Ratings based on 4,433 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Imdiana

Mid size hotel close right on the beach

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Very clean and fully stocked.
Cons: Perhaps some of the evening shows could be improved.
Location: If you want to simply get off the grid and relax then this is the perfect hotel. There are excursions like day trips to Isla Mujeres and snorkeling.
This hotel has the most friendly staff we have ever seen. They are fully committed making sure that you feel welcome. After only the second day they knew who you were. We did not walk past one hotel staff member who didn't greet you. This All inclusive hotel will make you wish you had booked more days of stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Amazing service!

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: My favorite thing about this hotel was the places to eat. There were so many options.
Cons: Dislike the open toilet stall. Wifi did NOT work well especially during peak hours. Drinks were light on alcohol.
Location: The hotel is located in a private gated area with a total of only 4 resorts there. We were able to enjoy the beach with just other hotel guests.
All the staff were exceptionally professional and nice. We were greeted with a cool towel and champagne. Everything about the hotel was amazing and clean (barely saw any sand on the actual resort considering how close it was to the beach). There were many choices to eat at and the dinner food were amazing no matter where we went. Room service was great, from wakeup calls, calls to make sure what we requested had been completed, to ordering food, and the turn down service was great. Aside from the humid weather (which we were not use to) and occasional rain (we went in the middle of July), this was by far my favorite hotel stay ever.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Athens, GA

Honeymoon at Excellence Playa Mujeres!!

Posted Jul 26, 2016
We recently stayed at the Excellence resort in Playa Mujeres for seven days and would highly recommend this resort. We thought the rooms were excellent, the staff was second to none and the overall facilities were clean, beautiful and very well maintained. The nightly entertainment was outstanding! The all inclusive option made the visit so much more enjoyable as we didn't have to worry about food or drinks. We really do not have one negative thing to say about the Excellence resort and would recommend it to anyone.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia Pa.-

Marsha's Birthday

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Good Customer Service from the complete staff.
Cons: Just one complaint. The mattress on the bed was to hard?
Location: Great Location and about a 20 minute ride to down town. Only if you really need to leave the resort. However anything you want is at the resort.
wonderful place 5 stars hotel from the staff as soon as you arrive to the very end of your stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel - for quiet couples

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Food, rooms, spa, waitors
Cons: entertainment, customer service
This was a very nice hotel. The food was great and the staff was great. The spa was incredible. We were a group of 8 adults, that enjoy good music, activities, and fun. We thought the customer service was horrible. The management didn't help us at all with dinner reservations or activity requests. That really was our main complaint. The pool music was terrible, the activities were always full, so it was hard for 8 of us to join in, the night entertainment was pretty lame and the music was loud until about 11pm. We would go to our rooms and hang out at the lazy river outside of our room during the day when the pool live music would start - because it was not good at all.... and then a manager came and told us we had to turn off our outdoor speaker, because outside music was not allowed. Dinner seating for all 8 of us was like pulling teeth. The only way we were able to eat at Spice was if we agreed to purchase wine from the additional wine menu. They would act like they were full at all of the best restaurants even though there were seats open all around. We really didn't feel like groups were welcome - the manager, Nelson, who we didn't appreciate at all - told us this was a resort for romantic couples not groups. All of that said, it is very nice if you are looking for a quiet relaxing resort.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from H

Exelent place

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Exelent service place very clean exelent food the water very clean
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Posted Jul 25, 2016
I've been to dozens of resorts and this was the best. Fantastic, friendly, attentive staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Incredible Experience

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Everything! Food, service, pools, staff
Cons: Wifi
Location: We didn't want to go anywhere once we were here
Everything about the hotel was amazing down to the finest details. From the moment we got out of the cab and were greeted with a warm towel and a glass of champagne to the checkout. Every single employee working there was so friendly and made us feel top class the entire stay. There were places to get away and be alone and romantic and places to hang out like the swim up bar and be social. The beach was beautiful and we were never left without a drink in our hand. All the restaurants we ate at were great and there was constantly entertainment around the hotel. This place is huge! It took us a couple days to really catch our bearings and not get lost. We plan on going back next year.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2016
My wife and I had a great time at Excellence. Food was great, staff was friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from laredo tx

Nice one

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Very good service and very clean the food was great I will probably go next year