Ratings based on 3,672 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Romantic and relaxing

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Escaped the cold and teenagers. Excellent resort to relax and get pampered and spoiled.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles/Australia

excellent experience its our second stay.

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: beach the pool food cleanliness its a wow factor
Location: shopping across the st.
lovely and enjoyable vacation/Resort. planing to go again after four months were still talking about place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Loved it, Great Facility!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Beautiful beach, good food and drinks

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: They had a couple nights with live music both at the pool and by the beach, and that was really fun. Especially "Havana Nights" on the beach :)
Cons: They could improve upon overall service (more waitstaff in restaurants, bars, and poolside). The casino night was ok, but was in too small a venue.
I am a seasoned traveler and have also stayed at numerous AI resorts all over mexico. Live Aqua ranks near the top, but not the best. (Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit and the Excellence in Puerto Morelos both beat out Live Aqua). That said, there's a lot that I liked about this resort. The food was good - especially MB and the asian restaurant. The Italian was just ok. The buffets were good, but not great. At minimum on the lunch and dinner buffet, there should be some fresh fish options. The drinks were very good, but tended to be best when you ordered in person at the bar vs. ordering from the waitstaff poolside. The beach is beautiful, though a little challenging to walk on as much of it is sloped. A feature of their pool that I liked was that much of it is one a few inches deep-so it's perfect for just cooling off, laying or sitting in, but still soaking in the rays without being fully submerged. The beach VB court was one of the nicest I've played on as well. The rooms are a touch on the small side compared with other resorts I've stayed at, but they were totally adequate. The staff were very friendly and the service was fine. Again, nothing super special, but nothing to really complain about.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Great beach and very nice staff.

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Great staff and beach.
Cons: Start cleaning the rooms later than 0900 especially with all the furniture moves in every room that are very loud.
Location: Very close to the mall.
This resort would probably be best for people that want to stay a little bit there and do a lot off site in Cancun. Recommend Azul restaurant, it was by far the best. Stay away from hidden garden very bland. Don't advertise a sparts bar that has one tv not tuned to the NFC championship game and then be surprised when everyone is watching in rooms and ordering room service. I wouldn't have minded waiting a while for my burger but it was either not cooked enough or there was cross contamination because I got the worst food poisoning of my life.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saint Paul, MN

Seven Days of Heaven

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Can't think of anything.
February 18, 2017 My friend and I just returned from a 7-day vacation from heaven at Live Aqua Cancun, an adults-only all-inclusive resort. This is the third time we’ve stayed at the resort and there will definitely be more visits in the future! We booked through Expedia and had a flawless trip, including on-time non-stop flights from Minneapolis to Cancun and shuttles to/from the resort. Our room was wonderful! There are so many things we love about Live Aqua Cancun. Here are just a few. • The staff are the friendliest we have ever encountered anywhere while traveling. They were happy to help us practice our Spanish and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Equally important, they genuinely seemed to enjoy working with each other there and acted more like siblings than coworkers. Live Aqua was apparently voted the best resort for work for and we could see why. One staff member told us they all felt empowered to make the customer’s experience the best. They really made us feel welcome. Lots of smiles all around. • You can literally spend all day at any of the seven pools and not have to go anywhere else to eat or drink. Pool service was excellent; we never had to wait for drinks. They have a delicious buffet near the pool for lunch every day, including a wide assortment of fresh vegetables and fruits, several different salsas, rice, potatoes and grilled chicken, sausages and pork ribs. Our mesero, Roosevelt, was a joy to talk to every day. • There are so m
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Great Vacation

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Live Aqua was a 4-5 star hotel leaning towards the 5 star experience! Hotel staff very attentive to the needs of the guest and venue. Hotel was awesome and well maintained!! Will return again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo Mn

Second time at Live Aqua.

Posted Feb 19, 2017
We have been at Live Aqua 2 years in a row. This time we had some friends come with us. Their fist time in Cancun and Live Aqua. Everything we excellent. Planning our next trip. Food variety was great. Outside BBQ was the best. Could have eaten it even day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by Alfredo Santamaria, General Manager , Hotel Management
We appreciate your loyalty, for choosing us twice already and trusting us with your vacations. I am delighted to know that your experience was excellent, and that you are planning on returning for a third time. I look forward to your return, we will be delighted to make it even more special than the last. Alfredo Santamaria, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mokena, Illinois

AMAZING RESORT

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Highly recommend this all inclusive resort! The cleanliness, service/staff and food are all amazing! Wonderful people!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 18, 2017
overall, had a very enjoyable time, expectations were met all around, no previous reviews have misled any reader, loved everything about the hotel, staff, food and beverages, been to cancun many many times, but this was by far the best experience, location is great, in proximity to the mall. can not wait to return to this property, shout out to paola for excellent pool side services and the guys manning the bbq in the extreme heat from noon to 4.