Ratings based on 4,356 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

LOVED IT!

Posted May 24, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Location: Did not go anywhere.
No complains, loved everything about it, planning next trip. Thank you Excellence staff, management, everyone for making this vacation amazing!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from conway arkansas

Great for couples

Posted May 21, 2016
This was our second time to Excellence Playa Mujeres. The first was for our honeymoon and this past time was for our one year anniversary. All top shelf liquor. Dining is excellent often with live music. Ceasar and Hugo work the Martini bar in the main lobby. They will create special drinks for the girls with out request. They are always delicious! Air conditioning could be a little better near the bed. It depends on the room. We did not have an issue on our first trip, but I slept on top of the covers confortably for most of the night despite that the thermostat said it was 64 degrease. There are enough pools to allow for privacy. The pool around the spa is normally quite secluded and quiete.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from northwestern PA

Wonderful experience

Posted May 20, 2016
Pros: EVERYTHING!!!
Cons: Of all the restaurant choices, we were disappointed with our dinner at the Lobster House. The lobster tail was small, dry and chewy. Should give 2.
Location: Took a side trip to Chichen Itza; well worth it. Glad we took the 5 AM trip as it was very warm when we got there. A Must See! Loved the beach!!
This is was our first vacation at an adult-only resort. Our experience far-exceeded our expectations. The staff went above and beyond to please us and made us feel very welcomed with our champagne and wet cloth upon our arrival to the easy checkout process. Our waiter, Florical, always greeted us with a smile at the beach and remembered our previous beverage choices and also suggested others he thought we might enjoy. You could choose to have lunch at the beach or one of other places close by, wearing a cover-up. There were plenty of excellent dinner restaurants and the presentation of our meals were well done. After reading reviews before we came, some said about dress code and having to change multiple times. You had a choice of remaining in beach clothes or changing but it was your choice--not a problem. We didn't pay extra for Excellence Club and couldn't see need to have it. Our room was always clean and returning to it in the evening, it was extra nice to see the turn-down service with candy and a sheet with the next day's schedule. We were on the 3rd floor in room 7304 and it was close to restaurants and beach. We definitely would return to this beautiful resort. You won't be disappointed coming here!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Another great vacation at Excellence Playa Mujeres

Posted May 19, 2016
Pros: Great resort. Peaceful. Lovely rooms. Nice beach. Great restaurants and bars. Decent entertainment. Service is EXCELLENT.
Cons: Perhaps the entertainment crew could be a little more energetic and creative (when compared to other resorts). Not a big concern though.
We spent 6 days at Excellence Playa Mujeres. This was our 3rd visit and we do not expect it to be our last. We love everything about this place, which I have stated in previous reviews. While the resort, rooms, food, bars, beach, etc. are all 5 star, the most impressive thing about this resort is the people who work so hard to make sure you have a great vacation. Jose and David in the Sol bar did a great job. Already looking forward to our next trip.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2016 by Community Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Wayne, Allow us to thank you for choosing Excellence Playa Mujeres as your holiday destination and sharing your experience with all Expedia users. We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your stay with us and that our colleagues were able to exceed your expectations. Moreover, thank you for letting us know how memorable and special was your stay, due to our facilities, the quality of food & drinks and the excellent service provided. We truly hope to have the privilege to welcome you back in a near future. Please, receive our warmest regards from Excellence Family!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful vacation!!!

Posted May 19, 2016
This resort deserves the 5 star rating!! The grounds are immaculately maintained, the staff is wonderful, the beach is exceptionally beautiful!! Would highly recommend this resort.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing

Posted May 18, 2016
We had such an amazing time, we will definately be going back again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2016 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for recommend Excellence Playa Mujeres to all Expedia users. We are happy to know that you had an amazing time in our resort. We are also looking forward to welcoming you again and provide another fantastic experience! Receive our warmest regards!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Third stay for Birthday- AMAZING

Posted May 17, 2016
Pros: The staff, Cleanliness, decor, activities and basically everything.
Cons: We didn't eat any of the fruit given in our room for our stay and it goet wasted. maybe they should ask if guests want the fruit or not.
Location: Bike tour was great, Hobbie cat boat ride, paddle boarding
This place is like paradice! Grounds are beautiful. Staff goes out their way to make sure your stay is memorable and exceptional. Very clean in all areas. Food was amazing and everything you could possibly want was at the buffet. Restaurants were great especially Chez Isabelle and Spice. Pizza at Sol was the best pizza I ever ate. Pool areas go from lively to quiet depending on what you prefer.Special thank you to Caroline, our Concierge, for the amazing birthday table at Agave for my husband.. And Alonzo for the activies fun(volleyball). Angel was so great at breakfast (mimosas and balloons)and lunch. You all made my husbands Birthday a Special memory he will always remember.Definately recommend this Resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2016 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Carol, First and foremost, allow us to thank you for choosing Excellence Playa Mujeres once again as host of your holidays, birthday celebration and for taking a valued time to share your experience with all Expedia users. We are delighted to know that our partners were able to exceed your expectations. Thank you for adding very generous remarks of the positive sides of your vacation with us and mentioning the services that made your stay more comfortable as well as the quality of food, which made your holidays enjoyable and memorable. We also appreciate your detailed feedback, which helped us identify specifically the areas of opportunity encountered during your stay. Rest sure we will share your words with the related departments and colleagues on the property. Our partners will be happy to receive your compliments. We hope to welcome you in a near future and provide once again an amazing vacation. Receive our warmest regards from Excellence Family!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oklahoma

Service extreme

Posted May 17, 2016
Cons: Hotel pickup from airport. The food could be a little bit better but the service made up for it
Location: Cancun is only a 15 minutes taxi away
The staff and hotel went above all my expectations. It was so superior to the Sandals Bahamas We will definitely be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2016 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Dee, Let us thank you for choosing Excellence Playa Mujeres as host of your holidays and for sharing your experience with all Expedia users. We appreciate that you added remarks of the positive sides of your vacation with us, mentioning that the service provided by our colleagues made your stay more relaxing and enjoyable. On the other hand, we are disappointed to read that we fell short on your culinary expectations. We take great pride in providing the freshest of ingredients and creating both simple and also creative dining experiences. Our Food & Beverage Manager and our Executive Chef have received your feedback and are working on improvements to guarantee our guest the best quality possible. We hope to have the privilege to welcome you back in a near future and to provide you with a truly unique vacation experience. Please receive our warmest regards from Excellence Family!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2016
In general we had a great experience!! A few small things took away from poolside fun - no small Bluetooth speakers or pool games allowed - but I would still go back again in the future. Great food, beautiful facilities and staff, we had a wonderful week.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2016 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for writing this review in which you share your experience at Excellence Playa Mujeres with all Expedia users. We appreciate your remarks of the positive sides of your vacation with us, mentioning that the quality of the food, facilities and services made your stay relaxing and enjoyable. Regarding our swimming pool policies, in order to preserve the high-quality service that distinguishes us, strict standards have been established throughout the property for this purpose. Rest assured that the wellness and satisfaction of our guests is one of our main priorities. We truly hope to have the privilege to welcome you back in a near future and provide another remarkable experience. Please receive our warmest regards from Cancun!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arkansas

Posted May 10, 2016
Pros: I liked almost everything about the hotel. The staff were exceptional. The grounds were immaculate, food and drinks were great.
Cons: The lighting in the rooms and especially the bathroom was too dark. Wife could not see well to put on makeup. I even think it was dark.
Location: Did not need to go anywhere nearby. Everything one needed was at the Resort.
We would like to let anyone who is debating on coming here that they can be confident that it is a great decision. We did not know that service could be so personal and exceptional.