Ratings based on 1,734 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston, Ma.

Good for the price

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: The staff
Cons: Put some air-conditioning or at least fans in the resort.
The resort is definitely dated. There's no Air conditioning in the throughout most of the resort. The restaurants for air-conditioned, the rooms had air-conditioning but it was bad, did not cool the room down at all. The room was clean, but the lighting was horrible. Bathroom is so dark I couldn't put my make up on in there. The staff for the most part was unbelievable! So helpful and so friendly. The only thing I didn't like was the restaurant where you had to dress formal and my husband wasn't allowed to go in because he did not have closed toe shoes. The power was out for about seven hours one day of our vacation and that was terrible, but it was a problem throughout Cancun not just a hotel. If I go back to Cancun, I don't think I will be going back to this resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellant

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: The friendliness and concern of the staff for yout o have a great vacation.
Cons: More cultural music outside , do I dare say too Ametricanized? There shold be an outside fiesta once a week. Unless I missed it if it was on a Frida
Location: Swimming with the dolphins was a life changing event
Staff couldn't have been more accommodating, the views from the rooms and restaurants are spectacular ! The food was excellent, Huge variety of meals to choose from, the fliet mignon was excellant at The Barn, Beef tenderloin and every dish at the fancy restaurant were unbelievably good, worth the dress code! Breakfast ans kucnh buffet has everything you cold ever want and more. the rooms are clean, the bartenders know your name and drink from the the first day and always make sure you have a drink ! I cant say one bad thing about this trip!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Nice hotel, very friendly and helpful staff!

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: This is a smaller hotel/resort and it wasn't overcrowded like some of the others. There are multiple restaurants & a buffet that are all excellent!
Cons: Temperature control in the room would be the only thing I would change - this resort is climate controlled in the rooms.
Location: Aquaworld for water activities is about a 10-15 minute walk or a quick bus ride. Plenty of shopping is nearby as well.
We had an excellent trip in Cancun and stay with The Golden Parnassus! The grounds are very nicely maintained. The staff at the hotel/resort were all wonderful! The rooms are clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carrollton, Texas

AC is very noisy.

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: Staff are very professional, Food is great
Cons: Noisy air conditioning systems. Safety in the lobby area: Need rails where steps/stairs are located - for personal safety.
Location: Excellent.
Room is excellent except AC is very noisy. Lobby area is excellent but need some type of protection when walking. Need some type of rails or something to hold on to. If you are not paying attention, we can trip on the stairs because there are no warning signs. Those 3 steps is very critical as far as personal safety. Elevators need electric fans, humid and hot.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Won't go back

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros-Very clean and friendly staff Cons- Air conditioner was very bad in room- staff did nothing. No ventilation in main lobby, parts of buffet restaurant, Japanese restaurant and NONE in Shangrila restaurant. Guys had to wear pants to eat in Shangrila and it was so stifling hot all we did was sweat. Food was good but couldn't enjoy the meal for the heat. Drinks are very watered down- stick with beer if you want a buzz- but be warned its warm. Frustrating upon check in we were pushed to upgrade our room for $50 a night. It was a king, Jacuzzi, daily bottle of wine and fruit, stocked fridge, private dinner in room. and ocean view. Only received wine and fruit once, and when we asked about the other days it was dismissed. No private dinner in room. The ocean view made the room at least 20 degrees hotter and it made a huge difference with AC not working. Also, pool activities start very early and the staff use a whistle about every 30 seconds. The sleep we could get in the heat was always interrupted by the morning whistles. It was not worth the extra expense.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kentucky

Posted May 24, 2017
Hotel is nice. Staff great. Ac needs to be better. Kind of hot in the room. Shower has very low pressure. k
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TN

Small, beautiful resort

Posted May 22, 2017
We loved everything about the Golden Parnassus. The staff treated us like royalty! The size of the resort was perfect because we weren't to crowded. We will definitely be back in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pa

Beautiful beach

Posted May 20, 2017
Food was surprisingly good, drinks were great - not watered at all. The hotel is older but had everything needed. The staff are so friendly, no one expected tips but appreciated them. The only problem we had, there was not really having night time activities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice staff and beach

Posted May 17, 2017
Staff was great the hotel would have been better if the water purification system was still in use. The water smelled like sewage. Also $175 for two massages was a over priced and the hotel doesn't offer free wifi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice smaller hotel

Posted May 16, 2017
The employee's make this a nice hotel to stay at.