Ratings based on 4,533 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Not enough air conditioning inside the buildings Everything else fantastic
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

VERY NICE STAFF....

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: People, clean, and friendliness. Anything you need just ask or pick up the phone.
Cons: Club pool bars to stay open longer. Pool to stay open longer than 8:00 pm
Location: Everything when planned you can do any excursion just plan it. Hotel had lots to do also. Must stay longer to do those.
Absolutely the most friendliest staff I've ever encountered. They never missed a beat, always attentive and smiles and being greeted every day. Food was fantastic and this was my second time to this location and will definitely go again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, average food

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Great hotel and staff, weak drinks and average food.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin

Great all Inclusive Resort

Posted Sep 24, 2016
We have been to Cancun many times and stayed at different resorts and areas near Cancun. The Excellence Playa Mujeres was probably one of the best resorts for the price...great service, excellent overall resort, great rooms, many food options, nice beach area--we're definitely coming back!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn New York

"Excellence is Excellent"

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: the spa is amazing, its a must do
Cons: Maybe some soft music in the walkways would be comforting
Location: theres plenty of water sports at the beach: WavRunners,surf and canoe and theres plenty of local excursions
My wife and I had a great relaxing week at Excellence. The food is good, the service is great and the spa is amazing. the beach is super clear and the swim up pool are awesome. Great Experience
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Greenville, SC

Fantastic Anniversary Trip!

Posted Sep 22, 2016
This was our first time staying at Excellence. Overall, fantastic trip! We tried 4 of the 9 restaurants. All of the food we had was great, keeping in mind that this is MEXICO, not a 5 star U.S. restaurant. The staff was phenomenal and could not do enough to help you. We stayed 4 days and would love to visit another Excellence resort in the future. We highly recommend the Isla Mujeres Catamaran tour. Totally worth the money. The boat ride was gorgeous and the views from the Island were the most beautiful Caribbean views I've seen. Rent a golf cart on the island ($45), and head to the south end to see the mayan temple and cliff edges. The one and only con that I can give this resort is that is does have a "party atmosphere" at times. I'm guessing this is consistent with most cancun resorts, but this was our first time in this part of Mexico. We were not overly bothered by this until our last night when we were trying to sleep around 10:30 p.m. and loud music was playing down at the theatre. Tip: if you are looking for a more quiet stay, I would recommend requesting a room that is further away from the main building and theater area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant, but not great.

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Pool and rooms.
A nice trip. The staff was cordial and pleasant, but sometimes didn't follow through with commitments (like room service at a particular time). Excursion agents at the hotel, were not exactly truthful regarding tours and packages.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Second time back. Overall great!

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: The variety of restaurants, quick service, happiness of staff to assist you.
Cons: I wish they had a more "club like" atmosphere earlier in the night (other than DJ at Sports var). Better quality drinks would be good.
Location: Isle Mujeres makes a great excursion and is very close.
Overall, our vacation was amazing. We stayed here for our Honeymoon and this was our 1st year anniversary trip with friends. The staff is amazing. In particular we were impressed with Cesar (bar), Bernito (restaurant), Enrique (restaurant), Alejandro (french restaurant), Ruby (bar/server), and Ever (bar/server).
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B.C.

Fantastic resort on the beach

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Location, beach, amenities, and staff
Location: Isla Mujeres Cancun Zip lining Snorkeling
I was blown away with this resort! The staff was excellent and spoke great english and were very friendly making you feel like you were at home. If there was anything you needed they would do their best to make sure you got it. The restaurants were excellent, especially Agave, Spice, and The Lobster House and the drinks at the bars and pool were very good. The grounds were well manicured and very clean. Our suite was exactly that, a suite including a walk-in closet. The best all inclusive vacation we have ever had.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ann Arbor, Michigan

Superior Resort!

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Great property, friendly staff, spa, restaurants/bars - everything!
Cons: The resort could show movies during the day in the performance theatre.
Location: The location is 45 minutes from the airport, right on the ocean. I never find a reason to leave, so can't speak to what's available in the area.
This was our fourth visit to Excellence Playa. We continue to return for many reasons: location of hotel/beach, pristene property, very friendly and helpful staff and great restaurants/drinks. You can't go wrong with a decision to stay here. The hotel suites are spacioius and beautiful and the grounds are extremely well maintained. You have the option of staying on the "party" side (near the main pool, or reside on the quiet side (near the spa). The days can be as lively or relaxing as you want. Dinner offers you the option of nine restaurants (i.e. Asian, French, Lobster House, The Grille, Mexican, etc.). The food is really tasty and plentiful. There's even a new coffee house on the property, offering Starbucks level libations, sweet treats and paninis. After dinner is a trip to the performance theatre and/or the Sports Bar, where there is late night dancing. This property is well worth the cost. We'll continue to return time after time.