Ratings based on 2,363 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for older crowd

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: Pools and ocean view.
Cons: Bathrooms. Add more nightlife
Location: We barely went out of the hotel
Nice resort, beautiful pool and waterfront. Food was very average. Would've been good to have some kind of parties at night within the resort, as nightlife is not as close. I was also disappointed with the bathrooms. The flush in our room wasn't working properly at some point, and the lounge bathroom was not clean, which is a big negative for me. Overall, good for older people.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Disappointing

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Location, Beach, Pool, Service
Cons: Food quality in general; "Chef's Table" problem needs to be revamped; Lobby and bar ambience and furnishing
The beach is lovely, rooms very good, lobby alas is large but lack of ambience therefore not inviting. Service was generally very good, but housekeeping time was unpredictable, one day the room wasn't cleaned till 4pm even though we were out the whole day. The biggest problem is the food. After reading all the glowing reviews, we were expecting some wonderful meals. We were very disappointed. The restaurants were all great in terms of their ambience but the food ranged from ordinary to bad: Asiana and Maria Maries - food was very ordinary; the asian food was definitely not authentic in terms of flavor, even though the hotel caters to a large population of Asian (Korean) guests. Chef's Table - big disappointment: the Hotel needs to hire a real chef for this and not just present the food from the buffet restaurant on prettier plates and serve them on a fancy table. E.g., "Salmon en pastry" was in reality just smoked salmon from the buffet table wrapped around sour-cream/pine nuts mix without any "pastry"; the soup was bland and reminded us of watered down Campbell soup; Main dish (fish) tasted the same as the fish used in their lunch fish taco; desert was actually coffee flavored whipped cream! After the meal, 5 of the the total 9 guests at the table showed up at the buffet restaurant (without pre-arrangment) to "get some real food"!!! For the price paid, the hotel did not live up to expectations. We've had much better experience in other hotels in this price range.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Room had all new furniture in it but the structure and bathroom was a bit dated. Had a king jr suite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MI

already planning the next trip!

Posted Apr 22, 2017
We had such a great time... the food was awesome and staff was so friendly. Our room was on the seven floor so we had a great view of the ocean. The day time was filled with things to keep you busy. I do wish they had a bigger night life everything pretty much shut down at 10pm but other than that our trip was amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hephzibah,Georgia

Excellent view of the ocean

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: The atmosphere, the cleanliness, the ocean view, the jacuzzi in the room, the people.
Location: Excellent malls close by, only $10 to get a taxi from the hotel, the malls have local shops and some real upscale stores.
Excellent hotel, the staff was always trying to make things easy for you. Evening entertainment @ 9 pm promptly. Margaritas aplenty, pina colida's, and every other kind of beverage U could think of. There R 5 restaurants, a 24 hour game room, with snacks in it. We were celebrating our 42nd anniversary and it was like we just got married again. Ask questions, learn a little Spanish before U go and enjoy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Beautiful beach and pool. Every restaurants are so good. Staffs are very friendly and so kind.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Everyone at this hotel offers top notch service. The entertainment staff was wonderful and made you feel so happy. Each room on the oceanfront side has a Jacuzzi with windows that look right into the ocean. This hotel is impeccably clean..I don't know how they do it because you don't see them cleaning all day, which is nice. The facilities are modern and the ocean is a step away. The oceanfront property is huge, bigger than the rest that I saw. A ton of activities are offered.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Columbus, OH

Well maintained property with a gracious staff.

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Staff, bar, room proximity to beach
Cons: Food, both variety and quality. More chairs by pool
Location: Shopping and dining are very close, should you choose to venture off property
Plenty lo like about the Hyatt Zilara, however, I would think a hotel of this caliber would have better and more food choices. They really rely heavily on their buffet restaurant, which is great, but we are really buffet fans. The bar on the other hand is one of the few all-inclusive that provides call and some top shelf licqor. The staff is cheery and accommodating and naturally, tipping helps. Gladly, they aren't too pushy when it comes to trying to sell you their "vacation club"-read pre-paid discount. Overall we enjoyed our stay here. We are debating the pros and cons to determine if we will return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Very nice hotel.

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Hotel is very clean.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Mall and club is very near by hotel.
Hotel is very clean and staff is so friendly. Room service is also superb. Hotel has great beach view. They clean beach daily.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Beautiful Hotel! Friendly Staff, no place to sit

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: I loved the shows at night. I also loved how friendly and helpful the staff was.
Cons: By far the biggest thing that needs improving is more seating by the pool. Not just cabanas, but lounge chairs to lay out in.
Location: We really had no reason to leave the resort, but there are bars and restaurants across the street as well as a shopping mall close by.
The hotel itself was beautiful. The food was great and the staff made us truly feel welcomed! The rooms were very clean and the housekeeping staff was very efficient! The shows in the lobby each night were a lot of fun and the drinks were excellent. My only complaint was the lack of seating by the pool. For a hotel with over 300 rooms they literally had maybe 15-20 chairs to sit on by the pool. I'm not joking. It was stressful each morning to have to wake up early and reserve a chair. Even the chairs they did have were old or broken. They do have a lot of cabanas by the pool, but you cannot really get any sun sitting in them.That's really the only complaint I have about the resort. Otherwise everything else was great.