Ratings based on 1,983 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

the best hotel

Posted Jan 10, 2017
very clean, nice and kind staff, foods are all good!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

Pool over looks ocean.

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Who could ask for more? Lovely hotel, superb staff and wonder food and drink options.The hotel and rooms are spotless although the shower shows it use/age. The staff is always smiling and helpful.Plenty of choices for good food and several full services bars. Don't miss out on the coffee shop. My favorite spot is in the pool that overlooks the ocean right next to the swim up bar. It is a win win!! This was our second stay at the Zilara.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Amazing stay!

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Cons: Maid service/turn down.
Everything about this hotel was truly exceptional - food, rooms, proximity to beach (you can hear the waves at night from your room if you leave the patio door open).This was my 5th time to cancun - by far my favorite hotel resort thus far. Wonderful friendly staff, clean new rooms - everything truly exceptional. The only "complaint" I have about this hotel is that housekeeping was inconsistent. We were never sure if they were coming or when - sometimes they would be ext door when we left for breakfast - we would hang out on the beach or by the pool after to make sure they had ample time to turn the room over but it didn't matter. Sometimes they would come in the morning, sometimes late afternoon. We would stop in the room throughout the day and take naps or relax (we both burn so we would hide out in the peak UV times) but the limiting factor was weather or not housekeeping had made our room up. But everything else was truly exceptional - huge pools, beautiful gym, even a reformer Pilates class 3x/day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Great hotel, but sloped walkways around pool are slippery. Daughter fell and hurt her back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good, we did have a good time

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Ok, we liked almost everything, we had good ttime, but no alcohool on drunks. Deserts no good either. The rest was very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No need to venture elsewhere

Posted Dec 23, 2016
First trip to Cancun and first Hyatt experience. Everything was perfect. Staff exceptional. All desires catered to. Excellent location on the beach and the water (pool and ocean) was great. Loved the personal touches from the staff. They all mean to please and make for a wonderful experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

BEWARE!!! SCAM!!!

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Cons: Not extort and threaten guests.
Each day that I was there I was locked out of my room. When I went to the front desk to inquire about my key not working they told me I had to pay additional charges to get back into my room. Each day I protested and was told I could either agree to pay the additional $100 or leave the resort immediately without my belongings. After the second day this happened I decided enough was enough and packed my bags to leave. I went to the lobby turned in my key and said I was leaving early do to the daily extra charges I had not agreed to. A manager named Hector Zepeda came to the front and said I would have to pay an additional $500 in order to be allowed to leave the resort. I said that was ridiculous and extortion and I would not pay or sign anything else for them. I walked out to the front and Hector came out and said the hotel staff would not let me get a cab unless I paid the additional $500. I said fine then I will walk. Hector then picked up the phone and said they would call the police and have me detained until I paid. I said that was fine because they were holding me against my will and I had already paid expedia for the entire trip in advance. Hector laughed and said that did not matter because the Cancun police always sided with the resort. Just wanting to leave I signed the credit card receipt for an additional $500. Once in the cab, Hector came out again and stopped the cab driver from leaving and said I would have to pay $200 more. BEWARE! STAY AWAY!!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Posted Dec 21, 2016
this hotel was everything that was mention online,great experience there with great food and a spectacular view of the pool and ocean from my balcony!!i would highly rec ommend it and will be returning next year!!great staff also!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Best resort EVER!

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: Gorgeous beach, location, decor, staff, amenities, food and drinks. Our room had full-sized liquor bottles in the "mini" bar.
Cons: Nothing needed improvement.
Location: The resort was so great, we never left other than to visit Tulum, but is convenient to everything the Hotel Zone has to offer.
Top notch, smiling, helpful staff that greeted you with their hand over their heart, excellent facilities and room (which even had a window in the shower through the high headboard so you can see the gorgeous ocean when showering), large resort, but felt cozy, classy decor, beautiful seaside assigned cabanas with curtains, so no waking up at dawn to reserve loungers, top notch drinks, pool bar, restaurants. The extensive Spice buffet was excellent and included steaks to order and fresh prosciutto cut in front of you. 24-hour room service that gets delivered through a small separate door that you can access from inside your room without having to get dressed. Even though the resort was sold out, it never felt crowded at all. We were pampered and spoiled beyond belief and will be returning soon and often.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, food, service, and room...

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Wonderful experience except for the beach which clean, wide and expansive. Main problem was they provide lots of chairs but no umbrellas or pilapas to get out of the sun. Surf was too rough for swimming. Pool is great with ample "covered beds" to escape the sun and relax. Food, service and room were outstanding!