Ratings based on 663 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

The Hotel is located at El Centro de Cancun

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: I like the location.
Cons: Have to clean the swimming pool area.
Location: Restaurants and Snacks Store.
The hotel is ok, needs to improve some aspects, the photo looks like it was taken 20 years ago because it does not look that way now. The good thing is that it has several restaurants to cross the street and the OXXO store open 24 hours to buy snacks.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Only for a short cheap trip

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Cheap, and it was near ADO bus line which we used to travel to Playa Del Carmen, Xecaret Park. Also for Chichen Itza and Tulum.
Cons: Hotel Shower head sprayed all over the place, looked infected. lol We took lots of tours and they would not pick us up at hotel. walked to Oasis, whi
Location: Restaurants/ prices, Mercado 28 & 23. Mall. ADO bus station.
Stay here only if your using it to sleep and are deep sleepers. Was here for 14 days. Lots of noise all hours, shower head sucks, one staff members hated us, was rude, gave us attitude. When we tipped well, we saw animal towels, when we forgot or didn't have change we saw nothing. We had a gecko in the room. Great location for ADO bus, 5 minute walk. If your a Mexican National you don't pay Chichen Itza or Tulum. take the bus. Near mall, better food locations. 60% cheaper than Hotel Zone. We ate at Hotel Oasis which was about 10 minute walk from our hotel and thought i would rather stay there next time i travel to cancun. And, i had no internet reception on 3rd floor. FYI.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Good Basic Hotel

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Pool area was great, good breakfast offerings. Clean bedding.
Cons: The noise from the street was really loud, especially since we had a child - hard to get to sleep.
Close to Park of the Palapas, local families hang out there, lots of food options there too. The pool was great and the artwork in the hotel was lovely. Room was basic, all we needed for a quick stay, although the music was loud and made it difficult to sleep after a long day of travelling. Good breakfast available in the restaurant for a nominal fee.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Green Bay Wisconsin

historic boutique hotel

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: The hotel interior has a lot of beautiful historic wall paintings, artifacts, and cultural writings with a lot of attention to details.
Location: location is excellent for those interested in local food and customs. There is a huge town square with local food,music and crafts within 2 blocks
I've stayed here before and came back because the hotel is reasonably priced and a truly unique cultural experience . I'ts not 4 or 5 star luxury by any means,but is comfortable enough not to complain. There is a reasonably priced restaurant and cafe that has musical entertainment on weekends and a karyoke bar every night
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Payed and got kicked out two days earlier

Posted May 1, 2017
I booked two reservations one for my father and one for my self. I checked-out early in the morning three days prior to when my dad was due to check-out. The second day after I left found out the old man was kicked out of the room I had already payed for and was charged for two extra days! We tried to dispute the problem but the staff was poorly trained, kept giving us the run around, and the supervisor was very rude with little costumer service skills.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Payed double and got kicked out

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Lots of federalis living in the hotel, makes feel safer after the shooting that went down.
I booked two reservations one for my father and one for my self. I checked-out early in the morning three days prior to when my dad was due to check-out. The second day after I left found out the old man was kicked out of the room I had already payed for and was charged for two extra days! We tried to dispute the problem but the staff was poorly trained, kept giving us the run around, and the supervisor was very rude with little costumer service skills.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Old and Worn

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: Nothing stands out.
Cons: Most important thing to me is the lack of duvet.
Location: Not sure if it's just Downtown Cancun in general, but the neighborhood doesn't feel particularly safe especially at night.
This really is a case of "you get what you pay for". We arrived at night and the short walk to the hotel was a little scary. The hotel is pretty noisy at night, with performances in a nearby park as well as loud people in the hallways at night, and the school kids during the day. The few bottles of lotion etc in a tiny shelf by the sink look older than I am. I think maybe the hotel mistakes flat sheets to duvets? Pillows are lumpy; the flimsy sheet on top of the mattress falls off so easily you end up almost just sleeping on top of the mattress itself. Nonetheless, it was a place to stay for a very cheap price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn NY

Nice location

Posted Mar 31, 2017
The staff is very helpful and friendly. Felt safe because of the police presence 24/7. Need to work on the rooms ex. Pipes in rooms water pressure is low.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

Nice hotel if you are interested in Mayan culture

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: Decoration, bars, activities, atmosphere.
Cons: Hard to say, this place is what it is, not a resort (despite the "spa" name). Pool photos quite a bit nicer than the real thing but in general, clean.
Location: Market, restaurants, Local Stage/Carnival area.
We booked this hotel rather than a beach resort because of the photos on Expedia. I'm very interested in Mayan culture, and was looking for something different than the resorts I've been to. This hotel was very quaint and clean, but it is an extremely worn building and not for those expecting five stars. It does not cater to American or European tourists, but rather inter-Mexico tourists coming to Cancun from inland. Staff barely speaks English, and all the theater shows were in Spanish (as they should be). Just keep this in mind if you are coming from the States. Hotel is right next to a bar and the market, and a main plaza where the local people go to see talent and music. Area is much like a carnival. Many excellent restaurants in the area, including La Habichuela, and even a mideastern one and organic/health breakfast place. All have great atmosphere and very low low prices, so unlike those in the hotel zone. If you take a taxi, take one from the street, not the hotel ones, which charge more. Also, beware this is located next to a police station and you will find local policia with machine guns wandering around the building. This was disconcerting the first night, but soon became commonplace and they greeted us with a friendly Hola. In all, a nice place to go if you know the language. Pretty far from the beach, although taxi rates are reasonable. We did not attempt to take a bus. Also, if you are doing excursions with tourist companies, many will not drop you off here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very nice hotel in downtown Cancun

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: Location, quirkiness of décor, pool
Hotel was in downtown Cancun, close to bus station and (local) eateries including Market 23 and 28 and Parca Palabas. Pool had its own swimming pool and is only a short bus ride from the Hotel Zone with all its beaches.