Ratings based on 4,912 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Great vacation and beautiful amenities. Service was excellent as well as the friendliness of the staff. Will most definitely return!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from p

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Great relaxing hotel, staff was extremely nice, great service, good food and drinks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Outstanding Resort!

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: I wish they had a casual large buffet for lunch near the pool. I loved the casual beachside Las Olas for lunch, though. Always a fun theme for luch t
Location: Go to Chitzen Itza Mayan Ruins. It's now listed as a "new" 7 Wonders of the World! Also, swan in a Cenote too.Would have enjoyed snorkeling & sailing
Truly an outstanding experience! From the quiet & friendly check in with Jose, champagne arriving as we completed our paperwork to the spacious, well kept room with a partial ocean view, we had no complaints! The hospitality & entertainment teams are incredible! Big shout outs to Diego & Jose at the Swim Up bar to the ever attentive beach staff ( David) for their warm and engaging service! Also, to the lovely Floricel who took of us at the poolside. The entertainment nightly was actually the best I've experienced in all of my AI vacations! Really did a great job every night with fun different themes! Kudos to "Eddie Spaghetti" and always friendly & smiling Katrina (Katie)! The only negative would be the size of the beach. Clearly, not within the hotel's control! It's small but the water was warm and a delight! We did go off property once to do a privately arranged tour to the Chitzen Itza ruins and to visit a Cenote. About a 2 1/2 hr. drive to the ruins. The spouses were bored after 5 minutes but if you enjoy history, it's pretty cool! We had read so many reviews with people raving about this resort, I didn't believe it was really that good...BUT IT IS!!! Go to EPM! You will LOVE it and have the vacation of a lifetime!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 19, 2017
Excellent Resort will be returning again! We had a great Anniversary
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Awesome place!

Posted Jun 10, 2017
This was a magnificent place with genuine people and great amenities with beautiful scenery and right on the beach
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and clean but not all the rave

Posted Jun 9, 2017
The hotel was nice and clean, the room was beautiful however, the food was not good, the drinks water down, and the was a dress code for the guys at night for what I don't know. It's was too hot for collard shirts and pants. Did I mention the food was not good!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to relax

Posted Jun 7, 2017
This was our first time in Cancun and will not be our last time. The hotel staff was amazing. The location was superb. This is truly a place of tranquility.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 22, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Joy, Thank you for choosing Excellence Playa Mujeres as the host of your first holiday in Cancun and for recommending us to all Expedia viewers. We are glad to know that you had an amazing time at the resort, and that the relaxing atmosphere and attentive staff made your stay even more enjoyable. We hope to have the privilege to welcome you back soon for another great time at the resort. Please receive our warmest greetings from Cancun!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

DISSAPONITED!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted Jun 7, 2017
We came here as a group of 12 to celebrate friend's birthday. We were so excited to visit this high end resort and to experience best of the best. Well, this wasn't the case. Let's start with positive aspects: beautiful grounds, very nice rooms, great food selection, tasty restaurants. Hotel is well maintained, it's very clean and kept well. The negative: poor management. First of all, bars ran out of tequila Saturday morning. This is a first! Secondly, our party of 12 could not be accommodated for dinner. What??? We notified manager in the morning of time, desired restaurant and... nope! Only 2 tables of 6. Even that we were able to understand. But later that evening we were asked TO LEAVE! Simply because we were hanging out and quietly playing music with a compact speaker. We asked the manager, Nelson, to go to any available room, lounge, area where we can just simply spend time together, to talk and to laugh, to relax and to listen to music. Request was denied. His answer was " elegance means no music ". Wow!! So upsetting and disappointing. Common consensus between us - we will never go back to this resort. Service is not worth the money. Show less
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

VERY DISSAPOINTED!!!

Posted Jun 7, 2017
We came here as a group of 12 to celebrate friend's birthday. We were so excited to visit this high end resort and to experience best of the best. Well, this wasn't the case. Let's start with positive aspects: beautiful grounds, very nice rooms, great food selection, tasty restaurants. Hotel is well maintained, it's very clean and kept well. The negative: poor management. First of all, bars ran out of tequila Saturday morning. This is a first! Secondly, our party of 12 could not be accommodated for dinner. What??? We notified manager in the morning of time, desired restaurant and... nope! Only 2 tables of 6. Even that we were able to understand. But later that evening we were asked TO LEAVE! Simply because we were hanging out and quietly playing music with a compact speaker. We asked the manager, Nelson, to go to any available room, lounge, area where we can just simply spend time together, to talk and to laugh, to relax and to listen to music. Request was denied. His answer was " elegance means no music ". Wow!! So upsetting and disappointing. Common consensus between us - we will never go back to this resort. Service is not worth the money. Will never go again, will never recommend this hotel to anyone. Came back very mad and sad that paid so much money. VERY VERY DISSAPOINTED!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Given your feedback about the service, we apologize for not exceeding your expectations. At Excellence Playa Mujeres, each member of the staff is continuously trained for the proper development of their duties in order for them to provide the best service for our guests’ comfort and satisfaction. Also, please be advised that Excellence prides itself on providing a retreat offering relaxation, romance, peace, and luxury. Therefore, the hotel aims to provide an environment that is not disrupting for the peace and tranquility of other guests. On behalf of all the staff and the management at Excellence Playa Mujeres, we deeply regret the occurrence that was unsatisfactory, and we offer our sincere apologies if this circumstance has affected your perception towards the resorts. We truly hope to have the privilege to welcome you back in a near future to reinstate your confidence in our services. Please receive our warm regards from Cancun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic trip without children.

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Pros: Immaculate Grounds Wonderful Staff Stiff Drinks Beautiful rooms
Cons: Didn't have the swim up suite we requested. They made up for it in upgrades. Bathroom isn't big on privacy.
Has an ocean view room that was wonderful. While I live near the ocean, the breeze from the ocean was even better than the view itself. There is a bed on the balcony for a few nice naps. The beach was nice and the cabana beds on the excellence club beach were one of the best things about the trip. If you want one you have to get to the beach early. The drinks were amazing, the staff was even better. Anything you want they would go out of their way for you. The food was very good, better than I expected, but still not a 5 star restaurants. There were activities through the day and in the evening. Overall it was an incredible experience and we will definitely be back next year. I do recommend using the hotel transportation. Tried booking something through expedia and the communication was poor. Also recommend bringing about a hundred in 1s and 5s as tipping money. You don't have to tip, at least half the people there didn't, but the staff work so hard they deserve it. Not the hotel, but when I called Expedia with questions I was offered a call back between 4-7 hrs later. Don't expect help quickly from Expedia.