Ratings based on 1,268 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Ok Hotel

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Pool, Conception, Martin, Jorge-excellent customer service. Beach beautiful.
Cons: Food, rooms.
Location: Xel-ha, Chichen Itza, Restaurants
Pros: Beautiful Pool, Conception is the best Pool Waiter! Beach is awesome. Cons: Food is pretty bad, Room not cleaned 2 days and dirty, balcony HUGE disappointment, you can't even sit out there with a cup of coffee. And there was no small table, chairs to sit in the room. Will not return.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cali

My Vacation

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Not alot
Cons: the buffets are terrible, don't do all inclusive
Location: location nice and so is the beach
TV choices are horrible, not much if you watch TV like 4-5 channels american
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Nice hotel, would stay again

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Location, amenities, nice staff.
Cons: Softer sheets!!!
Location: At the southern end of the hotel zone; about 10 minutes by bus (R1 or R2) to the heart of downtown, about 15 minutes by bus to Playa Tortuga.
I stayed at the Emporio for 1 week in February 2017. I found this hotel via Expedia and read a lot of the reviews. I definitely was not disappointed; the hotel is beautiful and backs right up to the beach in Cancun. All you have to do is go down some stairs and walk right on to the sand. From what I could gather, almost all of the hotels are ocean view. The rooms are very clean, spacious, and comfortable, although maybe a bit dated. A lot of the other reviews complained about the construction but our room was literally 2 over from where the construction was and it wasn't loud of distracting at all, even with our patio door open. We did not use the pools very much because of the beach access, but from what I experienced of the pools they were clean and a great temperature. The swim-up bar is also awesome. Down by the beach there are umbrellas, chairs, and a bar and restaurant as well. We ate at the hotel restaurant the first night because we were tired form travelling and the food was fantastic and very affordable - I don't regret that meal at all and they have some dishes that are local, not just catered toward tourists. If you have little kids that want to play in the sand and ocean, I would recommend getting a hotel on the Lagoon side or on Isla Mujeres as all the beaches along the Carribean side had huge waves and red flags; not even swimming for adults was allowed let alone kids that would love to splash around. I definitely would stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Service

Posted Feb 20, 2017
The service at this hotel was really bad. We had to wait for an hour for food. Some staff members were rude. Cerratin restaurants were not available
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fun in Cancun

Posted Feb 14, 2017
I had a wonderful trip. The staff was amazing. The beach was beautiful. Hotel centrally located. Only complaint rooms could be updated and beds are hard.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

This continues to be a beautiful resort but...

Posted Jan 30, 2017
This continues to be a beautiful resort. Front staff are friendly and inviting. Food is great. Housekeeping is severely lacking. Our villa had dirty floors; the tub was disgusting and the kitchen garbage under the sink was full and smelly when we checked in. When we told the cleaning staff she smiled and acted like she had no idea what I was talking about. I had to put the overfilled smelly trash outside of the room myself.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pomona, NY

Excellent hotel for families

Posted Jan 29, 2017
We are a family of 5 who had a fantastic stay at the Emporio. There was more than enough space for all of us between the two bedrooms and pull down beds in the living room. Although the bathrooms and kitchens are dated, they were very clean and did not bother us. One building was under construction (background building noises during the day) so perhaps the rooms are being updated. We loved the pools, the grounds and the beautiful beach. All staff members were friendly and polite and went out of their way to ensure we had a good stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 27, 2017
I stayed there for 5 nights, mostly leaving in the morning and coming back at night. Everything was to my satisfaction.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Wonderful hotel with gorgeous views

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Our internet was slow and/or didn't work at times in our room. It wasn't a big deal, but there were holes in coverage.
Location: Museo Maya de Cancun is minutes away and worth a visit! The R2 bus will take you anywhere on the hotel strip for cheap and is super easy to use.
We had an absolutely wonderful time at the Emporio hotel and would definitely go back! The staff was wonderful, always prompt, efficient and kind. The waitstaff at the buffets were amazing and made each meal a joy. Our room was huge for two people and so close to the beach! The views of sunrise were spectacular and the big comfy chairs and umbrellas made spending a day at the beach so luxurious. No need to bring towels, you just rent them for the day (included in the hotel price) and return each day for a card, so clean towels every day! The pool was also lovely and has a swim up bar :) ABSOLUTELY get a room with breakfast included. It was one of the highlights of our trip. Breakfast had lots of fresh fruit, a yogurt bar, made to order eggs, quesadillas, chilaquiles and tons of amazing juices! Jugo verde was my favorite and I drank several glasses every day. We actually ate there for a lunch and dinner buffet as well, and were incredible happy with all our meals. There are a few good restaurants in walking distance, just outside the hotel. Check out the restaurants across the street for a beautiful views of the sunset. Also riding the bus around the hotel zone is super easy and cheap, for those who want to explore more around the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good hotel

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: Beach facility and general cleanliness were fantastic
Cons: Access to main areas more are a little too far to get to by stairs
Location: Location is good. So many local busses available to get to nearby action
Check in manager Emelio and staff Corol were great. Very helpful