Ratings based on 957 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from upstate, NY

Great resort on a beautiful beach.

Posted Feb 13, 2016
Pros: It's nicer than anywhere we've stayed in the states and absolute lately beautiful.
Cons: A small table in the room would be nice to sit at in the morning.
We had a wonderful week. Great food, beautiful pool and georgeous ocean. Relaxing and fun.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mpls., MN

Nice location. Great staff. Uneven room quality.

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Older condo converted into a hotel making more rooms out of what had once been larger units. Changed room 3 times, but decided all were uniformly poor. Hotel showing age and needs a decor redo. On the upside, wonderful staff, chairs always available on the beach, unlike at some other places. Breakfast buffet ok. Bananas usually not put out. Waffles, pancakes always cold. Great internet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel with great location

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Pros: Beach was awesome
Cons: Improved communication with some staff that had limited English
Location: Great location. Easy access to bus. Shopping, golfing, and restaurants.
Wonderful experience. Nice friendly clean place. Beach is 5 star, lifeguard on duty, rolling waves very fun to play in. We had a bad experience with our door lock and had to go to the lobby a few times.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Pros: room
Noisy construction and hardly anybody understands or speaks english.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Family oriented hotel

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Location: Right beside the Mayan museum and walking distance from some ruins at El Rey.
Very nice hotel with beautiful beach. Current was very strong most days so you can go for a dip but you can't go swimming most days. Very friendly staff and clean hotel. Bed was comfortable. Nice activities for adults and children. I thought the only down side was that there was no access to a washer/dryer to do your own laundry (you can get your clothes cleaned at the hotel but you pay per item).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel right on the beach

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Pros: We like that it is right on the beach and is fairly inexpensive.
Cons: More options for the buffet dinner at the pool restaurant.There were more options at the breakfast buffet.
Location: Emporio is right in the hotel zone and is close to great restaurants such as Captain's Cove, Harry's, and Puerto Madero.
We enjoyed our stay at Emporio for a few nights. Our oceanfront room was on the 1st floor and we could walk off of our patio down to the beach. The view from our patio was breathtaking looking out at the clear blue water. It was fairly inexpensive and we got the buffet breakfast included which was perfect as we would snack during the day and then enjoy a dinner at the hotel or across the street at Captain's Cove. If you get a chance to go to Captain's Cove, they had a stuffed grouper that was by far the best fish we have ever had. It was stuffed with shrimp and lobster.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missouri

EMPORIO STAY

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Cons: I would recommend putting a miniature golf on the rooftop of the garden rooms that now just is dead space with green indoor outdoor carpet.
Location: easy to ride bus 10.5 pesos anywhere downtown or along the hotel zone; restaurants and shopping.
We just spent a week at the Emporio. This is our 13th visit to Cancun, so we know the area well and have stayed at several hotels along the hotel Zone. We like the fact it is not all -inclusive, because we do not eat eat and drink enough to pay the all-inclusive price and I don't like feeling like I have to stay on the property because I paid for it. We had a one bedroom suit with a full kitchen. It was nice; a little outdated but clean and very functional. The pool area was very nice and the beach is spectacular. The activities director was great and had different things planned throughout the day such as beach volleyball, water polo, trivia games, etc. The activities office had boogie boards, different kinds of balls and lots of other equipment to check out for free. I had my 13 year old daughter with us and felt very safe allowing her to roam the facility and beach out front by herself. I would come again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from chiapas

muy bien agradable vista

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: la playa
vastante confortable exelente personal muy amable la comida exelente variedad
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pocono Mts. Pa. USA

Nice hotel, lots of construction.

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: Grounds, pool, restaurant.
Cons: Check in process. More attention to bath floor cleaning.
Location: Not much without a taxi ride. Better to stay at the hotel/resort. Take tours.
The Hotel and amenities are very nice. The location on the highway is behind other buildings, some are under serious construction making for noise and dust on the way out from the hotel. The beach/pool side is awesome! The bathroom was clean but not perfect, small insect residue in the corners of the floor spoke poorly about the attention of the cleaning staff. The only real complaint was the check in process. It was the slowest I have EVERY experienced. With a stairway up front, leading to the check in on the second floor, my wife waited with the luggage for a full half hour, never did a staff ask to help her in, after a half hour she became quite concerned as to where I was and why the long wait. There was no long line at the check in so the delay was not warranted. The price is very good for a hotel of this caliber. Restaurants and food were very good, priced right, and service was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice property.

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Property is very nice. Front desk service is fast and courteous. Property is showing its age. Patio doors hard to open. We would stay there again.