Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Quiet location, great restaurant onsite

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, room, restaurant
Cons: Maybe doors on the bathrooms.
Location: Easy taxi ride everywhere on the island.
We enjoyed our stay at Casa Xchel. Pros: Pretty white room with good air conditioning. The staff was friendly. The area is quiet and the bed was comfortable so we had a excellent conditions for sleeping. The pool area is small,but the hotel is small and there are plenty of chairs and loungers to go around. The restaurant is super convenient and has delicious breakfasts and dinner/lunch. There are yoga classes that are free for guest 3x a week and are really nice (nicely paced and pretty challenging). The setting is just beautiful (this is not a "beach" hotel although it is on the ocean - this area is rocky and not swimable). The hotel is about a 5-8 minute taxi ride from the center - which costs $50 pesos (about $2.50 USD). We never had to wait more than a few minutes to catch a taxi (so we did not feel the need to rent a golf cart or moped during our visit). Housekeeping kept the room nicely cleaned and supplied us with a carafe of filtered water each day. Notable things to consider: The biggest surprise for us was that the bathroom was separate from the bedroom by only a curtain. There was incense in the room to take care of the inevitable odors - but the bathroom didn't provide much privacy. We turned on the sink for acoustical blocking when anyone used the toilet. It wasn't a problem, but worth being aware of in case you aren't comfortable with that arrangement. Our room had a patio door, but the curtains were fixed (light blocking) so no natural light in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Lovely place to stay, great for the price!

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Location: Liked not being right in the loud hub of town. The hotel is right on the road but the noise at night did not bother us.
Absolutely loved staying here and can not beat the price. Felt very clean and safe, bed was incredibly comfortable and the view and outside pool area spectacular. We liked not being right in the busy-ness of the north of the island. Only 'down side' was the curtain that separated the bathroom from the room. The shower had great water pressure though and was clean. We ate in the attached restaurant for breakfast and can't beat the price and the view. Did not try the yoga class but certainly an added bonus for anyone staying. We can not wait to go back and visit the Island and would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from san francisco

nice clean hotel

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: small size
Location: right on the beach but beach was full of rugged rocks and not easily accessable
friendly helpful staff, clean room in a quiet part of town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Cozy, quaint, hotel on the Caribbean side

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: The hotel staff are friendly and and gave great service. The food is also delicious at the restaurant. Great cappuccino's!
Location: Rent a golf cart and enjoy the whole island. La Bruja has the best fish ceviche and fish soup. Minino's had the best whole fried fish and fish tacos
Wonderful hotel, excellent room. The trade winds, the sounds of the waves crashing against the rocks, and excellent service made the experience lovely. We stayed in the Abundance room and loved it. We visited during Christmas and the other side of the island was too hot, whereas this side of the island was exquisite with the constant breeze.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC, Canada

Great boutique hotel with an awesome ocean view

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: There's a great restaurant on the top floor with the same amazing ocean view and nice local dishes. We had a amazing dinner and a wonderful breakfast at that place. All staff including the restaurant are friendly accommodating and helpful making sure you are satisfied at any time. There are also free Yoga classes at the hotel with the same great ocean view for those interested, please note those are seasonal.
Cons: We had ants (tiny ones) attack our room if we left ANY kind of food/drinks outside but that's inevitable across the entire island, so not really the hotel's issue but just a word to the wise, keep food/drinks locked away in air-tight containers or in the fridge - these local ants even like the rum...
Location: A scenic pool is at the hotel facing the ocean and pretty well situated as there are a bunch of local vendors of food and snacks just down the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Awesome view

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Wotif
Location: About 20 min comfortable walk from town centre. We found it very safe to walk both day and night. Hiring a golf cart is a must.
The view - to die for. Food - we didn't try the restaurant as there were plenty of options in town. Staff - Very helpful. Room - It is pretty much approx. 10 meters away from the Caribbean Sea, rough side of the island. The sea is a lot calmer on the side facing Cancun. Of course, it was very noisy from waves and constant strong wind. We had the view from our bedroom as well as shower (standing up) and bath (lying in the bath-tub). Unfortunately, the room was right next to the pool so we had to keep the blinds down and curtains drawn most of the time with other people around the pool. Also, there can be noise from upstairs rooftop area right above most rooms though people tend not to stay late (most mid age or older couples). Kitchen - We had a little kitchen but the gas stove didn't work. We just wanted to boil water to make tea. Bathroom - A shower head was missing at the time. Overall, it was a very cute and comfortable place with a view to die for.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Enjoyed it

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Orbitz
Stayed in the peace room. Quiet and private. Easy to find a cab to anywhere and close to bodegas. Ac didn't work that well but cooled off at night. There were large gaps in the door frame that let in heat and noise but not horrible. Can't flush toilet paper so you have to put it in the garbage which was a little gross. Restaurant was above average and staff was attentive and friendly. Rocky beaches so bring water shoes or sandals. Nice pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Nice hotel close to the ocean

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Great small place, access to the ocean but not for swimming as it is rocky. Loved it and would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Quiet away from everything..

Posted Jul 18, 2016
I booked this place on accident, thought it was on north beach... Anyways it was away from town center and north beach but a very quiet comfortable stay, very picturesque..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Maria C.

Great location great food great people!

Posted Jun 29, 2015 on Orbitz
It was perfect! The hotel was cozy and has a great view. The food excellent and the staff very friendly was 15 min walking distance to downtown