Ratings based on 1,237 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2016
Beautiful hotel on the beach with a Mecican feel! Great food! Great staff!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2016 by Hoteles Solaris de México, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to give us your review! Its great to know you enjoyed the food and the service from our staff! We hope you come back to visit us soon! Warm Regards,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin

Nice resort close to beach

Posted May 13, 2016
Pros: good food, clean, well maintained, good location
Cons: Watch out for "Presentation" for Membership. Its this company plus time share RCI and ICE. Wouldn't let me leave without signing something.
Location: I just relaxed, took day trip to Chichen Itza
Good stay, no problems. All inclusive including bar items and 24 hour room service
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2016 by Hoteles Solaris de México, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to give us your review. Its great to know you had a relaxed vacation and enjoyed our facilities and services. Please accept our apologies if you felt pressured by our Sales Department, we have sent your comments to the person in charge to make the proper adjustments to avoid this situations with future guests. Warm regards,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

I would go back!

Posted May 5, 2016
This resort was amazing! The food was delicious and everyone bent over backwards to help us. ANGEL made the best Mayan coffee. JUAN made the best poolside drinks with the very capable assistance of VERONICA. The poolside games were a blast especially bingo and KATYA made it so much more fun. I was so impressed with the juggling act and talented guy riding an 10 ft bike. On May 1st it was National Kids Day so all the employees were dressed in fun costumes.Then it was the fourth of May so they had Star Wars characters walking around for picture ops. Little details like.this matter. If you go to ruins down the street (El Rey)its an easy walk but it costs 50 pesos or $5/pp. They don't have change and its cash only! Beautiful place though! The,shows were fantastic!we loved the Broadway show and the Mayan show on the beach...a must see! One drawback was that my travel mates were charged for late check(2hrs) out even though they just needed their packed bags from the room. So be aware of this policy or you'll be charged $75 ! One suggestion ...Sake at the sushi bar would be a nice touch! Also, a daily events calender such as when is chocolate fest nite , Mexican nite, wine and cheese nite , Zumba etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2016 by Hoteles Solaris de México, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to give us your review regarding your recent stay! Its great to know how much you enjoyed the facilities and services and the surprises we are constantly planning, we hope you come back to keep experiencing what we have to offer. It is an honor to read how our staff members did everything in their hands to assure you a memorable experience especially, Angel, Juan and Veronica, we will make sure to give them your regards. We appreciate your feedback regarding the sushi additions and the calendar you mentioned! Thanks for visiting us!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cameron, MO

Open breezeways, quiet ambiance

Posted May 4, 2016
Pros: Layout of hotel, friendly staff, spa, quiet, amenities of two hotels
Cons: Quantity of alcohol in drinks, food choices and spices, wait staff on beach a little more
Location: The El Rey Ruins, Parasailing, Wave runner rental, Beach (resort's & public), daily activities planned by entertainment staff
Overall experience was very good - we would return to this resort more than likely. We loved the open layout of this hotel! It really feels like you are at a beach resort! Lots of places to sit and relax. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Cony at the front desk was especially nice and allowed us to call our airline from the front desk when we had issues checking into our departing flight. You have the amenities of both the GR Caribe and it's sister hotel next door, Hotel Solaris. The spa is fabulous! Had my 3rd massage from Yani! She is amazing! On the flip side...... Drinks were a bit weak/watered down. I am a light weight and never caught a buzz the whole trip. The food is just ok....bland and not diverse. It was confusing knowing which restaurant was open when, how you should dress, and what meals each was open for. Both warm and chilled foods at the pool were a bit past their expiration date......a bit dry and or tasted off. Not a lot of variety at the GR but good variety at the Solaris. Pool was quieter at the GR and not as full. Beach is very nice, but would like to see wait staff visit a bit more to those wanting drinks on the beach. I have been at this hotel once before and included in the review that the timeshare sales people were a bit pushy....that wasn't the case this time.....they were much more respectful.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2016 by Hoteles Solaris de México, Hotel Management
Thanks for your detailed review regarding your recent stay. Its great to know how much you enjoyed our facilities and services. Thanks for pointing out how great our Spa services are and the great service you received at the front desk and for mentioning tha names of the people who stood out with their service. We appreciate your feedback regarding the drinks, food, and the service at the beach, we have sent them to the departments involved so they can adjust their services. Warm Regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Posted May 1, 2016
Pros: The staff was superb and very accommodating. Kudos to the staff!
Cons: Update your wifi and add more English speaking channels like some other hotels in Mexico. Oh and some of the subtitles in Spanish didn't correspond..
Location: Nice location and came just to relax and do nothing as we'll be back in June @the Mayan Riviera or vice versa.
They don't cater to people who may not eat red meat or may be vegan. Most places serve turkey, chicken or fish and not all pork for breakfast. The buffets were more like cafeteria type food. The restaurants ok. We've stayed at other properties in Mexico and have ventured to restaurants in Mexico and the food has been exceptional. This was a spur of the moment trip and the fact that the price was right and it was all inclusive and a 4 1/2 star hotel made my decision. In the future I'll go with what I know and pay the extra dollar. Drinks weren't that great either and my wife likes margaritas and couldn't believe they did use a fresh lime mixture but instead a sweet and sour mix. We're in Mexico! Lastly the wifi wasn't working up to par.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2016 by Hoteles Solaris de México, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to give us your review. Please accept our apologies for not being able to help you out with your meals, when we are advised that one of our guests follows a special diet we help them plan their meals along with oue Chefs, we regret not meeting your expectations regarding this and the lack of communication with our staff. We appreciate the feedback. Warm Regards,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Pros: Being a smallish hotel, everything within the hotel is at reasonable walking distance. Plus Venetto Restaurant and coffee flambeado in the lobby.
We love this hotel, it was our forth time staying here. Quality seem to stay the same over time, or may be even improving. The access to the beach is just one flight the stairs away. We enjoyed dinning at Venetto Restaurant every night, and the special coffee flambeado in the lobby every afternoon. Yummy!! It's great to have access to the restaurants and amenities of the sister neighbor hotel as it brings more options.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2016 by Hoteles Solaris de México, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to give us your review. Its great to know every time you come you encounter great service, we will make sure to keep up this way! We look forward to your next stay, Warm Regards,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MN

Pleasant place to vacation

Posted Apr 27, 2016
Pros: The staff and proximity to the beach.
Cons: Bar and bathroom closer to the beach.
Hotel was nice although a bit of a maze. Staff was wonderful. Top notch service all around. Beware of being talked into there vacation club sales pitch. Takes at least twice as long as they say. Food was good in the sit down places but very small selection in the buffets.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2016 by Hoteles Solaris de México, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to give us your review. Its great to know you had a great time and enjoyed the facilities and services we provided. We appreciate all your feedback therefore we can improve our services. Warm Regards,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and helpful staff.

Posted Apr 22, 2016
My children and I enjoyed are stay at hotel. Staff helpful and room was very clean. Lots of Restaurant options to choose from. Beach is beautiful but waves extremely strong especially for children.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2016 by Hoteles Solaris de México, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to give us your review. Its awesome to read how you and your children enjoyed your stay, thank you for your kind words; it is always an honor to receive such complementary reviews. Warm regards
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great experience near the beach and all inclusive!

Posted Apr 22, 2016
The kids loved the amenities, which include sister resort pool and kids club. Family enjoyed the food and bar facilities all over the resort, which is served by wonderful and pleasant staff. Beach access is just a step away and very clean. Plenty of activities for the entire family without having to leave the resort. Love this place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2016 by Hoteles Solaris de México, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to give us your review. We love reading how you and your family enjoyed the facilities and services, especially the Kids Club and the activities thay have to offer. We look forward to your next stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great stay

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Pros: Close to the airport, all inclusive, clean, safe, friendly staff
Location: I didn't leave the hotel! They seemed to have a lot of options for excursions, but I did not take advantage
I came here with a friend, and it was overall an awesome experience. It was close to the airport, only took about 10 minutes drive. The check-in was smooth and quick. The room was very clean. The mini bar was stocked every morning when the room was cleaned with water bottles, Sol beer, and soft drinks. The bar was open all the time and they were more than happy to give more bottles of water. I could hear a lot of foot traffic from my room, I think the doors are thin, but my room was also located near the lobby and bar. The hotel only had 3 restaurants to choose from, but you also have access to the Royal Solaris next door for more options. The food fair to good depending on the restaurant. The pool is on the smaller side, but the lounge chairs are comfortable and nice. The pool at Royal Solaris is bigger. The beach is beautiful and quiet. The hotel itself seemed to be nicer than Royal Solaris, so I'm glad I booked GR Caribe instead. Overall, awesome stay. I didn't leave the hotel my whole trip!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2016 by Hoteles Solaris de México, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to give us your review. Its great to know you enjoyed the facilities and services we provided, hopefully you will come and visit us again soon! Warm regards,