Ratings based on 1,403 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad service. Reception telling lies.

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Had a single bed for 2 males and they couldn't change it or give a reason
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Great if you are 18 and going for spring break.

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Pros: Surprisingly, the sushi place was decent, and as you would guess, the Mexican food was good. Breakfast was ok. It is where I had to rehydrate each day
Cons: Stop trying to gouge people for EVERYTHING. Stop watering the booze down and cheaping out on the food. You lost my business forever because of it.
Location: A small town down he road for T-shirts and nick knacks. Don't pay more than $5 American for anything. They'll rip you off. Par for the course.
The good: Nice ocean view. Great mass transit. Most of the staff was friendly. Main hotel rooms were newer than ocean view rooms, and some had an ocean view, as well. The bad: Gave me 1 bed instead of 2, had to fight with them for 3 days to correct, buddy slept on a moldy/filthy cot for those three days. Then, we stopped getting room service and mini bar replenishment, which had almost nothing in it to begin with. Window in the bathroom, presumably to watch the ocean while you do your business (and anyone who wants to watch you). Roof leaks EVERYWHERE (luckily outside the room), standing water all over when it rains, poor hotel craftsmanship. Moldy smell, pretty much everywhere. The booze was WATERED DOWN so badly, we had to get an overpriced bottle from across the street. Water not readily available in bottles, I was so dehydrated, I started drinking water from the tap, didn't make me sick, thank goodness, even though it was tinted brown. Took forever for the water to heat up, like 10 minutes of constant running and was still only tepid. The food mostly sucked and you couldn't bring anything back to your room. $35 for a 100ml bottle of sunblock. $25 to use the ATM. Half of the bars were closed. Only the desk people and a few others speak English, bring a dictionary. 3.5 stars is generous. By the third day, we had our fill of this place and just stayed on the balcony for the rest of the time and mixed our own drinks. I would not recommend. Believe the other reviews. Awful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Es un hotel que tiene amenidades y excelente playa

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Muy buenos shows y excelente comida y muy buen servicio recomiendo el restaurante junto a la pirámide de la playa que tiene una vista hermosa esa habitación da una vista espectacular al mar
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Grand Oasis Cancun

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Food and service are absolutely horrible. Make it way too difficult to check in. Half of resort has to pay for locks for safe, other half doesn't. Told varying prices for everything. Awesome if you want to party and sit on the beach but everything else was pretty terrible. Definitely not a place for families.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Better than before

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Cons: About half of the meals there was a 5-15 minute wait for a table. They need more restaurants and bars open.
Stayed here a few years back, and again Jan 2016. I was worried because of negative reviews. Hotel was great! Check in was 10 min, room was remodeled, everything new, food was good, staff and beach were great. This is a large hotel so if you don't mind walking a bit to different restaurants it is great. Old people will think there is too much walking.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bye Felicia

Posted Feb 2, 2016
I don't even know where to begin and I'm not.Just never again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B.

Just so-so

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Overall we had a great vacation because we make the best of every situation but the hotel staff was rude, particularly the "private" check in concierge. They were not accommodating with room requests, even after we offered to pay for an upgrade. The original room we were provided was actually already occupied, with no apology. There was hot water only one evening after multiple maintenance requests. The mini bars were stocked with American beer even after several requests for Mexican beer. The food was just so-so and we are not picky at all! The drinks were good though! We had a great bartender in the Indian restaurant...the best kept secret in the resort!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not quite what I hoped

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Pros: A handful of the staff was above average and they made it better. The large Breakfast Buffet was decent, as well as the Sport's Bar buffet.
Cons: Just about everything. Better food and drinks a MUST. Warm showers. Friendlier staff. Less solicitation by sales people. Adult-only area?
Location: As to be expected with Cancun. Nice beach and location. Traveled into downtown - fun. We enjoyed renting mopeds. We enjoyed Senor Frogs.
The resort is definitely not for those looking for a more upscale and "adult" experience. The hotel definitely catered to the young twenty-somethings and spring breakers. Drinks below average and alcohol seemed diluted, food below average. Rooms: bed ok, though dirty sheets/pillow cases. Toilet wouldn't flush. Shower FREEZING, couldn't take a shower. Water smelled. Trouble checking in - took a long time. A lot of sales people always lurking to sell you timeshare. Staff, in general, barely attentive and definitely never met or exceeded expectations. Had to ask for EVERYTHING. Couldn't get a decent piece of fish/seafood. Had to practically beg for guacamole and salsa/chips. Many of the restaurants were closed or difficult to get into. Pool absolutely FREEZING. The large Breakfast buffet was good. The buffet in the Sports Bar was decent. Most bartenders could make a good Chalada. Rest of the drinks were quite disappointing. No drink of the day. No board indicating what was happening - especially with such a huge place. To me, it was too big. For every 10 employees, I'd say about 4 were friendly and out-going without myself and travel companions initiating an interaction......I would not go back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Stayed for 6 nights, it was nice but there was no hot water for a shower before 7:30 am. Some of the pipes would leak out into the hallway and there were buckets collecting water dripping from pot lights in the hallways after a big rainfall. Bit scary and dangerous! The food was good in the many restaurants, just don't eat at a snack place, they were not good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, Costa Rica

Cancún es un paraíso y este hotel es parte de el.

Posted Jan 26, 2016
La atención en ambas recepciones fue de espanto una persona recibiendo como a 10. El dia de la entrada duramos mas de una hora y era la recepcion VIP. Y en la otra las persno eran amables.