Ratings based on 222 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB

Decent hotel in a great location

Posted Jul 19, 2017
I have stayed at this hotel twice now and it has been consistent both times. I love it because it's clean, staff are very friendly, and it has some upgrade amenities like a nice pool, a restaurant and bar on site, and a lovely garden with peacocks and parrots. Their rates are very reasonable and it's in a great location. I initially stayed here as it is located directly across the street from the bus station and there is a direct shuttle to the airport (only 72 pesos!). While this hotel does not have the luxuries of a 5-star all-inclusive, it is in an ideal location to try some local cuisine or visit the local street markets that set up a short walk away every night. It is also a quick bus ride away from the beaches and shopping in the hotel zone. I actually walked to Playa Las Perlas one day and spent a great morning at the beach; however, it was a solid half hour walk to the beach! But it can be done. I also found the pillows in the room extremely comfortable!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Hotel staff was rude, beds were humid and bathroom door broken. Not recommendable, neighborhood is sketchy and must pass through a dark alley to park car. Family felt unsafe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

clean room, enough hot water, nice bed.

Posted Jul 7, 2017
翌朝、ADOバス利用の際には最適な場所にあるホテルです。食事処も5分歩いたところに点在し、またサルサダンスのクラスもそばにあります。賑やかかな 交通量の多い(国道のような…)場所なので連泊には不向きですが カンクーン空港に夕方到着し、翌朝バスで地方に向かう方には便利だと思います。
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

you get what you pay for

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: The beauty, location and the incredible staff.
Cons: air circulation and ventilation and safer tile to walk on.
Location: Located where all the buses can take you anywhere (tourist attractions) but you are also at a walking distance to many markets and eateries nearby
The place was beautiful but the bad side was that the rooms had no air ventilation. The ventilation in the room was poor creating a lot of condensation so that the bedding was damp and the AC leaked water. The tile floor was extremely slippery specially because it rained the whole day when we got there. The staff was amazing, the birds were beautiful, the place was beautiful expect the rooms. No air ventilation in the bathrooms so when someone had to used the bathroom the whole room would smell because the walls to the bathroom weren't closed off and no air ventilation only one window in the whole room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Gilberto May / Customer Service, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments, we are grateful to know our staff was up to your expectations, we are sorry that you had so many problems with your room, we are open to solve any issue our guest encounter in their rooms. We'll inform those details that you mention to the managers to be resolved, we hope this isn't the las time you visit us, Best regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mexico

We flew in from Germany and traveling to progreso.

Posted Jun 11, 2017
The hotel is a great place to manage price and convenience when traveling from Europe or the US o
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Gilberto May / Customer Service, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your comments, we are grateful to know you liked the hotel and the location. We hope this is not the last time you visit us, Best regards.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Convienient to ADO bus terminal

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: Very close to bus terminal. Fairly good restaurant on site with friendly staff.
Location: Close to downtown and favourite restaurant la parilla.
Room was ready for us upon arrival. No coffeemaker, batteries in tv remote dead.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Gilberto May / Customer Service, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your comments, we are happy to know our staff provided a good service, we are open to solve any issue you may encounter in your room, you just have to report it at front desk. Best regards.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pacific Northwest

NEARBY ADO BUS STATION CHEATED US

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Pleasant courtyard interior away from the street noise.
Cons: The restaurant cuisine can't seem to decide if it will be authentic local fare, or dumbed-down foreigner acceptable. Eat elsewhere.
Location: Many local restaurants serve cost effective local cuisine. But see notes about ADO bus station ripoff above.
Part of the reason for choosing this hotel was the proximity to the central bus station. However, the Bus service cheated me and my companion on the tour I THOUGHT I purchased. We signed up for the central Cancun city tour, taking in a series of monuments around the city. WHAT I GOT instead was a tour of the back of all of the motels on the coastal hotel strip, clearly showing me how effectively they blocked any view of the shoreline and Caribbean. To top it all off, it was a slow motion tour so we could take pictures of the backs of the motels! When I complained, the service agent said "Too bad, senor, I can do nothing". At least I had hoped for a refund or an explanation why the billboard announcing the tour did not represent the tour we got. But NADA. It soured the trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, Ontario

Close to ADO terminal

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Room location could have been better ... there was loud noise from a motor near the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Basic downtown hotel.

Posted Apr 5, 2017
You get what you pay for. Room- Old but clean. Housekeeping was great. Flat screen TV a plus. AC worked well. Grounds- Construction going on. A little noisy at times. Outdoor pool was clean although broken chairs. Loved the peacock that was roaming the grounds (hopefully he is fed and taken care of properly). Restaurant - Only used once for room delivery. Waited 30 minutes and nothing. Went down to restaurant to which the staff member didn't write down our room number so the order was never placed. So had to wait another 30 minutes. Food was average. Didn't have all choices available on the menu. Location - Across the street is the ADO bus station and taxis readily available. Bus to beach was around the corner for 10.5 pesos. Takes about 30 minutes with all the stops bit you can't beat the price. Money exchange right outside the hotel. All in all a decent hotel for a budget traveler. My husband and I personally stay at places like this to save some money to be able to enjoy tours/day trips. Why pay all inclusive prices if you don't plan on being at the hotel the majority of the day. Would stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great location on a limited budget

Posted Mar 27, 2017
The location is excellent to experience local Cancun and access travel to other parts of the coast. The hotel is good for the frugal traveller looking for an option away from the beach strip. Staff are friendly however the hotel facilities are dated and need upgrades.