Ratings based on 399 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Best beach in Cancún

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Pros: The breakfast is fantastic and varied, the room large, quiet, and comfortable, and the staff accessible without being excessively noticeable.
Location: At Km 5 in the Zone, Casa Maya is a short bus ride from downtown, Plaza Americas mall, Punta Cancún, and the Maya Museum and El Rey ruins.
Casa Maya is on the widest stretch of beach in the north part of the hotel zone, where seas are calm and breezes gentle (it's a bit rougher on the western side of the zone).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Great budget hotel, On the beach, Friendly staff

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Stayed for a week towards the end of January. Found everything very reasonable. Staff is friendly and helpful, breakfast is very decent, beach is beautiful. Downtown area is a 8 minute bus and the stop is a couple minute's walk from the hotel. Best thing for me were the daily activities like beach volleyball, beach soccer etc. The hotel isn't fancy by any standards but definitely get the money's worth and would definitely visit again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A family North Shore resort.

Posted Feb 5, 2016
A nice resort on the calmer North Beach. Think of the Cancun beaches as the number 7. The lower East facing beaches exposed to the Caribbean without the shelter of Isla de Mujeras so the waves can get much rougher. Lots of activities with a fun active staff. Rooms were clean with a variety of options. Many here have timeshares with suites.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh NC

Very good food and staff was polite

Posted Jan 30, 2016
I very much enjoyed the food and the room was clean and comfortable. I will stay at Hotel Casa Maya next time I am in Cancun.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Decent hotel/time share property on lovely beach

Posted Jan 29, 2016
My family were guests at the Casa Maya Hotel in Cancun. Overall we had a very nice experience....staff was lovely, hotel food was very good and inexpensive. The beach access, pools, and hot tubs were extremely clean. In fact, all public areas were spotless. The beach restaurant service was outstanding (get the grilled fish or brick oven pizza), as was room service. Buffet breakfast was abundant. There is also a minimart which is fully stocked and not terribly expensive. Most people there were time share owners (retired couples) or other Latin Americans looking to purchase but the suites are tremendous so families with children have space and kitchens. Wifi was better than posted and free. Take the local bus and forego taxis. Each bus seems to be individually "owned" so each driver can decorate or play music as loudly as they want. We took two buses that were outfitted with LED lights and club music...so much fun! The hotel is close enough to town that the ride takes about 10 minutes. All in all, it was pleasant. However, there are a few things that need to be addressed. 1) It is a time share property which means that there is a sales pitch at nearly every table at breakfast. 2) There are 2 buildings and no indoor passageway 3) Not all rooms are updated so ASK as soon as you check in 4) Check in procedure is tedious. You have to get a key from the Concierge (not the desk) which is also a sales pitch for activities, not what you want after a long flight. I would recommend it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

This hotel is falling apart!

Posted Jan 27, 2016
The hotel staff was very friendly and housekeeping was awesome. Breakfast was great as well. However I booked a king size bed and I got 2 full size beds!! When I got there ( which was an hour after check in) we had to wait for a room! I booked this trip almost 3 months ago! Why would I have to wait for my room?!? It couldn't be that they had a late check out cause when I was leaving I asked if we could have a late check out for one more hour and they said no!! Now check out is at 11 am and check in was at 3 pm. Even if I left at 12 pm that still would have left them 3 hrs to get the room ready for their next guest! I also asked for a room with a water view and I told them when I reminded them when I got there. They gave me a room facing a basket ball court. So all I heard from night to day when we were in our room was yelling and cheering! Also, the hotel from the outside does not look attractive. It needs to be re-painted and there are flower boxes that were missing but you could tell that they were there at one time. It has just not been kept up. I would give this hotel 2 stars at best. It's a shame because it really could be a nice hotel!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Staff / Nice Beach

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Casa Maya is an older, dated hotel. The rooms are kept clean and nice, but dated kitchens, slow draining sinks. The hotel sits directly on the beach, and easy to just walk out to enjoy. The balconies have a great view of the gulf. But, you can see how dated the outside of the building is when on the balcony. The beach is clean with plenty of chairs. Nice service with waiters bringing food / drinks of your choice. The breakfast buffet is the same daily, but plenty of options. They do offer snacks/ sandwiches during the daytime at the outdoor bar/ restaurant. We chose to go out for dinner, and not eat dinner there. You do have a few smaller restaurants within walking distance, but are at least 6 blocks away. If you not able to walk, you can take the bus, or grab a taxi. The friendly staff make up for anything the hotel is lacking. Always friendly, and willing to do anything to help make your stay better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston texas

On large clean beach

Posted Jan 23, 2016
Great breakfast, on a private beach with good amenities. Easy access to bus line to get you downtown or the clubs and the mall. Clean older hotel well kept on the inside, outside a little worn. Convenience store, gym, tennis courts, heated pools and a place to print your boarding pass a plus. Wifi free but spotty. Lobby bar and evening restaurant just ok, but great for the price. Not a Mega resort where you have to fight for a chair or beach space, and which I liked. Close to ferry to Isla Mujeres and Playa Norte Beach. For the price it exceeded my expectations !!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ciudad Juárez Chihuahua México

Bonito hotel junto a la palya

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Pros: instalaciones junto a la playa
Cons: El hotel necesita que se renueve su pintura exterior, y si tienen un área para socios elite, el personal debe de tratar con respeto a los otros huéspe
Location: Fui a Xcaret y al barco del Captian Hook, me divertí mucho.
Tuve una estancia muy agradable, gracias a la excelente atención del personal del hotel, a pesar de las condiciones del clima (frente frió) la calidez del personal, fue una experiencia muy grata, mi habitación confortable, alimentos excelentes en su restaurante a precios justos, con gusto lo recomiendo y claro que volveré en próximas vacaciones.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from São Paulo, Brasil

Hotel Simples em Cancun

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Pros: Praia em frente ao Hotel, equipe muito amável e disposta a ajudar. Outro ponto positivo é que o Hotel possui estacionamento sem custo adicional.
Cons: O restaurante onde serve o café da manhã poderia ser reformado. Ajustar a altura do chuveiro pois é bastante desconfortável para quem tem mais de 1,60
Location: Bem localizado, na via Kulkukan, mas longe do burburinho. Vista do Quarto sensacional!!
Hotel construído muito provavelmente na década de 80, que está com todas as suas instalações (piscina, sala de ginástica, quadra de tênis, etc..) em bom estado. Os quartos possuem uma mini cozinha com microondas e torradeira o que facilita o dia a dia, já que o hotel não tem serviço de Quarto. Ficamos num quarto "Não Remodelado" e que tinha alguns itens (carpete, papel de parede e banheiro) que já demostravam o desgaste natural pelo uso. Conhecemos um dos quartos "Remodelados" que já estão em outro padrão. Muito bom para ir com a Família.