Ratings based on 2,984 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Everything was grate !

Posted Sep 2, 2015
Amazing place and very friendly stuff. Grate resort with lots of fun and activities. Definitely worth every penny !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2015
Great hotel. Highly recommended. This is our second time there, and we are planing for a third visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York

Amazing hotel with excellent svc and great beach

Posted Sep 1, 2015
Pros: We loved the decor, the cleanliness, the beautiful gardens, the service, the beach, and the pool.
Cons: The food was not the greatest, the pool closed to early (6:30), and no nightlife.
Location: Right outside of Cancun, close to Isla Mujeres. Area is called Playa Mujeres. People take a ferry to Isla Mujeres and tours of caves and ruins.
We thought we couldn't top our last vacation, but we sure did! Excellence Playa Mujeres is gorgeous! The grounds are beautiful and everything is so convenient! The room, which was a basic junior suite, was like a modern apartment, with a leather sofa. There's a little restaurant/bar right on the beach that serves themed lunches everyday at 12:00 with music (sometimes live). There are bars everywhere (bar near pool open til midnight). The waitstaff is amazing (especially Juliana at pool area). We had quesadillas delivered to us at the pool as an afternoon snack (delicious). Our favorite thing was the live bands that played right over the pool (different types of music, well known songs). There are shows and more live music in the evening and a cool sports bar that stays open til 12. The only negative for me was not much nightlife (no disco) and the band stopped playing at 11:00. But that would not stop me from returning!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Proceed With Caution!

Posted Sep 1, 2015
Pros: cleanliness, staff
Cons: Food may be included in the price, but it is atrocious. Spa facilities are good (but expensive), but avoid the nail salon - just awful.
Staff is faultless, however the place is overrun with loud, crass individuals and the food is appalling. Room was always clean, but mini bar not always replenished. It doesn't have the elegant feel that is portrayed on the website and certainly doesn't live up to the reviews.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Greatest hotel stay ever

Posted Aug 31, 2015
As a young couple we have travelled a lot, to more than 30 countries in fact, and by far this is the most outstanding resort we have ever stayed at. We came here for our honeymoon after friends recommended Excellence Playa Mujeres after coming here on their honeymoon the year prior. Nothing could be faulted, the honeymoon perks were amazing, pool perfect, lazy river was fun, food and many restaurants were top notch. One word of advice though is the indian and french restaurants get busy so don't leave it to late to go as the line is long or there is a waitlist. I experienced a foot injury while there and the staff were straight onto it to make sure i was ok. I will recommend this resort to everyone i know as it was outstanding
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york, newy york

best couple hotel place to go

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Cons: more food options and better prepared at the room service menu and possibly at few of the restaurants as well.
everything about the place was beyond amazing, food i would say was 4.5/5 but then again we didnt get to try every spot because it was a short stay. but the room, the place itself, the view, our own pool and jacuzzi and the martini bar was beyond what we expected. we expected to enjoy them but we were in love with these 3 things, and even more so the quitness at the beach so it was like we owned the beach and had it all to ourselves. would love to come back again. cant wait!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, Great Food

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Pros: Room was great! Loved the service and food.
Cons: Please add a fan and actual door the the water closet. Its a romantic vacation - I do not want to see or hear the bathroom.
Location: Easy transfer from hotel.
The hotel is wonderful and beautiful. We loved our room (an oceanview two story). The only negative about the room would be that the bathroom was open - so there is no privacy. Not ideal, but we managed. The upstairs pool and loungers were wonderful. It was very private and the view was great. The food was fabulous. We have been to a few all inclusives and on several cruises and the wood at Excellence was by far the best. There's no skimping on quality. Loved the wait staff at the pools. They never, ever expected or waited for tips, but we happily gave them a few dollars each day. they were great. The beach was just ok. It's hard to find shaded seating there and in August, it was way too hot to hang out there without some shade. The water is super clear, but its roped off and I hate that. We mostly stuck to the pools and our room since there was seaweed at the beach. We never had any trouble finding chairs or getting service. We did not hang out at the main pool though - it seemed more crowded. Overall, I would go back! It was great :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Asti Italy

Ottimo hotel sul mare vicinanze Cancun

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Pros: Tutto tranne la cena
Cons: Togliere il dress code che impone i pantaloni lunghi per gli uomini (in vacanza in messico mi sembra eccessivo) e mettere anche la cena a buffet
Location: L'hotel è a circa 15-20 km dalla zona degli hotel di Cancun direttamente sul mare
L'hotel è molto bello e curato, camera standard eccellente, personale gentile,piscine e spiaggia curate, colazione e pranzo a buffet ottimi, unico neo la cena non a buffet ma servita in ristoranti a tema (italiano, francese, spagnolo...) dove le porzioni sono minime e la qualità del cibo insufficiente.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

NOTHING EXCELLENT HERE, DO NOT GO!!!

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Pros: The spa treatment that came with the excellence club seemed as though it was taken straight from the Guantanamo Bay handbook.
Cons: The spa treatment was an ice cold bucket with a rope attached that we stood under and they pulled the string. couldnt help but laugh.
Location: Will post more on other forums since the character count is so few. Many depressed staff members. Ride home told us not to complain back home.
Do not believe the hype! I would never write a poor review, but my experience was so awful that I hope this saves someone from making the same mistake my fiancee and I did. We booked this purely from the amazing reviews, and can honestly say that its taken us a few weeks to shake just how horrible our time there was. First, our room was filthy. After we complained (and they tried to up sell us already a better room at check in) they told us no other rooms were available and 'cleaned' the room again. We took pictures, and honestly the bottom of our shoes were cleaner. The sheets had stains, and the headboard was probably not cleaned since its inception. Attached photos from after they cleaned the second time. Literally nothing in our room worked, from lights to the shade. I truly think they rebottle the liquor and all items in the mini fridge. We also might have stumbled upon the bottling room by the tennis courts. EASILY THE WORST TRIP AND BIGGEST WASTE OF MONEY OF OUR LIVES. Listen, I could go on and on in great detail, but I see I am running out of characters and will have to post more on other forums. The people who liked this resorts astound me, and I just can't make heads or tails of it. The food was inedible. Literally terrible. Felt malnourished the entire time. Chipotle is 5 stars in comparison. The drinks look nice but are tasteless. The excellence club is a joke, all lies, all of the benefits really did apply to everyone. and I must tell you more below.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect

Posted Aug 30, 2015
It does not get any better. Our 8th trip to Mexico and 6th all inclusive there. The best yet!