Ratings based on 614 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The best spot on the island

Posted Aug 28, 2015
The location of the Mia Reef is by far the best spot on Isla Mujeres. The views all around is very beautiful. This place is very quiet and peaceful and does not have that party atmosphere like in Cancun so if you're looking to relax, this is it. There is only one restaurant and the food pretty good. Service is OK. The staff is friendly but not very attentive so you will have to ask them if you need something. The place is under renovation so it's not 100% yet but when its done, it going to be awesome. There is a security guard at the entrance of the bridge leading to the hotel resort so outsiders cannot come in - it was nice not to be bother by locals trying to sell you their crafts or service. We stay from Aug 17 to Aug 23 on the 8th floor in one of the newly renovated rooms. It was cool art decor and clean but not so practical. The glass shower room does not have a door so water splashes out on the floor of the main bathroom area. There were no shelf's to hold the soap or shampoo bottles in the shower stall or sink counter. They don't provide hair driers so bring you own. We had a great little balcony that look out into the ocean. Going into town by foot is only a 10-15min walk or you can rent a golf cart from them for travelling all around the island for $20/hr or 55 for the day. If you are looking for high luxury and decadence this is not the place but if you are looking for a really nice place to relaxed and enjoy nature, come here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from columbus ohio

Nice close to beach

Posted Aug 25, 2015
My experience at Mia reef was okay my second day house keeper stole my money it was theirs money $100.pessole but I didn't reported it overall I like the place cuz out there away from all the party animals.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

It is an OK hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2015
The hotel is in remodel, we just used the room to sleep, so when we back to the room every single night we have to back to the lobby to reactivated our keys, because they never work
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pa

Most beautiful location in Mexico

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Hotel is in the middle of renovations. When it's finished it will be a world class resort destination. Right now it's 70% of the way there. Do not stay in the villas...they haven't been updated in many years. Stay in the beautiful tower rooms. They have just been gutted and refinished. Only one restaurant right now, but the grand reopening is set for mid October. All bars and restaurants should be open by then. amazing snorkeling- bring your own gear. Amazing ocean, no seaweed. You can walk for a mile in crystal clear waist deep ocean, it's truly amazing, if you can over look some construction for the next 2 months, the prices reflect the ongoing renovations! We have been here 4 times, and will book again for winter.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cental Jersey

Better than I expected....

Posted Aug 22, 2015
My main complaint was I felt it was Expedia responsibility to inform me that this hotel was under construction I probably wouldn't have stayed here but I overall had a really nice time staff, location, food and service was good...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montevideo, Uruguay

The best vacation ever

Posted Aug 19, 2015
The hotel is located in the best part of Isla Mujeres. Due to the location the Hotel is really secure and it is also located in the middle of the reef. The staff is friendly and really profesional. The hotel has been recentley renovated with a really nice decoration. The rooms have an incredible view. The food is really good and you have different options everyday.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel and beach, passable food.

Posted Aug 18, 2015
The Mia has been dragged through the mud by a lot of reviews. My families experience was way better. The snorkling, beach, service, drinks, room, location, pool and relaxation were world class and at a deep discount. The construction was minimally invasive and the hotel was safe enough for my wife and I to relax with very young children. The 1 restaurant buffet... was not my cup of tea at all. My kids and wife tolerated it and I ate breads, pastries and fruit and nachos... There are many better dinning options cheap on the island. On the positive side for the bar, beach service (Jaime!) and easy breakfast mia well worth the price we paid. There may not be a better hotel in the world for snorkling with little ones, and for this alone we will return for sure.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Nice & Private Hotel

Posted Aug 15, 2015
good location. hotel staff is friendly & helpful. hotel has a nice beach, pool, and outside seating area. Internet was awful. lobby & dining area was very hot! but they were in the process of installing ac units. the hotel was under going a lot of renovation during our stay but didn't effect our comfort. room was spacious & cool. shower wasn't built very well so water was everywhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bloomington,ca

Good location,to the beach and shops.

Posted Aug 13, 2015
It's a nice place if you want to stay away from the crowd,very private for families and couples.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Because of renovation....

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: Food and drinks.
Cons: They should put shower curtains in a bathroom.
The location, view, food and people were really nice. I would love to come back again but my first 2 nights' room weren't what I booked and that made me a bit unhappy. I booked a standard twin but it was a full size bed room ( they said a King but definitely smaller than Queen ), we eventually got a twin room but it's basically a lot of things weren't ready at this point due to renovation. No security box, no hair dryer in a room, no hungers in closet. I didn't like no shower curtain in a bath room...but I guess it's just a design like this....this makes a bathroom all wet. BUT overall, very beautiful island, great food, nice people, I would love to come back again.