Ratings based on 3,432 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Excellent Resort in Prime Beach Location

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: We liked the room upgrade because it gave us more space & a better balcony. The beach in this section of Cancun hotel zone is awesome.
Cons: Make the hotel entirely smoke free. Prevent people from blocking all the shady seats with towels by 8am even when they don't show up for hours.
Location: On a great strip of beach. Take a bus to shops / grocery stores (<1mi away) for $1 pp or ride up to Playa Tortuga to get the ferry to Isla Mujeres.
The Grand Park Royal was fantastic. We were upgraded (due to Expedia Gold status) to a room in the premium tower. This offered 2 bathrooms, a bedroom and murphy bed, double size balcony with 2 person jacuzzi. Highly recommend booking in this building or upgrading - it was quieter and nicer than the main hotel. Best thing about the main hotel is that all rooms have ocean views. Food was excellent - lots of selection, fresh fruit, fresh fish etc. We tried all the restaurants - all were good, though the main buffet was the most consistent. Staff were friendly. The towel guys asked you about tours every time we swapped towels out, but werent pushy. Beach is gorgeous, with white, soft sand, clear water and minimal other people. We tipped $1 per person per meal, $0.50 per drink at the pool and got great service our whole visit. The pools are both good - clean, large etc. Both were a little cold in the AM but were fine at the peak of the day. Beware that one has loud music and a smattering of smokers during the day while the other has a loud crowd of drinkers in the late afternoon. This wasnt a problem for us, but we were aware of it given we were with kids. Gym is great - with Expedia we used it for free. Be aware the standard is to charge for usage. This was our second trip to this hotel...we were once again really pleased to have chosen this place. Our family had a wonderful time. We'll be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 15, 2017 by Oscar Escobedo / Rooms Division Mngr., Hotel Management
Dear Lindsay. First and foremost, we would like to express our gratitude for staying at Grand Park Royal Cancún Caribe. Thank you for taking the time to share the delightful experience you had. It is an honor to read how much you enjoyed our facilities and services. Our mission is to make your stay as pleasant as possible and it is gratifying to know that we succeeded. Reading such positive reviews motivates us to work hard in order to improve every day. Hopefully we will have the opportunity of welcoming you another time to create more memorable experiences.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Needs renovation.

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Outdated, needs remodeling! It's close to the beach! We had a great time anyway;however, a hotel looks old, but clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 15, 2017 by Oscar Escobedo / Rooms Division Mngr., Hotel Management
Dear Customer First and foremost, we would like to express our gratitude for staying at Grand Park Royal Cancún Caribe. It is our priority to provide our guests with a memorable experience. Therefore, we appreciate any form of feedback as it helps us improve to continue exceeding your expectations. It is with great concern that we read your comments. It disappoints us to know that we did not succeed in meeting your needs, for which we apology. Rest assured that all the points you mentioned will be taken care of for them not to occur again. We hope you granted us the opportunity to change your perspective towards the resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice all inclusive hotel!

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: Food,grounds,rooms,staff
Cons: More seating pool side and improved lighting.
Location: Hotel is located about 30 minutes from the airport in a quiet location. We did not leave the resort,but there were many restaurants,bars.
We enjoyed everything,especially how clean the rooms and grounds were. The food was fresh and plentiful in the buffet,with indoor and outdoor seating. The specialty restaurants were excellent with outstanding service. Our only complaint was upon leaving at 6a.m.,there was inadequate lighting which caused me to not see a step down and caused an injury to my foot. We made them aware of this problem at check out. We hope to return!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 15, 2017 by Oscar Escobedo / Rooms Division Mngr., Hotel Management
Dear Dale. First and foremost, we would like to express our gratitude for staying at Grand Park Royal Cancún Caribe. Thank you for taking the time to share the delightful experience you had. It is an honor to read how much you enjoyed our facilities and services. Our mission is to make your stay as pleasant as possible and it is gratifying to know that we succeeded. Reading such positive reviews motivates us to work hard in order to improve every day. Hopefully we will have the opportunity of welcoming you another time to create more memorable experiences.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Average hotel, on the beach. Seemed understaffed.

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Other than sales people for time share and outings, it seemed like they were under staffed for an all inclusive. Rooms seemed a little dated, but ok. They were unable to accommodate putting our group near one another, and we called in advance as well as asked at check in. Decent location in hotel zone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 15, 2017 by Oscar Escobedo / Rooms Division Mngr., Hotel Management
Dear Eric. Let us thank you in the first place for staying at Grand Park Royal Cancún Caribe. Our mission is to make your stay as pleasant as possible. For that reason, we welcome all of your feedback as it will permit us to enhance our services We extend an honest apology to you for the unpleasant situation occurred during your stay. Proper measures have been taken alongside the staff to avoid future situations on these matters. It would be a pleasure to host your upcoming vacations for you to testify the changes managed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wi

Beautiful resort

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: Excellent food options to please anyone
Location: Short bus ride to nearby malls etc. Lots of excursions can be booked at the resort which is convenient.
We stayed for a week and had a great time. The staff were very pleasant. The food was excellent with a wide variety of choices. We had a nice room with a great ocean view. Activities available everyday and nightly shows. Premium alcohol. Beautiful beach. Tipping is greatly appreciated among the staff as they work very hard. Alberto and Antonio were awesome just to mention a few. Loved the breakfast buffet every morning. The fitness facility was impressive and one of the best we have used in Cancun. We plan on going back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2017 by Oscar Escobedo / Rooms Division Mngr., Hotel Management
Dear Jordan First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing Grand Park Royal Cancún Caribe as host of your recent holidays and for the time taken to share your charming experience. It is really pleasing to read how much you enjoyed our facilities and services. We are glad that we managed to make you feel comfortable and well cared for. Your words encourage us to work hard so as to keep enhancing our services. We will be pleased to host your holidays in the near future. You can rest assured that it will be another stay to remember.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: the view from the balcony
Cons: food
Location: close to marketplace
hotel was very clean and the staff was very friendly. the view from our room was amazing. the only complaint was the food on the buffet wasn't very warm and not much of a variety. this was our fourth time to cancun and was really disappointed with the food. the drinks were good. This was the first time we experienced seaweed on the beach and in the water. Overall we had a great time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 15, 2017 by Oscar Escobedo / Rooms Division Mngr., Hotel Management
Dear Customer. Let us thank you in the first place for staying at Grand Park Royal Cancún Caribe and for taking the time to share your pleasant experience. It is enormously satisfying to know that you had a memorable stay. That is one of our main goals and it is good to know that we are on the right track This kind of reviews encourages us to strive for a service of excellence. We look forward to your next visit to make your stay even more pleasant and memorable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Great experience

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: The VIP amenities were excellent.
Cons: WiFI in our room was non-existent so we had to go to the lobby or another room of our family to access it.
Location: Nice location within walking distance to a local shopping mall.
Stayed at the Grand Park Royal for a week and thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. The VIP check in and amenities were excellent. The staff were very pleasant and accommodating. The food was excellent. The rooms were nice with a great ocean view. The beach was nice with adequate loungers. Premium alcohol is available. Daily activities are available if you want to participate. Nightly shows are OK. You must make reservations for the restaurants which can take 30+ minutes and are difficult at times as the popular time slots can be gone but if you are flexible you will get to sample the different restaurants. The Italian was our favorite but the Oriental was a very close second choice amongst our family. We plan on returning to visit again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 15, 2017 by Oscar Escobedo / Rooms Division Mngr., Hotel Management
Dear Steve Let us thank you in the first place for staying at Grand Park Royal Cancún Caribe and for taking the time to share your pleasant experience. It is enormously satisfying to know that you had a memorable stay. That is one of our main goals and it is good to know that we are on the right track This kind of reviews encourages us to strive for a service of excellence. We look forward to your next visit to make your stay even more pleasant and memorable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stamford, CT

Everything you want in one place

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: The staff was absolutely amazing as well as all the food, especially the Italian restaurant, Asian restaurant and breakfast buffet.
Cons: I wish the bathroom is our room would have been updated. Also, there was no hair conditioner provided and the shampoo and soap were low quality.
Location: There are so many restaurants, clubs, shops and malls nearby. Excursion trips are close by with the bus only being $1 per person to get around.
My boyfriend and I had never been to Cancun after reading lots of reviews we ending up at Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe. This resort had anything we could have ever wanted. Restaurants, small shops, a convenience store, bars, two pools, the beach and so much more. The food was great and never disappointed. Also, the staff at every part of the resort was absolutely amazing. They were helpful in every way possible and so friendly. We ending up tipping a lot because we were so satisfied with the friendliness and service of everyone helping us. One night we were there it was my birthday and we mentioned it to the reservation table and when I got to the restaurant they gave my boyfriend and I an chilled bottle of champagne, a great birthday desert and sang to me. They really knew how to make a girl feel special. We were only able to get a few days off work so it was a short trip of 4 days, but totally worth it. I would most definitely recommend this resort to anyone looking to visit Cancun.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 15, 2017 by Oscar Escobedo / Rooms Division Mngr., Hotel Management
Dear Sara. First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing Grand Park Royal Cancún Caribe as host of your recent holidays and for the time taken to share your charming experience. It is really pleasing to read how much you enjoyed our facilities and services. We are glad that we managed to make you feel comfortable and well cared for. Your words encourage us to work hard so as to keep enhancing our services. We will be pleased to host your holidays in the near future. You can rest assured that it will be another stay to remember.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stamford, CT

Everything you need in one place

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: The food was absolutely delicious, especially the Italian restaurant, breakfast buffet, and Asian restaurant. The staff was also amazing.
Cons: The comfort of the bed, as it was pretty firm. Also, I would have loved having an updated bathroom and better shampoo/conditioner/soap.
Location: It was in a great spot as you can take the bus anywhere on the strip for only $1. There are so many restaurants, shops, malls and excursions nearby.
My boyfriend and I had the best time at Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe. The staff was helpful in every way possible. They were so friendly and always having a good time. We had never been to Cancun before so after looking at lots of reviews we decided on this location and boy was it worth it. Everything you needed was in one place. Shops, a convenience store, cafes, restaurants, coffee and snack shops, bars, the beach, two pools.. The food was fantastic everywhere we went and we always tipped the staff because they were so friendly and accommodating our entire trip. We were only able to get a few days off work so we had a short stay of 4 days but we would definitely stay at this resort again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 15, 2017 by Oscar Escobedo / Rooms Division Mngr., Hotel Management
Dear Sara Once again, thank you very much for your preference.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Great resort for a reasonable price

Posted Apr 4, 2017
We love the Grand Park Royal! Beautiful facilities, nice & hardworking staff, great food! Would highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 15, 2017 by Oscar Escobedo / Rooms Division Mngr., Hotel Management
Dear Kristin. Thank you for your preference and for your kind review. It was a pleasure to welcome you at Grand Park Royal Cancún Caribe.