Ratings based on 4,731 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Resort!

Posted Feb 22, 2017
This is the nicest place we've stayed. The food is good. The staff is amazing. The rooms are great. I would recommend to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Paradise! Our third time to Mexico, first time to excellence playa mujeres and we will be back! Beautiful resort and incredible staff!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Urbana, IL

Excellent at Excellence!

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: The entire staff was friendly and made you feel welcomed. The employees appear to like where they work and it reflects in the entire experience.
Cons: nothing!
Location: There is plenty of activities and tours you can take if you want however, it is better to just go and relax!
The entire staff makes you feel special from the moment you walk in the door. We were asked daily by several of the staff if we had everything we needed or if there was something special they could do. My husband had e-mailed Caroline ahead of time telling them he wanted to make our 38th wedding anniversary special. We had a breathtaking view from our room and special deserts almost every day. Everyone involved made our 10 days special.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel but food not great

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Great pools, nice rooms, nice beach, super friendly staff.
Cons: The food is not great. Barcelona restaurant AWFUL.
We just returned from Excellence Playa Mujeres. It was our first time staying at this brand of resorts, but not our first time at a luxury all inclusive. We picked it in large part bc the reviews about the food were so great. We did not find that to be the case and thought the food was pretty sub-par. The French restaurant was very good, the Habachi was decent (Benihana is better), the Lobster was pretty good but over cooked, room service was standard, the buffet was just ok for breakfast, and the Mediterranean restaurant (Barcelona) was one of the worst meals we have ever had. We had a group of 6 people and EVERY restaurant seemed shocked and confused when we arrived and said we had a party of 6. It was as if they had never had a party over 4 people before, very odd. They dont take reservations at any of the restaurants except the Habachi at Spice, which on one hand is nice, but we had to wait a while for dinner most nights. The rooms are nice, clean, great balconies. The staff was super friendly and helpful (aside from the restaurant issue mentioned above). The pools were great but every morning by 9am EVERY chair at the main pool was reserved by people holding chairs with their stuff. Overall we had a nice stay, but the food is a pretty big deal for us when spending a lot on a vacation, and I wouldnt go back due to this alone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from quebec, canada

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Close to the beach. Beautiful and huge bedrooms. Excellent food. Real 5 star hotel.
Cons: More palapas on the beach. We would apreciate having a buffet for dinner. We did not apreciate having a bed post rignt in the middle of our tv screen
Location: Too far from activities like Cancun center. Close enough from Isla Mujares.
We spent a wonderful week. Excellent food, beautiful hotel. Interesting nignt shows with professionnel entertainers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DC

Adult get away

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Was an amazing place definitely 5 star. Any and everything to do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Excellent Service-Beautiful Location

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: I can't say enough about the beautiful location and the wonderful service.
Cons: The nightly entertainment could be improved.
Location: It is an all inclusive resort. Swimming, sunning, dining experiences on site. The spa is terrific. There are many external activities available.
The hotel staff was friendly, happy and very service oriented. The facilities were very clean and in good condition. We had a issues with the mini-fridge and coffee maker that the we asked the staff to address. We were able to fix the coffee maker. The mini-fridge was worked on but was not completely fixed. However, room service addressed the issue by bringing us more ice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from V

Closer than Riviera; quieter than Cancun.

Posted Feb 15, 2017
This was our third trip back to Excellence Playa Mujeree, and we will soon book #4. Our hands down favorite when in Mexico.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 14, 2017
The food is above average but lots of room for improvement . Also at the better restaurants the wait can be an hour and a half.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Incredible resort and friendliest staff!

Posted Feb 13, 2017
I was reluctant to try a resort off of the hotel zone, but definitely made the right decision! The entire resort is maintained beautifully, the food was amazing and the staff is incredible! I will definitely plan another stay!