Ratings based on 2,968 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Great place to unwind and relax. Great food and service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Best stay of my life

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: Friendly and kind and caring staff. The amazing food. The short distance between all the locations in the resort. The all inclusive in room minibar.
Cons: Wait time for the Habachi at spice can be improved. And the wifi speed could be a bit better.
Location: Didn't really leave the resort.
From the moment we stepped into to hotel the friendly staff were pampering us until we left. The food was impeccable. The hotel condition was amazing. Amigo Carlos at Sol Bar went out of his way to bring us the best drinks to be had beside a pool under the sun. The room service was amazing. Everything was so good about our stay that I couldn't believe it. Andrés at the beach, Enrique at the reception, and everyone else were so kind and caring. They actually cared about us, never had that experience in any hotel. Definitely coming back, I am actually in the process of convincing friends to go to this place with us next time. Thank you very much for making our stay amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Beautiful hotel with friendly and accommodating staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Augustine, FL

Excellence lives up to its name

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Big, beautiful location with nice ocean view, fantastic pools (including a lazy river-esque one) and surprisingly large rooms. My bed was comfortable.
Cons: Food portions were a bit small in a few places, but no fret, just order a second entree.
Location: Beautiful, semi-secluded location, joined by two other Excellence resorts on both sides and a small Marina. Exploring? You'll be taking a cab.
I had a fantastic time during my stay at Excellence Playa Mujeres. It is truly a self-contained vacation area with wonderful staff, mostly excellent food, a laid back atmosphere, and great patrons. The rooms were large, clean, and well stocked (including full bottles of liquor, albeit lower end stuff (not that I'm complaining)), as long as you don't mind the glass showers and water closet. The beach is pretty but just shy of being that stunning all blue abyss, though this fairly minor and may change from time to time due to seaweed levels, so while not blown away by the sealine, it was still plenty beautiful. I'm in my early 30s and traveled to the resort to meet and socialize with some friends for a few days, it's a fantastic resort for this, and even though it's very couples centric - I made many new acquaintances and friends, all of whom were just having a great, relaxing time. Not the least bit of attitude to be found. Food was generally quite good, Flavor Market (Tapas-style) was fantastic. While I initially found the room rates to be a bit on the steep side, I found it to be more than justified when I arrived. Just be sure you play the Jurassic Park theme as you roll through those main gates.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Super exelente como el nombre del hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Fantásticas,el personal super amable siempre dispuestos ayudarte,el cuarto impecable las picinas brutales,la playa cristalina la comida exelente lo único q deben condimentarla un poco mas, el hotel inmejorable no hay palabras para describirlo todo exelente 10 estrellas....voy el próximo año
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Good Vacation

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Pros: Food, drinks, room selection, professionalism of staff.
Cons: Pool Hours could be longer....pool closes at 8:00PM. Deeper pools would be nice, all pools are 1 meter deep.
Location: Stayed within the resort during my whole stay. But resort concierge is on hand 24hours to assist in any off site site seeing, acitivities, etc/
9 restaurants within the resort, bars located all over the resort, fresh fruit bar, coffee and deserts lounge at 3rd floor of the lobby, swim up pools, private hot tubs, beautiful beach, friendly yet professional staff, light entertainment every night at the theater, on-site Spa. Would definately recommend this all inclusive resort if what you are looking for is relaxing and quiter side of Cancun.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Beautiful resort, excellent staff, forgettable foo

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Pros: The room, layout of the resort, excellent staff
Cons: Food (in restaurants and room service) and refilling the mini-bar
Location: Great location if you are looking for a private secluded area. Beach is not packed with resorts.
Recently stayed 4 nights at this resort. Not regular AI travelers. Loved the feel of the resort and the room was spacious and clean. Had a rooftop plunge pool which offered a nice respite away from busier main pools. The resort amenities were great and they provided us with 2 free bottles of champagne during our short stay! The beach is beautiful and we did not have any seaweed (which we heard people from other resorts complaining about). The biggest disappointment was the food. All dinners are a la carte. We ate at Lobster House (awful), Agave (great), Toscana (alright), Flavor Market (hit or miss). We are not real foodies but would expect meals to be served warm and as stated on the menu. The breakfast buffet was the most edible with the lunch buffet a close second. We also ate lunch at The Grill which was good. Interestingly, we ordered the nachos here and they came with the same fake cheese as at a baseball game.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lubbock

Pamper session for 4 nights! Unbelievable

Posted Aug 20, 2015
We had a relaxing 4 night stay for our 20th wedding anniversary. We upgraded to the Excellence Club level which I highly recommend. Concierge and pool service was outstanding.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cruise like in Cancun

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Overall experience was good but not excellent....I would say this is a four star resort at most....we emailed the hotel twice letting them know we were celebrating our honeymoon however they never received the message which does not surprise me because you will have no internet or cell connection for the majority of your stay! Even the travel consultants had to roam around with their iPads to search for signals to book excursions. Alcohol selection was ok...wine & champagne terrible unless u choose to upgrade ....KJ Chardonnay 55 USD...le Crema 85 usd....alcohol in room was awful unless u upgrade to excellence club which I hear is not worth it unless u plan on downing a few bottles of grey goose. It was upsetting that first timers not celebrating anything special were upgraded at no additional cost....while others paid. The pool is clean most of the time except for the bar area in the pool....tons of smokers.food quality was good...French restaurant was probably the best....& martini bar in lobby had the best drinks. I did not feel like there was a lot of personal attention here....24 hour room service takes forever!!!! lots of activities if u care to play volleyball, learn Latin dance or partake in daily water aerobics. The beach is nice & service at pool & beach is good. It was confusing because it stated that gratuity was included however everyone seemed to expect and accept tips....the service defiantly improved upon tipping. We had a nice time, but Not excellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tn

"Excellent". New buzz phrase after that trip.

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Total service. No wants or worries. Rooftop pool room a must. Worth every upgrade penny