Ratings based on 936 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Best Vacation Ever!!

Posted Aug 27, 2015
I stayed here twice and it's always a great time. The staff is super helpful and friendly. The food is super high quality and the activities always keep you happy and busy. Highly highly recommended!! Thanks Golden I will return again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent!

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Location: Great location far enough from the downtown zona hotelera to not be crazy, but close enough to take the bus and be there in minutes
Excellent staff. Everybody is very friendly, nice, helpful and very kind. They make you feel like it's a second home. Small resort but enough to do. Also have access to sister resort Great Parnassus as well. Easy to get information and book trips to Chichen itza and other places within resort. Would 100% recommend the Golden Parnassus.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT ans NYC

6th floor "luxury" suite

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Shower did not work one day, a loud construction wouldn't stop until we complaint, jacuzzi would spit dirty water with literally black ground in it. Nasty. Drinks served with ice "made out of bottled water" would turn my stomach upside down. If you want a lux experience that's not it. If you want to get drunk and you dont care about accomodationa then get a basic package.
Comment from EPC
Aug 29, 2015 by Hector Guerrero, EPC
Dear DA Thank you for the time you took to share your review with us, our managerial team it is working on the issues you mentioned, this is not the service we usually offer to our guests, we are taking the necessary steps to prevent this from happening again. Respectfully
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel good staff no wireless friendly

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Cons: need renovation
Location: Good
Very entertains and talented as well as welcoming staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice Hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2015
First time staying here and it was very good! I've read the reviews and saw numerous of people stating that the AC wasn't working. When I went (August 13-20) it was working very well! Excellent customer service! Must try the Old Barn restaurant. Staff are very friendly, there's always an activity to do.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Honeymooners

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Hard working, nice staff. Beautiful view, decent food, A/C in room.
Cons: Attention to detail- with keeping drinks and food consistent. Have designated bartenders, instead of allowing any staff to serve drinks. Free WI-FI!
Location: Excursions and beach attractions to do- sign up right at the resort (convenient, can be pricy). Take a picture with a different animal everyday.
My husband and I just returned from a 10 day honeymoon at GP. When we arrived, we were enjoying everything we saw). The buffet offered options for each meal and we enjoyed dressing up every night and going to one of the 4 restaurants. The beach is big, there are very cute huts on the beach, and for us that was all we wanted, a beautiful, relaxing time. I have to say that we were very happy for about 5 days, but after that the food was starting to get old, even with the options. Most of the options are fried somehow, and many veggies are cooked the same way; even at the restaurants, mashed potatoes tasted the same at each one, as if premade and just reheated (weird fake butter flavor). The buffet is pretty okay overall, especially breakfast (was my favorite meal). The steak house was pretty good, turned out to be our favorite simply because of the filet mignon (medium rare-yum!) The seafood place was decent. Shangri-la was fancy but really NOT impressive with food. Sumo's food was drained in sauces (overseasoned and over salted!). Everyday a guy talks on the microphone at the pool 'entertaining' which to us was annoying. Pool water too warm. Drinks were weak and watered down on the beach, better at restaurants. Hotel needs improvements, but is okay. Despite the way it's managed, 99.9% of staff are VERY NICE and work VERY HARD, esp the buffet staff so please TIP THEM, THEY DESERVE IT. Love the staff. Had a good time (with hubbs) but I might see what other resorts offer.
Comment from EPC
Aug 26, 2015 by Hector Guerrero, EPC
Dear JoAnn I want to thank you and your husband for gave us the privilege of being your Honeymoon destination. I truly appreciate the time you took to share your review with us. Your opinion always will be the most helpful tool for us to improve our service, I will share your comments with our executive chef to bring to his attention your comments and work with him on the variety and the consistency of our food at our restaurants. Our entertainment manager is already aware of your comment about the activities we perform at the pool area and we are taking different actions to offer a better entertainment experience. I will share your kind comments with our staff at the Paradise restaurant they will be happy to know that their service was truly appreciated. It will be great to know if you Continue vacationing at Cancun and keep enjoying all the beauties it have to offer to its visitors. Respectfully
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Comfortable Like a pair of slippers.

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Pros: The feel of coming home and the spectacular staff
Cons: Bathroom fixtures and new mattresses.
Location: Nothing is near. Need to take the bus.
The bathrooms need updating but the rooms on a whole are clean and well kept. Do you go to Cancun to stay in your room? Staff is FANTASTIC! They add whatever shine may be missing from the building itself. WARNING: the hotel is not on or near the main boulevard. While the bus going further into the hotel zone or downtown is a bit closer, returning is a walk so unless you intend to take a taxi, don't plan on walking in the sun or after too many tequila. Oceanview rooms are preferable but sunset from the Lagoon side rooms are spectacular before a night out. Oh, by the way, the pool gets a bit warm by noon-1pm. And while it has nothing to do with the hotel, skip the high priced La Isa mall. You don't go to Cancun for Ferragamos, you go for Fun in the sun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent vacation!

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Don't understand why there are so many negative reviews. My husband an I just can back from a 7 day vacation. Food is amazing, staff is warm and welcoming, AC was always working and on full blast, I loved that the hotel is open, therefore, you always feel the Caribbean warmth (rooms and restaurants have AC), drinks were a bit soft, but I just asked for double shot, no big deal, and the view and beach were breathtaking. Absolutely loved the Golden Parnassus!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hartford, CT

AMAZING Staff!

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Pros: Staff & location. Staff remembered your name the second they met you and greeted you with enthusiasm every time. Location-close to airport & downtown
Cons: Rooms need to be updated and PLEASE offer free WI-FI!!!
Location: Downtown is 15 mins away and man it was quite the experience! Definitely visit CocoBongo, Dady-O, and mandala beach club
I just got back from a girls trip- 4 night stay at Golden Parnassas and we couldn't ask for more! We arrived early and I told them we were here celebrating my birthday and the front desk upgraded us to an ocean view room AND they checked us in early! From that moment I knew we were going to have an amazing trip! The staff was absolutely wonderful from the bartenders (Fermin) to the buffet staff (Oscar) and entertainment (Fernando). The rooms were definitely outdated but who stays in their room anyways on vacation?! The hotel is located right on the beach. There's cute umbrella huts all over the place & a beach bar w/ swings! The ocean did have a lot of seaweed but some days weren't as bad as others. The pool is nice (no swim up bar). There's no wi-fi which was disappointing, but we knew that before we booked. Overall we had a great trip!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta GA

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Pros: Adults only! Very clean! Comfortable bed!
Cons: The seafood restaurant. Spa smelled like raw human waste sewage.
Location: 5 min busride to closest shopping mall. Massage & pharmacia right across the street. Excursion operators picked us up at the hotel.
Beautiful view of hotel pool and beach from our 5th floor room. Comfortable bed! Very clean facilities. 99% couples, a few gay, 3 or 4 singles like us from what we could tell. Adults only was awesome!! No kids, yay!! Buffet food was excellent, with a varied selection of Mexican and American cuisine. The seafood restaurant was poor at best, seafood tasted like it was pre-made frozen warmed in microwave. Japanese restaurant was very good, although service was slow. Shangri-La restaurant, dressy type, was awesome! Eat there first! We ate there on our last day and regretted not going there earlier! Staff was very friendly and accommodating everywhere on the resort. Bar drinks were weak, suspect liquor was watered down to prevent drunken disasters with guests, which was fine with us! Sea turtle nest rescue was on the beach in front of resort, and every nite at 8:15 guests were invited to join the hatchling release on the beach. Very Cool! However, just after dark my cell phone and cash were stolen from my unattended bag that was next to my chair under the thatch roof canopy on the beach. I was unaware of this until the hotel staff that were on the beach alerted me. They told me the resort would file a police report. ??? WTH!! All in all a wonderful time was had by us 2 single girls.....except for my phone theft.