mexico island vibe. If you are looking for glam and some to wait on you hand and foot this is not your place. Very pieceful. Rooms are basic. All staff was great. We will be back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Great hotel, we were upgraded, clean simple rooms, don't expect anything fancy but the location is great and it fulfilled everything we needed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Na Balam best location in Isla Mujeres

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: Location, Staff, Resturant
Cons: add more variety to the free breakfast beside eggs and beans
Location: Excellent location on the best beach in Isla Mujeres "playa del norte", walking distance to downtown
Excellent location, very friendly staff, excellent food
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, USA

Súper eco and that is just fine

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Best beach ever! Food is pretty good too! On the weekend it is a happening place, during the week it is relaxing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent staff, great beach

Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Orbitz
Hotel is nice and in a great location. Don't expect to spend too much time around the pool as it's not set up as a place where you would want to spend much time. Nice, but its secluded in the trees and the pool is on the smaller side. They were shutting it down for a couple weeks at the end of our stay for maintenance so it may be getting an overhaul. Where this hotel shines is in it's amazing staff. Everyone is beyond friendly and did everything they could to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. Even so much as keeping our sons sandals that he forgot by the pool. Since he had an extra pair we didn't realise for two days that he had left them there (we had switched hotels) We went back to the Na Balam on the off chance they were still there. Staff had them waiting in a bag at the front desk ... not even knowing if we would return. When we showed up everyone was happy to look around for them as they had forgotten where they had been placed. The lady at the front desk was joking with our kids and was a pleasure to see in the morning. Our room was large and comfortable. We were on the lower floor by the pool and there was a sofa in the room as well as a patio area with another built in sofa, where we would sit at night when the kids were asleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Exeter Ontario

Nice hotel..very comfortable and safe feeling

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: Full on site amenities. Staff. Pancho
Cons: Waterpressure
Location: Quaint village feel...beautiful island
Excellent staff...beautiful beaches...comfortable facility
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

DO NOT STAY HERE. we travel a lot. this was bad.

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Location: great location and lots to do which is why we picked it. will stay elsewhere next time. great beach and clear calm water. great staff at the bar.
what a nightmare. for such an anticipated treat, boy did it disappoint. DO NOT STAY IN ROOM 16. this was the first room they put us in (we had paid to have a room w/a private splash pool so this only leaves 4 rooms total that have this). Room 16 is next to the kitchen, has a non working air-conditioner & huge roach problem due to the fact that you can see all the way around the sliding door to patio between door & wall. No black out draperies but really with no A/C you cant stay in that room so the lack of curtains was the least of our worries. Oh, & cups of cigarette butts littering the sm.pool & patio. We came to the assumption that this room was the "break room" of the hotel. They finally moved us to a beautiful room after fighting with us to keep waiting for A/C to "work", um...no thanks. Room 13...we walked in & it was freezing! Finally!! And then, the banging started. From 9am until 5pm every day we were there, they were chipping out the tile floor above us to fix a water issue. Only to discover that night the water issue going on upstairs might actually be a problem for us too. NO HOT WATER, not a drop. We went to office again to suggest they get it fixed. The NEXT day when we had to go find them to see why it wasn't fixed & 3rd person we spoke with finally admitted we were not going to have hot water at all while we were there. ARE YOU SERIOUS??? This is not an inexpensive hotel nor is the private splash pool suite inexpensive. UNBELIEVABLE. won't be back.