Ratings based on 303 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel is fine. The beach location is great!

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Pros: Right next to the beach!
Cons: Better room amenities. Offer a better included breakfast.
Location: Right next to the beach! Easy walk into the town.
While we had a mixed experience at the hotel, the location is fantastic. Our room was steps from the beach although not all the rooms are - some are by the pool/hot tub which is in the back of the complex. There's not a lot of beach front but the water is great for swimming and around the corner there's some good snorkeling. There are comfortable lounge bed things and service from the restaurant. The restaurant food was average - bit hit and miss. Generally the restaurant service was good but a couple times we were completely ignored. The included breakfast is only some bread (mmm cold toast) and fruit which gets boring after a few days but you can purchase off the menu. You can't charge food and drinks to your room but that wasn't a big deal for us. The hotel still had construction going on (January 2016) which was a bit annoying but not too big a deal. Our room was huge and clean but could have used some more amenities - lamps, table and chairs. Curtains did nothing for the morning light. Front desk staff weren't super friendly but very efficient and helpful. Pool was nice although cold - hot tub was a nice addition although not kept very hot. Yoga palapa by the pool was beautiful and it was nice to have yoga offered. The style of yoga is very mellow though. You can rent a golf kart through the hotel but it's much cheaper to do it in town. Overall we had a relaxing stay but I certainly wouldn't pay a premium to do it again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 29, 2015
fint hotel helt ud til stranden. Ingen sea front bungalows er dog tilbagetrukket på hotellets grund og ligger lige til gangpassagen til strand og restaurant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Flott beliggenhet

Posted Nov 24, 2015
Lite imøtekommende resepsjonsansatte, ellers bra, rot med bookingen. Ingen kjøleskap eller wifi på rom. Hotellets beliggenhet rett på stranden trekker opp.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2015
beautiful beach however, many tour boats anchor just off the beach and most are rather considerate about the volume of music they play, but there are always a few that blast their music exceptionally load. One boat arrived at 10am and left at 10 pm after a sunset water laser light show to music that could be heard streets away from the beach. Then we had construction going on all day at the hotel which we were not informed about when we booked. Continental Breakfast is included but it doesn't take much imagination to change it up a bit. The same fruit coffee and one side toasted only cold bread.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC Canada

What a fabulous, relaxing little piece of heaven!

Posted Nov 19, 2015
Location: close walk to all the shopping and restaurants.Beach is fabulous! Close walk to rent a golf cart to tour this beautiful little island
We fell in love with this little piece of heaven.Short walk from the ferry and to shopping and restaurants. Staff is friendly but not all staff speak english so we are going to learn, afterall we are in their country! Room overlooked the beach and had a private pool. Breakfast was delightful and beach was magical. We will be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Serenity Disappearing over Years

Posted Nov 16, 2015
Pros: The grounds were kept clean and lovely, even in the rain they kept it in great shape. Also the beds on the beach were nice for the hotel guests.
Cons: Consistency and having the breakfast served on time. It begins at 7:30 which is a decent time but it would be nice if coffee were served before.
Location: Shopping and dinner within walking distance. Great beach area with snorkeling.
We have stayed at this hotel on and off for many years. Each time we come back we notice many more boats from Cancun hauling tons of people to this remote area which really destroys the entire reason for coming here. It's sad that everyone wants a piece of the beauty. It's understandable why but you would think that some areas would want to protect what they have. I guess it's all public beach. The locals have done a good job trying to keep the beach area protected. Some of the hotel staff have been here for years and they all try to have a great attitude. We normally tip a bit during our stay but we usually give bigger tips at the end of our trip after we determine who all does an outstanding job. This time they decided to add a standard 15 percent to the bill whenever they wanted and we did not like the inconsistency of this. The breakfast in the past included more and they did a good job with presenting the fruit plates. The first day of our breakfast was chaotic and thrown together. Overall they were on top of it but just at times seemed unorganized. The chicken nachos seemed the best choice for something off the menu but I don't recommend the tuna salad. There are many other options on the island to eat versus this place. One thing we were surprised was the fact they took down the hammocks. We always looked forward to them. It would be nice to have a mini fridge in the room too....especially on a hot day. It's like they want you to buy everything from them
2 out of 5
by 4gaiaguy

YOGA RETREATS BEWARE!!

Posted Nov 12, 2015 on Orbitz
Na Balam was once a great place. We went there almost 2 years ago and had such a good time that we put down a $1000 Deposit for a group Yoga Retreat that we were planning for 2014. The person we were arranging it with was very supportive as we changed dates a couple of times, but suddenly she was gone one day and a new person was put in charge. We were reassured by the new manager Alejandro that we could proceed with our plans, and in May 2015 we returned and checked in for a couple of nights to assess the situation. We were put in a room where the shower leaked out and over the floor into the bedroom. There was a loud band playing in the outdoor restaurant that night, and so the next day we moved into another room on the other side of the hotel, which turned out to be next to a busy street and another restaurant with loud music. By the end of our stay, we felt uncomfortable with the thought of bringing a Yoga retreat here, and so we respectfully asked for a refund of our $1000 deposit. Management assured us that would work, and for several months we had emails going back and forth saying the refund was imminent. Their last email claimed it had been sent back to my Credit Card. It wasn't, and they haven't responded to my emails or phone calls since. Beware.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to beach

Posted Nov 7, 2015
Unfortunately, there is a lot of construction going on right now. It took away from the beauty. The room was very close to yoga shala and they had a boot camp work out at 7am (which was very loud). Followed by construction starting at 8. Needless to say we didn't sleep very much. Other than that this property is beautiful and should be nicer once their projects are completed.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Emma from London

Items stolen from room

Posted Nov 1, 2015 on Hotels
Garden room had a thatched roof which consistently had bits dropping onto the floor and bed, there were also bugs crawling through it. I also had my sunglasses stolen from my suitcase so thieves clean the room. Very upsetting stay all round:
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Perfect for relaxing!

Posted Nov 1, 2015 on Hotels
The beach at Beach Hotel na balam is absolutely wonderful, and the personel could not be more helpful! The hotel has a nice restaurant and a cute backyard with a small pool and jacuzzi. The rooms are very simple, but well kept with nice quality furniture. It's nice and quiet at the hotel, perfect for relaxing and enjoying the beach!