Ratings based on 4,958 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Texas

Our "go back" Resort

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Size, accommodations, & staff!
Location: Beach!!!
We've found our "go back" resort!! We've traveled the last 6 years and this is definitely the resort we will return too! Everything was perfect...accommodations, size, & staff!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel was beautiful, clean and very hospitable

Posted Jul 21, 2017
We celebrated our anniversary at the Excellence and it was simply "excellent". We loved the cleanliness of our room, all the wonderful restaurants and great food, the hospitable staff, great facilities, pools and awesome beach!!!! It was definitely a 5+ star experience. We loved it and will definitely stay at an Excellence again! Highly recommend this place
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Excellence Playa Mujeres as the host of your anniversary celebration and for recommending us to all Expedia viewers. We are more than happy to know that you had a wonderful time at the resort and that our attentive staff, comfortable accommodation, five star restaurants, excellent facilities and immaculate beach made your celebration even more meaningful. Please know that we look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable celebration. receive our best wishes to you and warm regards from Cancun!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: Music
Cons: Wish there were more shaded areas on beach. Didn't like having to stress about that!
Very good, just too long of a walk to beach. Would like closer room to activities and beach next time. Staff was great. Hugo at the Martini Bar was great! Enjoyed the drumming and Mayan ceremony. Also like the Cuban band.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Allow us to thank you for choosing Excellence Playa Mujeres as the host of your Caribbean getaway! We are pleased to know that you had a great time at the resort and that our attentive staff and spectacular entertainment made your getaway even more enjoyable. We also appreciate your feedback about the accommodation at the beach and activities which serves us to review our standards and implement necessary implements. Rest assured that we will share your beautiful comments with our dear colleagues on property, especially Hugo. They will be more than happy to receive your compliments. Please know that we look forward to welcoming you back for another excellent experience. Receive our warmest greetings from Cancun!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: The staff and exceptional service. The number of restaurant options was great with a variety of different foods. The spa was wonderful as well.
Cons: It was hard to find a chair by the main pool on the really nice days. Fans in the rooms would be nice as well, as we like it cooler when we sleep.
Beautiful hotel and wonderful stay, but the staff is exceptional! They are so friendly and always willing to go above and beyond for the guests. They appear to take a lot of pride in their work and it was definitely noticed. I would certainly stay here again in a heartbeat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Carrie, thank you for choosing Excellence Playa Mujeres as the host of your Caribbean holiday, we are very happy to know that you had a wonderful time at the resort and that our attentive staff, five star restaurants, excellent facilities and immaculate grounds made your holiday even more enjoyable. We also appreciate your feedback about the accommodation by the pool and and ventilation in the rooms which serves us to review our standards and implement necessary improvements. Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Excellence Playa Mujeres!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SJ, CA

Excellent! Excellent! Excellent!

Posted Jul 19, 2017
We've been to Cancun 6 times (including this trip) and had stay in 4.5+ hotels but Excellence PM by far the best! From accomodation, foods, drinks, staff members, entertainment, private beach.... basically everything were over the top. There's 1 CON however and that I wish the in room bathroom could hv been a little more private. It's beautifully built and designed but did wish it was a bit more private.. my husband didn't care though and loved it. We will definitely revisit! 150% recommended to everyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Lisa, First and foremost, thank you for choosing Excellence Playa Mujeres as the host of your Caribbean holiday for the sixth time! Please know that your loyalty is highly appreciated. It brings us much satisfaction to know that you and your husband had such an amazing time at the resort and that our thoughtful personnel, comfortable accommodation, exquisite staff, spectacular entertainment and immaculate beach keeps exceeding your expectation. We also appreciate your valuable feedback about the bathroom which serves us to evaluate our standards and implement necessary improvements. Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you and your husband back for another excellence experience in Cancun!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Very nice hotel and close to the beach

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Loved this hotel. Staff was extremely friendly. Food was excellent!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ikl

Best vacation we have ever had

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Our trip to this resort was the best vacation we have ever had. As soon as we walked in the front lobby we were greeted with a "welcome home" and two glasses of chilled champagne. Our room and the resort was extremely clean. The staff were so kind and helpful to us. They remembered our names and helped us feel like family. The beach was beautiful and close to our rooms. The food and drinks were amazing. This resort even has a coffee and ice cream shop that is included. We met other couples who have stayed on other resorts and come back to Excellence because of the service and atmosphere. One couple we met were on their 10th trip to this particular resort. It's easy to see why so many people like to vacation at Excellence time and time again. Our next trip to Cancun will definitely be here!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Clarissa, First and foremost, thank you for choosing Excellence Playa Mujeres as the host of your Caribbean holiday and for sharing your beautiful experience with all Expedia viewers. It brings us much joy to know that you had a wonderful time at the resort and that our relaxing atmosphere, attentive staff, comfortable accommodation, exquisite culinary services and immaculate beach made your holiday even more memorable. Please know that we all look forward to have the pleasure to welcome you back for another excellent experience at 'home'. Receive our warmest regards from Cancun!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Excellence vacation

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: The big plus of the beach hotel is clean, with lots lounges. There are many fish in the sea, do not forget to take snorkeling accessories.
Cons: Reduce the price, and everything else is excellent.
A great vacation in this hotel! Everything is really great! The hotel deserves the name of Excellence! And thanks to all the hotel staff, they made our vacation an unforgettable! How they decorated our room for my birthday! I want to especially thank the hotel administration for our room. We got the room 7005 in a quiet place, close to everything. The perfect location of our room, swim out, close to the lazy river. The room is large, spacious, with a king-size bed, plasma, where there is a soft corner, a computer desk, with a minibar that was updated every day, a coffee machine, in the room a good Internet, a bathroom with the necessary set of bathroom accessories, which were updated every day. The room was cleaned twice a day and very clean. All restaurants are very good, especially French, the food was delicious and most importantly, there is absolutely no need to make a reservation, and again THANKS to the hotel administration. A great vacation in this hotel! Everything is really great! The hotel deserves the name of Excellence! And thanks to all the hotel staff, everyone was very friendly they made our vacation an unforgettable! Everything was excellent!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Boris Kogan, thank you for choosing Excellence Playa Mujeres as the host of your Birthday celebration and for sharing your fantastic experience with all Expedia viewers. We are very happy to know that you had a wonderful time at the resort and that our attentive staff, comfortable accommodation, excellent amenities and five star restaurants made your celebration even more memorable.Rest assured that we will share your kind words with our colleagues on property, especially the hotel administration. They will be more than happy to receive your compliments! We thank you for your beautiful words and hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back for another wonderful celebration or holiday. Please receive our warmest greetings from Cancun!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Restful getaway

Posted Jul 15, 2017
My wife and I were able to sneak in a 5-day, kid-free vacation and the Excellence Playa Mujeres Resort was perfect. Nice and restful, this resort also has very good amenities: - The gym is WAY undersold by the resort, it is very nice - various water sports in the beach or in a pool - spa is very nice, but maybe a bit pricey Just know that you must pack long pants for guys or dress/capris/skirt/pants for ladies to go in the restaurants at night. Shorts aren't welcome for dinner.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jeremy, first and foremost, allow us to thank you for choosing Excellence Playa Mujeres as the host of your Caribbean getaway. We are delighted to know that you and your wife had a great time at the resort and that our immaculate grounds and excellent amenities made your getaway more enjoyable. We also want to thank you for reminding our Expedia viewers about our restaurant dress code which serves to o preserve the luxurious atmosphere that distinguishes Excellence resorts for the enjoyment of all of our valued guests. Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you and your wife back for another relaxing getaway. Please receive our warmest wishes from Cancun!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York City

A little disappointing and construction alert.

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Location is good. Beach is OK, although if you like to snorkel, you really can't go far out due to a lot of motor sports off the beach.
Cons: Concierge service. Restaurant décor. Restaurant food - flavor badly needed.
Location: Location is about 45 minutes from Cancun airport. Tulum is about 2 hours away, same for Chichen Itza. LOTS of fabulous cenotes in the area too.
We had expected a far superior experience at this 'Excellence' resort, but were sadly disappointed. The place is beautiful and very well maintained, but there really is no 'Excellent' service. Our concierge introduced herself to us on the 7th day of a 12-day vacation and that was the first and last time we saw her. Our experience with this level of service (and cost) at other resorts were by far superior with daily check-ins, excursion bookings, flowers in room, and generally acknowledging and appreciating the guest; this just didn't happen here. The second biggest disappointment were the restaurants and the quality of the food. Interior design is lacking in imagination and some of the restaurants (Barcelona and Toscana) felt like a school lunch hall with food of a similar quality. The French restaurant and Basmati, the Indian restaurant were both excellent. The Lobster house and The Grill were also good. I can't imagine that we will return here, but if we do, we will not pay the additional cost of the Excellence service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Penelope, thank you for your preference and for bringing your discontent to our attention. Given your feedback about the service, we apologize for not exceeding the expectations.The staff’s behavior described in your letter is certainly not the standard that we are known for and we deeply regret this situation. Each member of our staff is compromised to provide the best service at all times for the comfort of our guests. Furthermore, at Excellence Playa Mujeres, our expert Chefs and Kitchen Staff are also committed to provide our guests with an excellent dining experience. By standard, the best quality ingredients and beverage selection are carefully selected to provide a variety of culinary options that are outstanding in taste and presentation; which in turn are also designed to ensure the full satisfaction of our guests. Please know that we appreciate your feedback which serves us to review our standards in order to implement necessary improvements. On a more positive note, we are glad to know that our five star restaurants: Basmati, Chez Isabelle and The Grill made your stay more satisfying.We do hope that despite the occurrences in your review that were unsatisfactory you can give us the opportunity to welcome you back in order to reinstate your confidence in our services.