Ratings based on 318 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Muy linda playa, hotel sencillo, restaurante caro

Posted May 17, 2016
Lo mas positivo es la playaque es muy bonita y esta a pocos metros de la habitación donde uno se hospeda. Son comodos los camastros y las sombrillas esta ok. El hotel es super sencillo, no tiene ni refrigerador en las habitaciones, el trato del personal es "indiferente". El restaurante del hotel en la playa es carisimo (para la calidad regular de su comida), se creen que son la ultima coca-cola del desierto y te fuerzan a dejar propina del 15 o 20%, te la incluyen directamente en la factura sin que te des cuenta, y si uno se le ocurre cuestionar esa practica, olvidese de que va a ser tratado de buena forma el resto de sus vacaciones.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice hotel

Posted May 5, 2016
Cons: the unnecessary hassle trying to get a refund for a charge that should not have been made is off-putting. not the way to encourage repeat customers.
THE GOOD: we enjoyed our stay at na balam. the room was clean, the staff was friendly, location is great, food and drinks are basic but fine, good massages, good A/C, decent water pressure, no TV or phones in the room, no room service. overall a very relaxing vibe. be sure to buy and use insect repellent. we were there in late november 2015 and my boyfriend got tons of bites on the beach during the day. THE BAD: we encountered a problem after checking out. we checked out early to catch a 9am flight. the guy checking us out could not find the paper credit card imprint of my boyfriend's credit card that the hotel had taken at check-in to cover incidentals and therefore could not return it to us. he agreed that we had a balance of $0 as we had paid for all our extras in cash. he said he would tear it up if/when he found it. a few days later my boyfriend's card was charged $160 for airport shuttle service. we had initially requested shuttle service however we cancelled this before our arrival date. we did NOT use their shuttle service to travel from or to the airport. we emailed immediately about the error - they agreed to process a refund; nothing happened; they offered a credit against our next stay; while we had planned to go back we did not know when, so we said thanks but we prefer a refund please. OVER 5 MONTHS LATER AND STILL NO REFUND AND THEY NO LONGER BOTHER TO RESPOND TO EMAILS. this has, needless to say, left a sour note
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Return visitor.

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: We love the hotel and it's kept clean and lovely.
Cons: If only carafes of coffee were available to take to your balcony and share with your loved one in paradise.
Location: The location is right on the beach and there are plenty of beds and umbrellas. We stayed on the beach all day every day and walked to dinner.
When we arrived they tried to put is in a room that had two queen beds when I booked an "ocean view" king in September. I hated to complain but I did and they gave us the room we had last year--with no problem--after I had already recommended it. The property is lovely. We'll go back. The thing that we don't love--and didn't love last year either-- is the morning continental breakfast. I mean, it's good to have fruit and some toast, that's all fine. But, I would LOVE to take a carafe of coffee to my room and drink it on the balcony in privacy. When we got our coffee "to go" they put it in something like 4 oz styrofoam cups. Not very charming. We don't eat lunch or dinner on the property because there is too much to explore just a short walk away. Luckily, our issues are insignificant and we'll go back. If only carafes of coffee were available to take to your balcony and share with your loved one in paradise.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Good Hotel

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Pros: The location and the beds.
Cons: More pillows on the bed.
Location: The location is perfect. Soak in the Caribbean and lounge on the perfect beach. Rent a golf cart and explore the beautiful island. So much fun!
We had a good stay at Na Balam. The location on playa Norte is perfect. The beds are very comfortable. The ac worked great. I have no complaints. I suggest the upgraded rooms if you want a tv in the room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Fabulous location and staff. Clean rooms. Sometimes inconsistent cleaning, but overall and excellent place. I stayed at Na Balam last year also, and plan to make this an annual trip.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location....horrible hotel

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: North beach location
Cons: Train staff to be attentive to guest
Location: Fenix restaurant next door was great
The only thing good about this hotel is the location. It is on North Beach and has dedicated beds for customers on the beach. That's the good. The bad is that the staff seemed like they did not care about anything, with the exception of Iris. Iris was super sweet and helpful, but the guys at the front desk appeared stoned most of the time. I am not saying they were stoned, but they were moving and talking in slurs the whole trip. The waiters at breakfast were the same way. I have never waited so long for service. The continental breakfast that was included was pathetic. I have never had a continental breakfast that was served to me...like 4 very small pieces of fruit and a stale bread basket. It should have read Free Coffee instead. I know that a lot of Yoga people go here and maybe the whole Zen thing is your cup of tea, but I think most of the staff was spaced out on the zen thing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from e

Great location and awesome beach

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Great staff at the front desk, attentive housekeeping service. Great restaurant on premises
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 2, 2016
The room accommodation was good but the AC was not working properly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Surprisingly comfortable little spot

Posted Mar 25, 2016
Pros: Access to a very nice beach.
Cons: The beach-front restaurant isn't integrated with the Hotel billing so we had to pay separately for food and drinks every time we made a purchase.
Location: Shops are a 2-3 block walk from here which we liked--less chaos. The variety of restaurants and food quality are above expectation. Prices are fair.
We stayed four nights and wished it was six. When you like a place you're staying that much, I'd say that's a winner. The staff was attentive, the concierge was helpful too.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

View of the beach. Comfortable and relaxing.

Posted Mar 2, 2016
Friendly staff. Simple accomodations. Good food and drinks. Beautiful beach-front!