Ratings based on 1,522 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SJO

Muy buena ubicación !

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Buen servicio cumplen con lo que ofrecen ! Vale la pena el precio ! Solo que en temporada de Diciembre disparaté mucho los precios !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Pros: The people who work there are great. The bartenders are so friendly.
Cons: People shouldn't be able to save the pool and beach towels with towels.
Location: The location is great.
The hotel is very nice. There is plenty to do. The restaurants were good also. The French was great and the Mexican. The Buffet had a lot of choices. There are a lot of bars too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Met my expectations

Posted Feb 4, 2016
The hotel check in went smoothly with about a 10 minute wait. Rooms are large with nice view, but rooms on the south side (even numbered) face the next door Iberostar Hotel's air handling unit that is very loud, even with the balcony doors closed. The noise made sleeping difficult. Stay on the north side if you have the opportunity. Buffet food was quite good with numerous stations offering a variety of food. We usually ate at one of the included restaurants in the hotel in the evening. We liked the continental restaurant (long pants for men required) and the Mexican. The Mexican restaurant is hard to find down at the end with children's pool and pirate ship, but definitely worth finding. Both pool and beach accommodations were nice and usually enough chairs for everyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel for kids.

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Good hotel for kids, nice beach. Need some work on the Hotel such as showers and paint and could use more food selections for kids.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto

Vacation

Posted Jan 31, 2016
HORRIBLE HORRIBLE HORRIBLE HORRIBLE JEANCARLO AT THE FRONT DESK THE WORSE EVER MEAN RUDE how in the world is this guy working there OMG servers at the Mexican restaurant and buffet EXCELLENT GRACIAS
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Family vacation

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Front desk are rude and unfriendly JEANCARLO is the worse I have not idea how he got the job there is is terrible Vanesa is really good the servers at the Mexican restaurant and buffet really good but front desk HORRIBLE
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

overcharging for everything

Posted Jan 29, 2016
no free wifi, of you loose your towel key: pay 100dlls, loose room key: pay 100dlls, loose remote: pay 100 dlls, loose safe key: pay 100 dlls, loose your bracelet: pay 100dlls, the food for dinner at the restaurants is not better than the buffet, not good at all, the staff were friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Not as expected AT ALL!!

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Pros: The room
Cons: Guest service, easier check in and don't try to move guest and lie to them that it's a nicer hotel that they are moving too
I typically don't write reviews, but always read them before I book a stay so, I thought I should return the favor. First off upon arrival we had 4 rooms reserved (way in advance) and two couples are resort members and go every year to the resort. We arrived and was told that they overbooked and they needed to move us to the Barcello. We were told it's a step up and very nice. IT WAS NOT!!! We lost a whole day going there only to be very disappointed and returned and demanded they find us rooms that we paid for and reserved. On the positive side when we spent two hours going to the other resort and then returning, they just had 4 rooms open up. We did get upgraded to a suite that was nice. Long post, but feel everyone needs to know there are so much nicer resorts that greet you upon arrival and have a room ready for and you don't waste one day of your vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BC, Canada

Great resort for kids

Posted Jan 26, 2016
The great friendly kids club and happiness of my kids made up for the lack of maintenance in our room. Pools and kids waterpark was great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ECUADOR

poor hotel

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: kids pool area (pirate boat)
Cons: everything: cleaning, reparation, people
Location: is close to playa delfines (walking), driving like 10 to 15 minutes close to downtown.
The hotel is old, damaged in some places, just 8 elevators for 12 floors and almost 1000 rooms and also very slow, in some hours it took us almost 10 minutes to get up or down, in my room the bathroom light didn´t turn on fast it took like 20 seconds to get on. The pools are ok specially the kids place, that´s the good part of the hotel. Most of the staff is kind with people but there is some guys in the dinner area that are rude and impolite. I don´t recommend this hotel even for kids, there should be better places