Ratings based on 4,871 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dallas/Ft Worth

Beautiful Resort with Fantastic Rooms and Staff!

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: Clean, beautiful rooms and facilities and always a spot by the beach or pool.
Everything was enjoyable from the reception to departure. The staff is extremely nice and helpful. The Excellence Club option is a big plus. Premium alcohol served and delicious food with lots of options.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oklahoma

Super quiet and relaxing!

Posted May 19, 2017
Very romantic and secluded! Will definitely be going back! The food was exceptional at every location in the resort! I can't say anything bad about this resort other than the beach could be a little nicer. But overall it is a great resort! Oh and make sure men bring long pants with dress shirts and closed toed shoes or they will not be allowed to eat dinner at any of the restaurants at the resort! The dress code it strictly enforced at this resort unlike other all inclusive resorts in Mexico that I have been to in the past.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Romantic Couples Getaway Only

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: Thank you for the free upgrade! LOVED our suite with the pool on the roof!
Cons: The bed was super firm. The spa tub next to the balcony was dirty so we didn't use it. Room service food was disgusting.
Location: Day trips and excursions from the resort are the way to go.
Not really a destination for a group of friends or single people. It is adult only and everything is designed for that and returning to your room for a bit of romance (including adult channels for free). There isn't a ton of nightlife, everything except one or two bars closes around midnight. The room service food was gross, but the restaurants are fabulous. Buffet is the best for breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great Place to do nothing

Posted May 19, 2017
My wife and have just returned for a second time and enjoyed it as much as the first time (3 years ago). The resort is in a very secure area just north of Cancun. The grounds are well laid out and it is designed for folks looking to get away and relax. No children, good restaurants (8 choices) and plenty of Bars and wait staff. The staff are very friendly and attentive. A nice choice of pool and beach facilities. We plan on heading back next year!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Excellence is what they do; minor glitches fixed

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: The attention from all the people; Carlos and Corazu above all.
Cons: Some of the dinners weren't great and we were unpleasantly surprised by the Mexican restaurant (Agave); long wait for food.
Location: A cab ride away to the ferry to Isla Mujeres, which we did, downtown Cancun. People at the resort will arrange any type of transportation you want.
We celebrated our 25th anniversary and enjoyed our time so much we are looking into when we go again! From the time e arrived we were greeted with friendliness and a desire to ensure we were happy and satisfied. The property is beautiful and too say it is meticulously maintained is an understatement. The restaurants we had the time to try were great and would cater to any need or request. What makes huge difference is the people; we had two concierge's for our building who where noting short of amazing! Carlos not only compensated us with a free spa for our Jacuzzi not working, but arranged two nights of roses and bubbles in our room for our anniversary; the joy with which he does his job is authentic and he always made us feel special. Corazu was always helpful and when my wife was sick (outside food) she coordinated an order from an outside pharmacy, had the drugs delivered to our room, and then even prepared a local homeopathic remedy for her. Her care and understanding throughout the visit were incredible. One more person that deserves special mention was one of the best bartenders I've ever seen period; TNT as everybody called him not only made great drinks but made them to a level of quality and detail, like pro-chilling martini and white wine glasses, that I've rarely seen even in high end bars. The bartenders at the pool bar where also awesome; and I learned a few tricks that i plan to use at our pool parties! Next step; family resort with the kids!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

They've Thought of Everything!

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: Relaxing
Location: Short catamaran ride to Isla Mujeres, but you could definitely stay at the resort and never leave.
Our stay was absolutely perfect. The food was great and the margaritas AMAZING. The staff was so friendly and accommodating. Alejandro, David, and Cindy at the Excellence Club pool were our favorites. Excellence Club was worth the money for sure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fantastic. relaxing stay.

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: The grounds, the pools, no up-selling
Cons: Maid service should service rooms before noon.
Location: There are excursions you can book in the lobby of the hotel. Isla Mujeres is very close by and a ferry ride away.
We had a wonderfully relaxing six night stay at EPM in early May 2017. I am normally a budget friendly traveler, but decided to splurge for our 15 year anniversary. It was worth it. Grounds/beach: The grounds of the resort are lush and inviting. The pools are curved and inviting with tile bottoms. The colors are vibrant and engaging. It's seriously one of the most beautiful hotels I've visited. Room: We had a standard Junior suite on the 3rd floor of building 6, non-Excellence Club near the spa. Best part: the huge dual shower with bench and rainwater type shower head. Toilet area not at all private. Spa: Overall, I wouldn't do the spa again for the money. It was fine, but not great. Pools: There are many pools to sit by and enjoy the sun, shade, drinks, activities, etc. We wanted a quiet vacation, so we found "our" place by the spa. Beach: We had a problem with chair reserving on the beach, where people would leave for hours and save chairs. Beach has seaweed, but it's really not a problem. Food: Food was honestly hit or miss. We had some WONDERFUL meals. Other meals were fine, but not outstanding. Others weren't good at all. Maids/Concierge: Concierge didn't follow through and maid service didn't come until 3pm which was MUCH too late. Tipping: This one in controversial. We DID tip for GOOD service. Good service makes you WANT to tip. We did not tip for so-so or indifferent service. Would we go back? Absolutely. No question.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dallas, tx

Upgrade was soooo worth it

Posted May 16, 2017
Upon arriving they offered an affordable upgrade to the best room of my life!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Best Honeymoon Destination

Posted May 15, 2017
There's simply not enough words to describe how excellent our experience was. My husband and I cannot stop talking about a future return trip!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Washington, PA

Perfect Anniversary Getaway

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: 9 restaurants offered a lot of choices, and we especially enjoyed Aroma, the dessert place at which we could get dessert any time we liked.
Cons: Would have been nice to have a couple of non-smoking pool areas & a weekly outline of which dinner restaurants would be closed during the next 5 days.
Location: 2 hour ride to Tulum ruins and Xel-ha eco-water park. 15 minutes to ferry to Isla Mujeres to catch a beautiful sunset.
This hotel is delightful. Room is beautiful, spacious, and spotless. Our room in building 3 was quiet and had a lovely view of the lazy river with beautiful palm trees and foliage all around. Especially loved the in-room hot tub, and also the lounging bed on the balcony. So nice to lay out there and just listen to nature and relax. The breakfast buffet was to die for. Wonderful choice for an anniversary trip - these folks really know how to make you feel special for an important occasion.