Ratings based on 162 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Clean, quiet, nice room, comfy bed, beautiful loca

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: I liked the quietness, the quiet air conditioning, the spacious room, the beautiful view from the rear terrace, and the location.
Cons: The breakfast could be slightly improved, but it was good enough.
Location: It's very close to Playa Norte, which is best seen in the early morning or late afternoon, when it is less crowded. Close to good authentic restauran
I had a room for one in the new portion of the hotel, which was very well-done, and the bed was very comfortable. It's a 5 minute walk to Playa Norte, and on a secluded street, so it's very quiet. The rear section of the hotel has a great pool and amazing view, with a little beach.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York City

Adorable Boutique Hotel with Stunning Ocean Views

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Adorable boutique hotel with a ton of charm. If you're looking for an experience that's not your typical 5-star-all-inclusive resort that tends to lack culture, and if you want something a bit more authentic and quaint while still getting those outstanding beach/pool views, this is it. My boyfriend and I are both adventurous, cultured world travelers who appreciate both luxury and boutique. We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite so we can only speak for our experience there but it was magical. Romantic canopy bed, sitting area with an in-room hammock and floor to ceiling windows overlooking the pool and beach (BREATHTAKING views by the way) and an enormous private porch with a tub and a seating area to watch the sun set (Isla Mujeres is known for its sunsets). Truly, it was a magical room and a magical experience. And the hotel is super convinient and located walking distance to the main strip in town! However - travelers should note that this hotel is very basic in the amenities it offers. We didn't mind at all, but other might if it's not their style. The breakfast was very basic (fruit, toast and cereal), there are no restaurants in the hotel, and the lobby staff is not very helpful in arranging tours. They can certainly do it for you, but we found that the companies they recommended to us (scuba, whale shark swimming, golf carts/mopeds) were not the best. You're probably best doing your own research online versus relying on the lobby staff. All in all, a WONDERFUL hotel though!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Media iuns y lluvia de estrelllas

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Muy buen lugar...exelente vista...muy acogedor...muy tranquilo...todas sus instalaciones perfectas...
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Great hidden jewel, laid back atmosphere..Beautiful beachfront scenery.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Visited in July 2016

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
The whale shark tour group was excellent. Pool good. The decor seemed dated and not being maintained well. The surrounding area was more like old abandoned buildings and parking lots.
4 out of 5
by Thomas from London

Good hotel - amazing location

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
The first room we stayed in, in the newer part was noisy due to echoes and interconnecting door with the next room. Was moved to 'same' room type in older part but the 2nd room was way better. Larger and had a better finish to it despite being older. There is no wifi in rooms only the lobby. Aircon in older rooms is effective but noisy. Amazing location. So close to Playa Norte and to the bars and restaurants. Pool area is nice too. Would recommend if you get it at a good price.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Great room

Posted Jul 6, 2016
I was very pleased with our room. It was in the new part of the hotel. The room was beautiful and well maintained. The wifi was only available in the 2nd floor comman area and the lobby. This was disappointing. The air conditioning in the room was wonderful but the hallways, sitting areas and lobby was not air conditioned. It was very hot in June and with the wifi only available in non air conditioned areas it was uncomfortable for longer periods of time online. Also, the doors in the lobby were kept open causing mosquitos so you have to apply bug spray to spend any time in the lobby. The staff overall were very nice and helpful. The ocean was beautiful as was the pool and outdoor lounging area. The ocean at the hotel was not ideal for swimming but a calm, clear, amazing beach (North Beach) is only a five minute walk from the hotel. Would have been nice to have had some vending machines in the hotel but overall it was a great place to stay and for the price you really can't beat it!
5 out of 5
by Don from Baytown Texas

Summer vacation

Posted Jun 19, 2016 on Hotels
Quite and secluded with private beach facing East towards Carribean sea.
5 out of 5
by Elaine from San Francisco, CA

Great balance between affordability and comfort.

Posted May 27, 2016 on Hotels
Great time here at Playa de Media Luna. Stayed in a Standard King room with a beautiful ocean view. Each terrace had a hammock and seating area. The rooms were air conditioned and very well taken care of while we were out. The only downside is there was no wifi in the rooms, only in the lobby where there was no A/C. The water pressure was a bit weak and the construction haphazardly put together. Still, the service was fantastic (while they charge $25USD for each beach towel lost, my partner and I returned them after one use but unfortunately lost the two cards; luckily, the front desk was so kind and didn't charge us). Overall, really lovely vacation in part due to the hotel!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lakewood, ohio

It was wonderful except...I like a good shower.

Posted May 12, 2016
I stayed in a Garden Double with a friend. The location and the views of the ocean are exceptional. The pool area and the back veranda are well-kept and large facing the ocean. Room 27 was spacious with two double beds and very very clean. We saw inside a jacuzzi suite and it was very nice. There was a very basic, complimentary, continental breakfast. The only problem was the shower, it was a trickle. I travel in Mexico quite frequently, and showers are either excellent or awful. This one was an awful one. I I didn't even bother complaining or changing rooms it, bad water pressure generally affects a whole hotel. I might stay again but would ask for a different room just to double check. I liked everything else enough to give the hotel a second chance if I didn't find something that looked or priced better.