Ratings based on 171 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chelan, Wash.

great hotel, great location, friendly staff

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: location, price
Cons: limit the noise, hammering, banging, construction untill 10am
Location: loved the 'mercado' where you could walk there in 2 min. and get fresh juces
First time to ISLa mujer, loved the smallness of the isla, and the great food and beaches
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

We would stay here again

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: It's location is perfect.
Cons: the water shower pressure was very low and hot water spotty. front desk not always on hand - sometimes it seems abandoned for periods of time.
Location: food, shopping,beaches all within walking distance. i recommend a golf cart though. fun to get around in.
Great location on the island - tucked away from the market area and more crowded beaches but still close enough to walk to them. This will be our getaway hotel from now on.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful experience - stay away!

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
Me and my wife reserved a 2 queen standart room with garden view via hotels.com site. Instead of that we received a small room with 2 twin beds, refrigerator that makes dying noises, no microwave and a dirty shower. Wifi was available at the main lobby at specific spot. Needless to say that we are honeymooning. One good thing - we reserved it for 2 nights only. Stay away from this hotel, no service, rooms are not the same as specified and the staff ignorant and careless.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Relaxing gem in paradise!

Posted Sep 22, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The private, quiet location and the pool/beach area. Wonderful views.
Cons: My only recommendation would be to replaces the bed linens with more plush comforters.
Location: Walking distance to North Beach and the downtown area.
My husband and I celebrated our one year anniversary on Isla. We were pleasantly surprised by Playa La Media Luna. The resort is tucked away in a quiet area and was clean, cozy, and had amazing views from the pool area. The location is great, walking distance from North Beach and all the shops and restaurants in the downtown area. The staff was nice, our room was large, updated, and spacious. There is not a bar, however the bartender from Hotel Secreto will come over and check on you by the pool. You can order drinks and snacks from him. Very nice man. Overall, we had an amazing time on Isla and we were impressed with the accomodations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

Adorable Boutique Hotel with Stunning Ocean Views

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Adorable boutique hotel with a ton of charm. If you're looking for an experience that's not your typical 5-star-all-inclusive resort that tends to lack culture, and if you want something a bit more authentic and quaint while still getting those outstanding beach/pool views, this is it. My boyfriend and I are both adventurous, cultured world travelers who appreciate both luxury and boutique. We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite so we can only speak for our experience there but it was magical. Romantic canopy bed, sitting area with an in-room hammock and floor to ceiling windows overlooking the pool and beach (BREATHTAKING views by the way) and an enormous private porch with a tub and a seating area to watch the sun set (Isla Mujeres is known for its sunsets). Truly, it was a magical room and a magical experience. And the hotel is super convinient and located walking distance to the main strip in town! However - travelers should note that this hotel is very basic in the amenities it offers. We didn't mind at all, but other might if it's not their style. The breakfast was very basic (fruit, toast and cereal), there are no restaurants in the hotel, and the lobby staff is not very helpful in arranging tours. They can certainly do it for you, but we found that the companies they recommended to us (scuba, whale shark swimming, golf carts/mopeds) were not the best. You're probably best doing your own research online versus relying on the lobby staff. All in all, a WONDERFUL hotel though!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Great hidden jewel, laid back atmosphere..Beautiful beachfront scenery.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Visited in July 2016

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
The whale shark tour group was excellent. Pool good. The decor seemed dated and not being maintained well. The surrounding area was more like old abandoned buildings and parking lots.
4 out of 5
by Thomas from London

Good hotel - amazing location

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
The first room we stayed in, in the newer part was noisy due to echoes and interconnecting door with the next room. Was moved to 'same' room type in older part but the 2nd room was way better. Larger and had a better finish to it despite being older. There is no wifi in rooms only the lobby. Aircon in older rooms is effective but noisy. Amazing location. So close to Playa Norte and to the bars and restaurants. Pool area is nice too. Would recommend if you get it at a good price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Great room

Posted Jul 6, 2016
I was very pleased with our room. It was in the new part of the hotel. The room was beautiful and well maintained. The wifi was only available in the 2nd floor comman area and the lobby. This was disappointing. The air conditioning in the room was wonderful but the hallways, sitting areas and lobby was not air conditioned. It was very hot in June and with the wifi only available in non air conditioned areas it was uncomfortable for longer periods of time online. Also, the doors in the lobby were kept open causing mosquitos so you have to apply bug spray to spend any time in the lobby. The staff overall were very nice and helpful. The ocean was beautiful as was the pool and outdoor lounging area. The ocean at the hotel was not ideal for swimming but a calm, clear, amazing beach (North Beach) is only a five minute walk from the hotel. Would have been nice to have had some vending machines in the hotel but overall it was a great place to stay and for the price you really can't beat it!
5 out of 5
by Don from Baytown Texas

Summer vacation

Posted Jun 19, 2016 on Hotels
Quite and secluded with private beach facing East towards Carribean sea.