Ratings based on 2,836 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2017
My family and I truly enjoyed this resort. I highly recommend it. The staff was very attentive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by Moon Palace Cancun, Hotel Management
Your recommendation is much appreciated, thank you so much for express your thoughts about us. It will be a pleasure to look forward your visit soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

The facilities, staff were great!

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Moon palace hotel has defiantly exceeded my standards. Every facilities were so clean and smelled great! Hotel staff went out there way to make us enjoy our stay! They were always so informed and helpful. All of our request were taken care of right away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by Moon Palace Cancun, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for sharing your comments with all of us, we are very happy to know that I fully enjoy your holiday, it will be a pleasure to be at your finest orders very soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Stayed at the Grand

Posted Jun 25, 2017
We stayed at the Grand and spent most of the time at the Sunrise. The bad: The food at the specialty restaurants not good at all, at the main buffet at the Grand the waiters seemed to be lack of experience(ie. Every time I sat down asked for ketchup or o.j. it took them over 10 minutes to bring it back sometimes they forgot). The grand is a huge hotel and the transfer to and from the rooms is bad one time you I waited 30min . You can't use the hotel credits for almost anything, Beware of membership (same as a time share). The good: If you have kids this is the hotel to go to since they have a lot for the kids (if you don't stay at the Grand it may cost you extra) . The rooms are very nice. If you go to the Sunrise go see Esteban the bar attendant by the wave rider, he is the best. I would go back to the moon palace but next time I 'll stay at the Sunrise and use the hotel credits to go to the Grand water park.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by Moon Palace Cancun, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your comments and feedback about the areas that we need to improve our services. Undoubtedly, enjoying our all-inclusive resorts in Cancun will always make you live an extraordinary experience full of unparalleled moments that you will always remember. We will be anxious to wait for your visit very soon, to make again of your visit a memory that you will never forget.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Disappointed

Posted Jun 22, 2017
Our family of 5 were really excited about our stay at the Grand. We were given VIP black bands at checkin and given a hasty "orientation". However, nothing about our stay was "VIP" as we waited in long lines for dinner (waited over an hour one night because the hostess "forgot" about us), walked everywhere because no golf carts were available or didnt go to where we wanted to go, pools were crowded so no chaise lounges/umbrellas were available. The staff really tried their best (sometimes, not always) but this hotel fell short in my opinion in all aspects for customer service. If you have low expectations then you'll have fun here but I expected more from a 4 diamond AAA resort. We'll stay somewhere else next time...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2017 by Moon Palace Team, Hotel Management
We want to thank you for sharing your comments about your recent visit with us, it is very important to listen to each and every one of the opinions of valuable guests like you, as this will achieve the levels of excellence that we are willing to meet. It will be our pleasure to give you the most cordial welcome to any of our destinations in Cancun or if you allow us to at Moon Palace Cancun, to show our improvements. It will be a pleasure!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Beautiful and luxury hotel

Posted Jun 10, 2017
Pros: Staff, Cleanliness, Luxury, Shows, breakfast, environment
Cons: Healthier food, Medical Center, number of showers at the beach
Location: It is pretty close to airport and Chichen Itza as well.
We were 3 people family stayed at Sunrise Lobby for 5 nights. We loved staff. food was OK, sometimes they were so salty and fatty. Break fast was good. Beach was clean and relaxing but we couldn't swim in the water because of see plants. Unfortunately we had used medical services which was good but doesn't look enough for the population. We didn't like the food provided for room services. it wasn't fresh. Mattresses were not standard. They weren't comfortable at all which caused backache. Room was clean. there were few blood stain on bed sheet which everything were changed and replaced quickly. Do not forget to purchase private travel insurance. it is vital. We liked the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2017 by Moon Palace Team, Hotel Management
We would like to thank you for express your positive comments with us, we value your feedback and kindness for us. We are looking forward your visit again. Cordially, Moon Palace Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent resort. Family friendly. Great rooms

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Staff was very helpful. Celebrated our anniversary and they treated us like royalty. Several unasked for upgrades and service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2017 by Moon Palace Cancun, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for choosing Moon Palace Cancun and sharing your kind comments with us, we truly appreciate it. We keep improving everyday, always looking forward to surpass all of your expectations. We hope to see you around once again soon. Best regards, Moon Palace Cancun
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Nice complete facility

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: Everything you could think of has been planned for and programmed into your stay
Cons: Customer service, things shouldn't be so complicated. Staff should be less arrogant and at least acknowledge when a request is made.
Location: It's Cancun so its beaches, bars, and nightlife
This is probably the best facility in terms of anticipating your every need. Everything has been provided and It runs like clockwork, it must be German engineered. It is one resort where I can truly say I might be able to spend two weeks. Although its beach front was quite short and the ocean was not really being used something to do with seaweeds or rocks. It also gave you room credits which were a cash value to spend on things. BE careful because you have to pay 15% cash and the prices they charge are so high that your out of pocket tax is almost the same as the regular price of the item you are purchasing. It makes it seem like a scheme to get you to spend your cash on the resort. The one thing I felt it lacked was a visible commitment to customer service by the employees. There were long faces when you made requests, staff and managers were inflexible, made simple requests more difficult than they needed to be, were arrogant and deliberately ignored requests for service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 10, 2017 by Moon Palace Team, Hotel Management
We would like to thank you for taking your valuable the time to share you experience at Moon Palace Cancun, we always look forward on create excellent experiences and memorable moment, nevertheless after read your feedback we are truly sorry to know that your recent experience did not fully live up to your expectations. I would like to offer you my assistance next time you consider our property as your final destination and let us show our improvements and how can we exceed the standards of excellence. It will be a pleasure! With kind regards, Moon Palace Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chattanooga, TN

Moon Palace Review

Posted May 29, 2017
Pros: The amazing staff and the attention they pay to each guest.
Cons: The insistence on doing the 90 minute tour even after you have told them no. There should also be a separate smoking section at the pool.
Location: We never left the property. Chichen Itza was almost 3 hours away and the other excursions were mainly water related, which I do not participate in.
The overall experience was pleasant. There were a couple of disappointments during the trip. First, I didn't realize there were 3 different Moon Palace resorts in one. I wanted to stay in Sunrise which is here most of the pictures on the website is from but we got put in Nizuc, which looks more like a mall in the entrance than a nice hotel. Sunrise is amazing but we only got to see it because we ate there one night. The other resort is the Grand, which is for members only. So if you are wanting to eat at any of the restaurants at the Grand, you will want to check to make sure you can. We mainly ate at Nizuc just because we didn't want to deal with going from resort to resort. The staff, including the entertainment staff, was absolutely amazing!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by Moon Palace Cancun, Hotel Management
Dear Denise, Thank you for your preference in Palace Resorts. We would like to thank you as well for taking the time in sharing with us your very kind description of our services. Please allow us to mention that we have available this information in our main website, we also have our brand new Palace Resorts app in which you will be finding very useful information. Please be sure that we are at your complete service for any inquiry that you may have, even prior your arrival. One of our main goals is to create an outstanding vacation experience and we appreciate your feedback as it is of extreme importance. Thank you in advance and we remain at your service. Cordially, Carlos Cañedo Moon Palace Cancun
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Was okay. Would not go back.

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: the food was ok
Location: Nothing. It's hard to get off the resort. Takes forever.
Had ants. They sprayed. It wasn't good enough because they were everywhere. When we checked in the front desk girl was rude and not helpful. The hotel took an extra night off my card and did not refund as of yet. Still waiting. The resort is too big. Have to take a bus to get to the other side. The main pool is just some annoying girl on the mic all day yelling at people. We had 1500 people there wanting to party and they would not play any music. Definitely would not go back to this resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017 by Moon Palace Cancun, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your preference and for your feedback. We sincerely regret to read the inconvenience hat you are mentioning. Regarding your concern regarding ants we would like to inform you that we have a routine pest control program in place, which is governed by strict regulations that are set forth the Health & Sanitation authorities in Mexico and we are in compliance with them. We would like to apologize for the attitude you perceived from a member of our Front Desk towards you. Palace Resorts does not condone any kind of attitude and our personnel are not trained in such a manner. You can rest assured that we will take the necessary steps to ensure that this situation will not be a repeat occurrence. We sincerely appreciate that you have taken the time to bring this matter to our attention and you may rest assured that this will be shared with the departments involved as we are always improving our standards. Cordially, Carlos Cañedo Moon Palace Cancun
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Terrible beach! Confused staff!!!

Posted May 18, 2017
Biggest issue was the staff did not properly stored my breast milk. They kept it in the refrigerator instead of freezer!!!! Destroying my 8 day milk supply!!! Room service vs Public relations staff was providing missing information. They both should know the hotel policy.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Moon Palace Cancun, Hotel Management
Dear Daniela, First and foremost we would like to thank you for taking the time in sharing your comments. Please be sure that your feedback is of extreme importance to us. Please allow us to mention that according to the internal reports throughout your visit, as soon as we received your request about keeping in the freezer your breast milk supply, our Public Relations staff provided assistance in storing the supply and they provided the instruction that every time you need it you were be able to approach to their desktops or dialing number zero directly from your room. We were looking through the reports in order to check if they received a notification that the milk was not stored properly, nevertheless we did not find any. We sincerely regret to read the comments and we would like to apologize for any inconvenience that this situation may have caused. We sincerely appreciate that you have taken the time to bring this matter to our attention and you may rest assured that this will be shared with the departments involved as we are always improving our standards. We sincerely hope that you will return to Mexico many more times in the future and once again giving us the opportunity to host you at one of our many Palace Resorts. Cordially, Carlos Cañedo Moon Palace Cancun