Ratings based on 2,344 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from p

Good location but rooms are outdated

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Great location of hotel close to restaurants, nightlife and shopping center. Best of all its on the beach!! However the rooms are poorly maintained. The bathtub clogs, shower is horrible it sprays everywhere), toilet leaks and we couldn't even open the balcony door. other than that, customer service in hotel is good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from philadelphia

Close to nightlife and beach front property

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Trip was amazing, the strip is walking distance where you will Find all the clubs and restaurants. The strip also had its own bus which is 50 cent to ride. Hotel is currently doing construction which was annoying when trying to relax and the food was as great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Columbus, OH

Excellent hotel staff ready to help

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: The people. The food was above average for a destination hotel - pleasantly surprised.
Cons: The check-in process was a bit disorganized.
Location: The hotel is close to a major shopping center that has a Prada, Gucci, and Tiffanys. Excursions pick up from the hotel lobby, and the beach in back.
I travel a fair amount and have gold status through Expedia. The hotel seems to recognize this and offers a series of benefits for Expedia+ travelers. They have a "local Expedia" person in the basement level of the hotel to help with local issues from excursions to taxi rides, and the pricing seemed competitive. While there are misfires with anything in life, it is often how they are handled which dictates the feelings we have walking away from it. With this hotel, I felt the way the little things were handled were top notch. I would return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston, tx

NICE HOTEL CLOSE TO THE BEACH

Posted Jan 16, 2017
This hotel is the excellent place, it is right on the beach. Verything is so wonderful except the restaurant in the hotel is kind of expensive i understand that but i dont like the way the waiter there ask for tip. If you are the first time in cancun i recommend you walk around and look for the OXXO store everything in there is cheap and you could save more money for your trip. Inside the hotel under the basement floor had the branch of expedia, it sell the ticket for all actives around cancun it is cheaper when you buy there than the Internet price. In some place at cacun they will ask you for pesos so i recommend exchange some money at the airport when you arrive dont make the exchange in the hotel you will only get 84% of your money back. And everything sell on the street make a bargain with them dont buy it with the price they tell you it is always 4_6 time higher the real price of it. Good luck and have a fun save trip
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Natick MA

Hotel directly on nice beach,

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: location beach
Really enjoyed our stay, beach was great, far more beach than neighboring hotels, perhaps due to man made breaker extending into the water. Area close to breaker had smaller waves. Short walk to bars, shows. shopping, restaurants. Did not do all inclusive, but spent 30 per day for altitude club, which was great. Top 3 floors of hotel, extensive continental breakfast, and 5-7 happy hour with food. You could skip dinner if you wanted. When checking in we were asked if we wanted a drink, and then were given drinks to take to our room , with balcony and chairs overlooking beach. Signed up for semi private shuttle from airport on expedia, representative was waiting with a sign with my name. Only people on van, return trip right on time, again only ones on van.Expedia rep in hotel, stay away from any tours by GoMexico, poor experience on day trip to Tulum, others complaining as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from A

Honeymoon Bliss!

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Altitude guest! Suzanna and Jose were AWESOME!! They were very helpful whenever needed and we were sad to hear that our week staying was Suzannas last days! They have definitely lost a GEM! Happy hour was always on point and breakfast was ok! I wish there was a bigger selection of savory dishes! Valet was great, respectful, and helpful whenever we needed directions! The entire resort is beautiful, well equipped, and simply AMAZING!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Birthday

Posted Jan 14, 2017
The hotel was really nice and close by everything. I would recommend this hotel.the device was excellent,and the beach very nice. I would definitely go back to the Krystal grand punta hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sewer smell

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Hotel is circular, open foyer up to 14th floor. Sewer smell is pervasive in interior, but not in rooms. Nightly live music also travels thruought central area. Enjoyed The Grill, & wait staff. Visited at a very windy time - wind magnified by location on the point. One plus is artificial jetty that creates nice beach & lagoon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Great location

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Pros: All the rooms have a view. The linens and towels were always clean and fresh.
Cons: Use a plumber snake to dislodge/unclog the tub drain to fix drain issue. Change the filters on the air conditioning system to address the musty oder.
Location: It's close to all the clubs and restaurants. The super mercado is close as well. All is within walking distance.
The staff are super hospitable. They always strive to make sure you are having a pleasant time and that you are satisfied. They try their best to address and resolve any issues that may pop up. We had breakfast included as part of our package. It was decent. The stay was peaceful and relaxing. The beaches are kept clean. The "Palapas" are awesome and the beach bar grill food is really tasty. I would have given an overall rating of 4 but I cannot due to the room smelling musty. Turning the AC off and opening up the balcony door to air out the room got rid of the oder. We kept the balcony door open all the time when we were in the room. And, the most important reason for a low rating is because the tub did not drain properly during a shower. The tub would always back up to your ankles. The staff plunged it to get it to drain but that did not resolve it. On the last day we showered, the tub drain actually backed up some sewage (muy feo). Totally gross and completely unsanitary. Would I try this hotel again? Yes, I would give them another chance to have them redeem themselves on their maintenance issues. Of course before settling in, 1)if room smells musty, then request another room and 2)if the tub doesn't drain correctly, then request another room. And if it comes down to having request another room on a 2nd visit, then the redemption failed and I definitely would not give them a try for a 3rd attempt.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Dirty sheets and lobby staff was horrible. The room service and cleaners were good.