Ratings based on 252 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Please do yourself a favor and DO NOT stay here

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything, service, rooms,staff, food and facilities.
We had issues from the start with this hotel. The staff in the lobby was rude when checking in, having an attitude because we didnt have a voucher, when he could have just checked his desk and saw our reservation right there. WE had 3 adults staying and they put us in a room with 1 king bed, clearly not logical. Wifi was terrible, our rooms were a disaster, gross and outdated. No towels in the room either, have to ask the lobby each time. Our AC, toilet and tv were not functioning when we went to the lobby (phone didnt work either) they were going to send someone and never did. No hot water to take a shower, or you have to wait 30 min when going down to the lobby. We took the breakfast included package, which was awful, restaurant was dirty, food was old and disgusting. Everything takes 20-30 min wait -or no one comes at all. Do your self a favor and dont book this hotel, it deserves 0 stars, no where close to 3.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chatsworth, CA

Bugs on the bed

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: The room needs to be cleaned. The bugs on the bed should be eliminated!
Bugs are moving around on the bed. We took a video of it. It was disgusting!! You can see the screenshot of the video.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

it was not what they offer by internet

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
it was no so good. nice reception area but the bungalow was old, dirty and out of service the bathroom and the lights. one of the pools was amazing, the other was poor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2016
The place if fine, not a lot of shelving in our room for clothing or dressers. Everyone helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

1.5 stars not a 3 star resort

Posted Aug 30, 2016
First. The room has nothing. No fridge no coffee maker no microwave plan all yur meals to be out, the hotel staff gave me a broken iron to iron a dress that well I couldnt iron. The bathroom had roaches. Beat up old furniture and red paint on the wall from missed brush strokes...it serioulsy would take very little cash to spruce up the room. The floor was all tile which is not what I like. There's no hand towels no washcloths and no hair conditioner provided. Im used to a little more than what I got even for Mexico. The AC is controlled not to go lower than about 76 to 78 which is not the best. The bed was so hard I tossed and turned all night. The staff doesn't speak english. Only the desk clerks do. The pool area smelled like urine. And the lawn furniture looked like it was about 20yrs old run down. The buffet/food breakfast was about 18$ for me and my son it was ok but juice machine kept breaking down and the resort location was good. Those are the only good things I will say. The paper pamphlet you get at check in was not good made dining very confusing with times and location no signs turned out the main buffet restaurant had a cheaper menu to order from but walking in no one will ask you or show you. Found this out the last day. Sad. Just all around sad resort. I got discount after watching internet prices for this resort thank God if I had to pay full price I would have been very upset.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2016 by Jose María, Hotel Management
Based on your comments, our hotel clearly did not meet your expectations. We are are a 3 stars hotel meeting the basic standards, oriented for guests on a budget. You probably were looking for a 5 stars hotel with a higher rate.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from P

Bad service

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Rooms were not cleaned everyday, had to beg for towels everyday. Staff wasn't the friendliest. Booked a room with double beds recieved a single bed. Would not recommend
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2016 by Jose María, Hotel Management
Dear Carlos, the cleaning room service is done everyday. Sometimes guests are inside the room or leave the "Do not Disturb" sign outside and the staff will not access the room. Towels are changed when they are left on the floor. We expect that our guests use towels the same way the use them at home. We take enviroment care very seriously and try to save water and decrease the use of detergent. The configuartion of beds in rooms is based on the occupation shown in the reservations. We consider the requests from guests but sometimes the availability does not allow us to please the guests.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great for the price

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
only stayed one night but it was worth the stayk
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LOS ANGELES

ONLY GOOD THINK IS THAT ITS CLOSE TO THE BEACH

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: THE ONLY THINK I COULD HAVE POSSIBLY LIKED IS HOW CLOSE IT IS TO THE BEACH AND THE COMP CABANAS. ANYTHING ELSE IS A BIG NO-NO-NO!
Cons: THE ENTIRE STAFF THROUGHOUT THE HOTEL. ROOM CAN BE UPDATED. BATHROOMS REMODELED. COMP COFFEE FOR HOTEL GUEST AND NOT CHARGE FOR THEM TWICE.
Location: LOCATION NEAR THE BEACH. A LOT OF FERY DOCS NEARBY THAT YOU CAN DO OTHER ACTIVITIES FROM.
MY EXPERINCE WITH THIS HOTEL WAS HORRIBLE SINCE DAY 1. AFTER CHECKING IN TO WHAT WAS SUPPOSE TO BE A (1 KING SIZE BED ROOM) THEY SENT ME TO A ROOM THAT HAD TO SMALL TINY NOISY BEDS. I IMMEDIATELY CALLED THE FRONT DESK AND TOLD THEM THAT WAS NOT THE ROOM I HAD BOOKED/REQUESTED. THEY THEN SAID OH WELL WE HAVE NO OTHER ROOMS FOR TONIGHT "WE MIGHT BE ABLE TO CHANGE YOU ROOMS TOMORROW". THANK GOD FOR MY FRIEND BEING THERE WE WALKED TO THE FRONT LOBBY AND DEMANDED THE ROOM WE HAD BOOKED WITH THE 1 KING SIZE BED OR EXPECTED TO BE UPGRADED FOR FREE. SOMEHOW THEN THE FRONT DESK HAD A ROOM WITH A KING SIZE BED. THIS NEW ROOM WAS "OK" BUT OLD AND OUTDATED. THE A/C IS THE ROOM DID NOT WORK. IT DIDNT DROP THE TEMP IN THE ROOM AT ALL. WE SWEATED ALL NIGHT. ONE OF THE MORNINGS MY FRIEND AND I WENT FOR COFFEE. HE GOT A CUP OF COFFEE THINKING IT WOULD BE COMP -NO- NOT ONLY IT WASN'T COMP BUT GOT CHARGED TWICE FOR PRESSING THERE BUTTON "TWICE" WHITCH STILL DIDN'T FILL UP THE SMALL STIREFOAM CUP. WHEN CHECKING OUT WE HAD A SHUTTLE COME PICK US UP AT THE LOBBY TO TAKE US TO THE AIRPORT. THIS HAD ALREADY BEEN ARRANGED DAYS PRIOR WITH THE FRONT DESK. DAY OF, IT WAS 350 WHEN THE SHUTTLE WAS SUPPOSE TO ARRIVE AT 330. ASKED THE FRONT DESK HE SAID HE REALLY "HAD NO IDEA HOW THAT PROCESS WORKED" AND THAT HE ALSO HOPED THE SHUTTLE WOULD SHOW UP. SO STRESSFUL. DON'T BRING YOUR MONEY TO THIS HOTEL. DO YOUR RESEARCH. VERY UNSATISFIED. SHOULD BE AVAILABLE ON EXPEDIA.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2016 by Jose Maria, Hotel Management
We are sorry that our hotel did not meet your expectations. It is really important that, in such circumstances, you contact with, directly, with our Guest Service Department that will take of your request. Transportation is providencia by a third party and Guest is responsible to verify that the pick-up time is correct, at least, 24 hrs before the service is rendered.
4 out of 5
by Michael from San Francisco

Week in Cancun

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is in a beautiful location, not too touristy as most of the guests are from Latin America. Had to switch rooms but it was an easy switch. The view from a garden room is amazing views.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from virgina

Dump hotel

Posted Jan 24, 2016
They put us in the wrong hotel They put us in the Mayan caribe it was A dump
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2016 by ext-jmpastor, Hotel Management
If your were in a different hotel, this is not the right place to post a review about Dos Playas.