Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC, Canada

Great boutique hotel with an awesome ocean view

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: There's a great restaurant on the top floor with the same amazing ocean view and nice local dishes. We had a amazing dinner and a wonderful breakfast at that place. All staff including the restaurant are friendly accommodating and helpful making sure you are satisfied at any time. There are also free Yoga classes at the hotel with the same great ocean view for those interested, please note those are seasonal.
Cons: We had ants (tiny ones) attack our room if we left ANY kind of food/drinks outside but that's inevitable across the entire island, so not really the hotel's issue but just a word to the wise, keep food/drinks locked away in air-tight containers or in the fridge - these local ants even like the rum...
Location: A scenic pool is at the hotel facing the ocean and pretty well situated as there are a bunch of local vendors of food and snacks just down the street.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Enjoyed it

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Orbitz
Stayed in the peace room. Quiet and private. Easy to find a cab to anywhere and close to bodegas. Ac didn't work that well but cooled off at night. There were large gaps in the door frame that let in heat and noise but not horrible. Can't flush toilet paper so you have to put it in the garbage which was a little gross. Restaurant was above average and staff was attentive and friendly. Rocky beaches so bring water shoes or sandals. Nice pool.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Nice hotel close to the ocean

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Great small place, access to the ocean but not for swimming as it is rocky. Loved it and would stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet away from everything..

Posted Jul 18, 2016
I booked this place on accident, thought it was on north beach... Anyways it was away from town center and north beach but a very quiet comfortable stay, very picturesque..
2 out of 5
by Victor manuel from León

Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Hotels
Muy caro para lo que es. Pague menos en el centro con mejor instalaciónes y servicios.
4 out of 5
by Rob

Vriendelijk, gastvrij en heerlijk

Posted Jan 7, 2016 on Ebookers
Vriendelijke staff, fijne locatie met prachtig uitzicht. Wij hadden de Abundance-room die qua ligging en ruimte top was. Andere kamers leken minder. Dus let daar op.
4 out of 5
by Maria C.

Great location great food great people!

Posted Jun 29, 2015 on Orbitz
It was perfect! The hotel was cozy and has a great view. The food excellent and the staff very friendly was 15 min walking distance to downtown
5 out of 5
by John B.

Great Stay

Posted Jan 9, 2015 on Orbitz
Great hotel in a quieter area of the island but quick/easy taxi into the main areas. Very friendly staff and a great value - we would come back
4 out of 5
by Anna61

Erholung in Mexiko

Posted Dec 8, 2014 on Ebookers
Das Hotel selber war gut; das Personal sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit. Ganz klar zum weiter empfehlen. Das Restaurant war eine einzige Enttäuschung. Zu teuer und schlechte Küche. Hotel ja Restaurant nein
4 out of 5
by coladakitty

Gem on Isla

Posted Nov 21, 2014 on Orbitz
My husband and I visited Casa Ixchel last February and really enjoyed it. Our room was one of the smaller ones, but it was comfortable and had all we needed, including a small fridge and enough closet/dresser space for clothes. One quibble is that the bathroom is separated from the bedroom by a curtain, so there is not much privacy. However, I've seen this other places in Mexico, and it isn't a deal-breaker, since the pool area is just a few feet from the room so one person can be outside enjoying the view while the other gets ready. The location is ideal -- a 15 minute walk to Town, but easy to get there, but quiet and out of the way. We had a golf cart (arranged upon arrival at the front desk), and had tons of fun zipping around the island. We had some delicious tacos and guacamole at the hotel, and the margaritas were excellent on the roof-top deck. The beach in front of the hotel is rocky and not swimmable (at least for me!), but you are just minutes from either Playa Norte or quieter sand beaches on other side. We loved Isla and plan to return. We will definitely consider Casa Ixchel for another trip. While the pool/sea view rooms are probably more luxurious than what we had, we wouldn't need to upgrade as we spent very little time in the room.