Ratings based on 2,237 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami Florida

The hotel is great. Excellent in every way.

Posted Aug 31, 2015
I had a great time. Great vacation!!! Staff is great. The service was excellent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fairfax, VA

The Little Things Add Up

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Pros: The staff! Everyone from the servers and bartenders, to the housekeepers, to the maintenance crew. They are wonderful and such hard workers!
Cons: Allow kids in the specialty restaurants, acquire more high chairs, crank up the A/C, work on some areas of customer service.
Location: Location is great. It's nearby La Isla Mall, some restaurants, other hotels, etc. Right on the oceanfront.
The rooms are a decent size, clean, with great views. The staff are absolutely amazing. They are always smiling and doing what they can to serve you and make your trip enjoyable. There's always some sort of activity going on to keep people entertained. The pools are wonderful. The beach is really nice. Drinks are good! There were just a lot of little things that were disappointing to say the least. The air conditioning in public spaces is lacking quite a bit. Men are required to wear sleeved shirts to all of the restaurants (including the buffet) at all meals. Come on - we are at the beach! Kids under 12 are not welcome in the specialty restaurants, which means you eat at the buffet for all meals, or split up for dinner. We also had to eat breakfast one morning without a high chair for our toddler because they were all taken. So we can only eat at the buffet, yet you don't have enough high chairs to accommodate your guests??? We also tried ordering room service one night. After an hour had passed, we called back to cancel the order and were told they forgot about us. Not acceptable. Finally, the Royal Holiday/Concierge folks are more than annoying and persistent. They try to book you for their 90 minute presentation literally as soon as you check in. Even when you say no, they harass you every time you walk through the lobby. Due to these things, this is not a hotel we would stay at again, nor would we recommend to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Outstanding!

Posted Aug 31, 2015
We vacation a lot (luckily), and this was the best for a while. Great location. Great, fresh food. Friendly attentive staff. Quiet beach area. No complaints. If you're going at a quiet time of year, consider booking a cheaper room and asking for an upgrade when you get there - we upgraded to the Royal Tower (which was AMAZING!), and the upgrade cost us less than it would have done had we booked the room originally.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2015
We had a great week away at the Grand Park Royal! The staff were all great, the food was tasty and the grounds were very well maintained. I would recommend the resort to all of our friends and family. Gisele was our favorite - always so friendly and made sure that we had a full drink in our hand!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Beautiful view of the beach

Posted Aug 29, 2015
The hotel itself is beautiful. I don't really think there is a "bad" view anywhere. The staff were all wonderful with the exception of the man who runs the gift shop. He is quite rude at times. There is plenty of food although it's hit and miss. Breakfast is the best. The oriental restaurant is awesome. The Italian, not so good. The room itself was great except for the air conditioning. I'm from Texas and expect my room to be cold at night. The control would only go to 71degrees. Not a comfortable temperature at all. The beds were hard, although I love a hard bed, so not a problem for me at all. The showers are the best!! I have yet to stay anywhere else that has a better shower. There is only a door to the toilet, so if someone needs to use the restroom while you are in the shower, someone is going to get a show. Overall, for the price and location, not a bad deal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cookville tx

I thought it was very nice very clean and yes I w

Posted Aug 29, 2015
I enjoyed it very well The staff was very good I enjoyed every day that they did make my bed that was very awesome stocked my fridge The pool and the beach was great I would definitely go back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Anniversary Celebration

Posted Aug 29, 2015
The workers at the hotel are great. The place is kept up and attended too very well. The restaurants and food are amazing. The rooms have a awesome view of the ocean, which is right outside the hotel doors. This was a great way to spend my anniversary with my girlfriend. A week in cancun and a great hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

BEWARE OF COLD CALL SELLING

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Pros: Room was clean, view was great despite the seaweed. Bell boy Diego was fantastic. Service and food was very good in restaurants.
Cons: Room service food could be served warmer. Need night time entertainment other than salsa dance instructions and silly games that you would see on t.v
Location: Malls for shopping, restaurants .
When we first stepped off the plane we were approached by an EXPEDIA employee (young Hispanic female). She was suppose to take us to our prepaid airport transfer to our hotel and instead took us to an AVIA TOURS employee. Not knowing this at the time this middle aged man began his sales pitch of all the different tours and activities in Mexico. The catch was you had to attend a breakfast at the Grand Mayan Hotel. We ended up buying an excursion from Michael Angelo to Isla Mujures for a fraction of the price mainly because we felt so sorry for the guy. He said he would not receive his commission unless we showed up for the breakfast. He couldn't come inside our hotel and we had to meet him outside at the bus stop. To make a long story short the day was long, we waited hours in the heat for an OK breakfast, and when we didn't commit to buying a timeshare we were treated very rudely. We ended up not even meeting Michael Angelo for our discounted excursion to Isla Mujures which we really wanted to see. After that we were consistently called by the front desk of the hotel telling us that they had VIP package at the front desk for us. When we inquired about it the first time they said for $3.00 they would give us a presentation that would save us hundreds. My husband was furious and said he would never go to Mexico again. We are extremely disappointed that an Expedia employee would treat us this way and we will think twice before booking anything with them again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA, CA

View from balcony was gorgeous

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Got the premier tower with the ocean front view love it! The rain shower was a bonus. Left the balcony sliding door slight open so we could hear the waves embark every night. During our stay we also encounter sea turtle coming op to lay their eggs and guiding baby turtles back to it's nature. The kids love this experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Pros: Staff was amazing. Hotel was beautiful and immaculately clean. Amazing views!
Cons: Have liquor bottles in the rooms like most all-inclusives I have been to.
Location: Location was right downtown Cancun. Great if you want to go to a few nightclubs.
Had a great time! Very relaxing. Good food, good friends, good times. Hotel was amazing! Great staff and the place was sooooo clean. Not much entertainment at night.