Ratings based on 276 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from On, Canada

Comfortable and clean

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Clean,safe,simple
Cons: Handicapped access
Location: Near small beach, convenience store, ferry terminal
About 1km from Grand Puerto, which is the departure port for Isla Mujeres. All rooms are up some fairly steep stairs. Rooms are clean, and quiet. No restaurant on site, but continental breakfast provided. Oxxo nearby, as is restaurant Madinga which adds a service charge on all meals,regardless on service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Value for money hotel near the beach

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: Quiet and walking distance to beach. OXXO is also just round the corner.
Cons: More pillow should be provided.
Location: OXXO is also just round the corner. Captain Hook is just opposite.
The hotel is value for money with light breakfast provided..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Trying to stay within budget

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Would recommend staying here If you plan on visiting PLAYA DE MUJERES other than that your far away from la Zona hotelera. You have to take a taxi to go to the beaches, mercados, etc.
4 out of 5
by james

Nice hotel, good value, friendly staff

Posted Mar 2, 2017 on Hotels
Good stay and so close to ferry to isla mujrez
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia Beach

Fantastico!!!!

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: Roof top deck provides beautiful view of the sunrises. Staff is wonderful, helpful, cordial...Perfect location for exploring the area
Cons: We really enjoyed our stay and are looking forward to a return visit!
Location: Beaches, ferry to Isla Mujeres, Cancun....farther distances to various ruins around the Yucatan
We loved our stay at Hotel del Sol! Very European and boutique, this hotel is perfectly located across from the old ferry terminal in Puerto Juarez. Convenience store across the street, Mandingo's Restaurant across the street (wonderful food and staff.) The beach (Playa de los Ninos), and other restaurants are all within walking distance. The R1 buses and collectivos make it very easy to get around. Everyone was extremely nice and helpful. Breakfast was also very good! Marcos and his travel agency is right next door, so if you want to do any excursions to Chichen Itza, Tulum, Playa del Carmen, etc., it is very easy to arrange. We are definitely looking forward to a return visit next year!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto,ON

Nice Hotel if you just need to sleep

Posted Feb 24, 2017 on CheapTickets
Over all the experience was good but the best thing of all was location and it's also not to crowded. The hotel needs to provide basic essentials such as shampoo, hair dryer and stuff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, cool, & comfortable!!!

Posted Feb 15, 2017 on Hotels
Located in an older more rundown touristy area of Cancun near the northern end by the beach. This is the perfect place to stay if you are looking to do a day trip to Isla Mujeres as this hotel is a 5 min walk to the ferry doc. There is only one Ferry doc near here now and it is called Puerto Juarez (the old doc across from this hotel is for private tour boats only). This hotel offers breakfast for about $10 but if you are feeling adventurous you can walk about 15 mins south on the main road and you will arrive at a market that has quite a few breakfast places (50 pesos for full breakfast including coffee and juice), it is just before the overpass. There are no really nice beaches near this hotel but there is a mediocre one about 10 min walk north on the main road, we didn't swim here but instead took a taxi for 100 pesos to the top of the hotel district to the first public beach, it was a nice little swimming area with no waves. We had no hot water the second day but as soon as we let the staff know it was fixed within the hour. They have comfortable, very clean rooms. There is air conditioning but we did not use it or need it as the fan was enough since the rooms are naturally cool. Wish they had coffee in the lobby in the morning but since they did not I was able to just cross the street and get it at the OXXO (Mexican convenience store). Would definitely stay here again. The restaurant "Mandingo" just down the street (tourist prices) has delicious shrimp.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN, USA

Crash pad at best

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: See comments above. Website and pictures are very misleading.
Location: Nothing- very sketchy and bombed out. Not safe.
If you are looking for a crash pad before you head to Isla Mujeres, this is OK at best. Pros- semi clean, cheap price. Cons- hot (our AC didn't work and they didn't care), curtains let in tons of light, room very loud (people inside hotel and dogs barking, people outside all night), breakfast is not good, very very very sketchy area. Bombed out and run down neighborhood across from the port. We defiantly did not feel safe going outside at night. There are no restaurants, bars or anything nearby with-in walking distance, just a oxxo convenience store across street. Beds are super tiny, no bathroom amenities at all. Definitely would not stay here again, ever.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Spokane Wa

They gave our room away

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Orbitz
Worst hotel ive ever stay at, First they gave our room away then they stuck is in a lil 1 bed room with an air mattress on the floor. Their was no water pressure no hot water and hard uncomfortable mattress never slept so bad in my life only ended up stay 1 night out of 10 will never return.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Amsterdam

Horrible hotel

Posted Dec 25, 2016 on CheapTickets
This hotel is Horrible. Dont ever book this hotel. I dont even know where to start. Me and my friend booked this hotel for 7 days. The day we arrived was actually the day that we should have packed out things and run as fast as we could away from this place. Let me start with the location. There is litarally nothing to do/see or eat in the area. If you wanna take the ferry to Isla Mujeres, trust me; its not across the street. You have to walk back to the beginng of the street to get on the ferry. Then there is the wifi! If you use wifi to check your mail and stay in contact with your friends and family you are gonna be so disappointed. The wifi doesnt work. Move along to the 'bed' This was just awful. It was so hard. I couldnt sleep on it and my back was in so much pain. Next thing is the shower! Omg, sometimes you dont even have hot water. And when you do have water, its almost nothing. Washing your hair with that tiny bit of water is a challenge. Then we have housekeeping. One day theu forgot to clean our room?!? Like how do you forget that. And when they do clean your room, its still dirty. Im trying to come up with a good thing to say about this hotel, but i just cant. Please save your money and dont book this hotel. Trust me, you are gonna regret it