Ratings based on 379 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Jun 6, 2017
What an amazing hotel. The staff was incredible. The rooms are basic but large with lots of storage. We loved being right on the beach. Their included breakfast was great. We also loved the pool across the street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Location: Excellent location.
This is our 4 or 5 time staying at the Na Balam. Great location and great beach area!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Na Balam- first time

Posted May 19, 2017
A nice spot on Playa Norte but dated and not upgraded - a little out of the way Sidewalks are attractive stone but difficult to navigate Staff was friendly and helpful and the restaurant offered a nice breakfast Yoga instructor did not show up the first day but the next day we had a great session WiFi is limited to front desk area and not in the rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2017
Isla Mujeres was by far our favourite part of Mexico, and Hotel Na Balam was a big part of that. The staff were super friendly and helpful, they arranged our golf carts and underwater museum snorkelling tour. The location was beautiful - we loved enjoying cocktails and meals right on the beach. It would have been good to have wifi throughout the resort (it was just in reception and the restaurant) but it was probably for the best to switch off a bit more! Would definitely recommend and stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Not worth the money.

Posted Apr 23, 2017
There are zero amenities in the room. No tv. No phone. No WIFI. That would be fine if it were advertised on the website but it's not. I missed a very important Skype meeting for work. I wouldn't have booked here if I had known. The WIFI they have in the dining room and lobby works occasionally but more often than not it doesn't. The rooms are clean but no frills. Not worth the money in my opinion. Proximity to the beach is the only plus. The restaurant is pricey but the food is good. The staff is nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Quaint Mexican Hotel on beautiful beach

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: the beach, restaurant, proximity to the centro
Na' Balam Hotel is a small, yoga inspired hotel located on the nicest stretch of Playa Norte. The best amenity of the hotel is it's location on this beautiful beach. The rooms are simple but comfortable and clean. The food at Ocean VS, the restaurant located beside Na Balam is absolutely delicious and great value. We had our best meals here. The hotel is very friendly and welcoming of families, couples, and yogis from all over the world.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Can't wait to come back!

Posted Apr 10, 2017
EVERYONE we came in contact with was very friendly..especially Nicholas in the restaurant! The beach was great the food fantastic. Housekeeping very understanding when my son got sick several times. Front desk was helpful and friendly....we will muss them all until next time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from b

not our favorite hotel

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Our room was not ready until after 4, when check on is at 3. The view from our room was beautiful. The room was fair but quaint. Paid for location,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wisconsin

Exotic hotel

Posted Mar 23, 2017
We had a great stay at na balam. The beach was great, food was great. Only complaints were that the continental breakfast could have had something other than eggs. And they only had one key per room, which the rooms locked on the inside with the key, so if one person wanted to go out there was no way to lock the door. Also a fire hazard if you were locked in from the outside you would have to jump thru the window from the 2nd floor. Also the pool and hot tub needed clorine and temp turned up in hot tub. Other than those three things it was great!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Used to be paradise

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Orbitz
Still a decent place. But compared to 25 years ago, not so great. We have seen all around the hotel build up. Views are almost completely blocked. Outdoor seating is uncomfortable and limited. WiFi and breakfast are so so. Our room was dreary during the day but had a huge bright light fixated on the window all night. Beach still nice. Rooms are nice. But the two new bars on the beach in front of the hotel are likely profitable but ruin the elegance the location. Oh well. Things change your