Ratings based on 569 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Interesting hotel with great beach

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Cons: Some toilet problems.
Spent three nights here. Very friendly and helpful staff. If in a room with a balcony, either the view of the ocean or of the Nichupte Lagoon are nice. Pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SK, Canada

Character hotel

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Pros: We loved the location, the staff, the atmosphere and the beauty of Mia Cancun.
Mia Cancun is a small, quaint, hacienda-style hotel nestled amongst large, impersonal resorts in the hotel zone of Cancun. It is an old hotel. There are no elevators. Some of the marble is chipped. Don't let first impressions retract from the charm and beauty you will come to find here. The service is exceptional. Henry, Juan Carlos, Marten, Sergio--everyone there is warm, friendly, and helpful. The maid service was amazing. Our room was massive with a balcony on both the marina and the ocean side of the hotel. The sound of the waves pounding on the shore lulled us to sleep every night and the sunrises every morning were breathtaking! Our lifeguard was highly skilled and extremely attentive to our needs. Within minutes of arriving on the beach he would appear with an umbrella for our comfort. Breakfast which is included in your stay was delicious. Next door is Tacum-serving the most delicious Mexican food in all of Cancun! Across the street is an Extra where you can pick up a few groceries, an ATM, Outback Steakhouse, Bubba Gump restaurant. A short walk away is a large plaza with high-end retail outlets and multiple restaurants and the interactive aquarium. A short bus ride is the Museo Maya-well worth a couple of hours on a rainy day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ciudad de México

Hotel familiar con excelente playa

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: Lo mejor es la ubicación y la playa.
Cons: Las instalaciones, sobre todo la plomería.
Location: Es una construcción antigua con espacios amplios y pocas habitaciones. Ideal para disfrutar de la playa. Cercano a la plaza Kukulcan y La Isla.
Es un hotel con instalaciones viejas, sin elevador, sin pretensiones. El personal es amable y resuelve sus carencias siempre y cuando se las hagas notar.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very old hotel

Posted Jan 21, 2016
very old hotel,, nice staff poor breadfast buffet,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from copenhagen

Dejligt, autentisk og tæt på stranden

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Skønt hotel med et dejligt personale. Vi nødt vores dage her! Morgenmaden er rigtig fin
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San José Costa Rica

Excelente vista al mar y playa de Cancun

Posted Jan 11, 2016
Pros: La vista al mar. Buen desayuno y el lugar donde lo brindan es fantastico
Cons: Aire acondicionado de la habitación es urgente. Marketing del hotel, dado que en nuestro caso muchas empresas de transporte lo confundían con otro.
Location: Excelente para caminar por la playa. Cerca del centro de la ciudad. De Centros comerciales.
El hotel es viejo y con poca inversión en mantenimiento. Pese a ello cuenta con un balcón espectacular para ver el mar, la playa y a la gente y parte de la ciudad de Quinta Roo.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Old hotel close to the beach needs renovations

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: From the lobby you can exit directly to the beach.
Cons: Hotel need renovations and overhaul. Linens and towels should be replaced. Personal should be disciplined. Install ice dispenser.
Location: Location is OK. Pharmacy, convenient store, souvenir mall.
Hotel need renovations and overhaul. Everything seems to be broken. Doors barely closed and open. Beds and other furniture should be replaced. Towels are very old. Beach towels are good only for use in the garage. Breakfast was the same every day. No vending machine, No ice dispenser, no refrigerator. No English channels on TV at all. I.E. No News for a week. Internet in the lobby only. Driveway is too steep. So Airport Shuttle minivan cannot get to the hotel entrance but rather drop you on the road and you have to pull your bags up to the hotel. All the time you stay you have to wear plastic wrist ring (which is irritating by the way) for identification. This hotel has only 26 rooms. I think that personal can remember their clients in a day or two and not torture them for a week with these rings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Golden, CO

Awesome value

Posted Dec 27, 2015
Pros: Quiet, with few rooms. Beach side is amazing. Staff is wonderful. Hotel has a classic authenticity about it. Great rooms and private balconies.
Cons: The food could be improved upon. Mattress was uncomfortable and could be replaced.
Location: Located on a beautiful stretch of beach. There is a mall with shopping and movie theater within walking distance. Lots of restaurants nearby.
Request a room that is ocean side. They all come with private balconies. It's also worth getting a room upgrade. The staff is very friendly and knowledgable. This was a wonderful stay, we will be back. Downsides: hard bed, food is only okay, and there are lots of stairs.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from z

Avoid this hotel no matter what

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Horrible at all, you will find a lie at pictures post in here, those pictures you will never find when you arrive. Room is dirty, old and so not pleasent that you will run at first sight. Towels are dirty, glasses broken, bed as a rock, no service at pool or at beach. The only thing good and need to mention is the staff, and is a pity that my review may affect their job, but all this nice people working there must find a place that will value them. Really do not try staying in this hotel, you will laugh and regret it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, Fl

Small Spanish vintage hotel

Posted Nov 29, 2015
I had a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom with kitchen, dining room huge balcony ocean front room. The view was unbelievable. Pros: Very clean, big room, wonderful staff! Breakfast was delicious and mexican traditional and service was amazing! If you are foreigner that does not know about Mexican cousin breakfast may seem weird but do yourself a favor a try everything and you will be amazed. Price was execellent and there is a killer restaurant right next door that you must try! Felt safe and welcome. Juan Carlos was the best! He made sure we knew were to go and what to do as well as made sure we felt pleased on our stay. BEST of all by staying in Mia Cancun you have full access to Mia Isla Mujeres with free kayas, snorkeling and use of gorgeous upgrades facilities! Cons: old and needs repairs which they are trying to do. Curtain were ripped, locker of safe was broken and jacuzzi in balcony did not work. Some towels were ripped too. The bar by the pool was out of service but they were working on it. There is no air conditioning in the lobby but it didn't need it when I went. At the beginning I wanted to move when I saw the cons of the hotel but I'm glad I didn't. I would go back to this hotel but do hope they repair the cons. If they do, this hotel would be amazing!