Ratings based on 185 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from boston

Decent, basic accomodations

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Orbitz
The location is great. Just a few steps to many restaurants and shops. Short walk to beach. The room was very simple. Air conditioner worked well.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Quebec canada

It's a 3 star Hotel well located near the beaches

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: very clean, and well located
Cons: Make it an adult only hotel or get ride of the pool. And fix the doors on the second floor they are too noisy.
Location: There are at least 60 restaurants within 10 min walk.
This is our 6 time at this hotel. Past two years haven't been too quiet. We rent on the second floor and the doors for about 20 rooms are noisy, people slam the doors and kids run in the hallway. One of the main feature and attraction of this hotel is their pool, but it is also a source of noise again. Guess are not respectful to others guess, they bring their own music to the pool let their kids scream all afternoon. Be aware the second week of April is the Mexican week off. Our last two days at the hotel was the loudest due to about 25 mexicans that just took over the pool area. They don't have any consideration or respect for other guess at the hotel. The hotel staff doesn't do anything to keep peace. If you're looking for a quiet hotel, this one is not for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, nice pool, great staff.

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Being right downtown, we were concerned about noise from clubs on Hidalgo Street would be disruptive to sleeping a night. We were pleased that our room was very quiet.
4 out of 5
by Valerie

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
We spent our second amazing holiday at Plaza! We love the location, the clean refreshing little pool and our handy room complete with microwave, fridge and coffee makers! The groundskeeper and house keepers were exceptional! We would stay again! Our kids love it and we feel very much at home! There is a reason why people come Year after year!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location. Also loved the quiet comfortable courtyard.
Cons: Small repairs and new mattresses
Location: Everything is close; beach, restaurants, church etc.
We decided very last minute to take this vacation. On our past trips to Isla, we always rented very nice homes on Punta Sur from VRBO. So, this was very different for us. We absolutely loved the location of Plaza Almendros and being close to the beach and all restaurants. The hotel staff was very accommodating and friendly. The room was clean, but more than a bit dated and in need of some repairs. For instance, there was a leak in the bathroom somewhere, so we always had a puddle of water in front of the stool. And the toilet paper holder was broken, so the paper had to be placed on the back of the stool. The shower had good pressure though. The beds were extremely hard and we had trouble adjusting to that, but staff gave us extra pillows, and that helped. All that being said we paid an extremely reasonable price and had a great vacation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Orbitz
A little difficult to find but is in a great location, staff very friendly and smell clean, had to ask for a blanket and pillows, ac sloooowly cool down the room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Location: close to beach, restaurants and shopping
Great location and a nice pool. Otherwise nothing special. When checked in wanted us to pay again. If he had pushed this, not sure how to handle
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from delhi, ontario

2 week stay.

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Swimming pool. Always lots of hot water.
Cons: Be nice to have a few English speaking tv channels.
Location: Located right on Hildago st, the center of activity. Beach is a two block walk.
Living out of a suitcase is never fun, it would have been nice to have more storage. We had no issues during our 2 week stay. Everyday housekeeping, clean towels and bath room accessories were always the norm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg

The first plus is location.

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: The hotel had an exterior shower and pool. So when you came back from the beach, shower off the sand then jump in the hotel freshwater pool.
Cons: OH the bed mattresses! Too hard, pillows too flat.
Location: Centrally located, beach, bars and restaurants very close by with lots to chose from. Vendors are a plenty bunch with souvenirs to sell of any kind.
Friendly staff. very knowledgeable about tours and speak English. Location is next to everything. Just walk there from the ferry because, transportation not required. To explore all of the island, you can cab it if you wish or rent a golf cart or scooter. Most of the time we just walked around. NOTE: On our second night the whole island was in a blackout! Some boat anchor had cut the power line to the island and we had to put up with no electrical power for 24 hours! But we survived and lighted our way with cell phone lights. Beach is beautiful and the Caribbean water clear and refreshing. Snorkeling off the beach near the Mia hotel reef was fun and easy, even for a beginner. Lots of restaurants along the beach. You may rent an umbrella and lounge chair. We preferred to use the hotel beach towels and just sit under the palm trees. Hotel mattresses are very firm. Pillows are flat. The compact fridge was noisy so the staff changed it for us and it was better.Shower works well, hot water on demand. Air conditioning is perfect. Overall a pleasant stay for those who don't require an all inclusive posh hotel. We will return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Lovely quiet courtyard with pool

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Amazing that in the very middle of Centro you can find this quiet little hotel! Clean and friendly with all the basics one needs. Friendly helpful staff. Air conditioning efficient, quiet and fully adjustable. Room safe secure. I didn't use the tv so cannot comment. Room was spacious. Didn't try the pool but it looked clean and inviting with loungers available.