Ratings based on 2,831 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Disappointed

Posted Jun 22, 2017
Our family of 5 were really excited about our stay at the Grand. We were given VIP black bands at checkin and given a hasty "orientation". However, nothing about our stay was "VIP" as we waited in long lines for dinner (waited over an hour one night because the hostess "forgot" about us), walked everywhere because no golf carts were available or didnt go to where we wanted to go, pools were crowded so no chaise lounges/umbrellas were available. The staff really tried their best (sometimes, not always) but this hotel fell short in my opinion in all aspects for customer service. If you have low expectations then you'll have fun here but I expected more from a 4 diamond AAA resort. We'll stay somewhere else next time...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Beautiful and luxury hotel

Posted Jun 10, 2017
Pros: Staff, Cleanliness, Luxury, Shows, breakfast, environment
Cons: Healthier food, Medical Center, number of showers at the beach
Location: It is pretty close to airport and Chichen Itza as well.
We were 3 people family stayed at Sunrise Lobby for 5 nights. We loved staff. food was OK, sometimes they were so salty and fatty. Break fast was good. Beach was clean and relaxing but we couldn't swim in the water because of see plants. Unfortunately we had used medical services which was good but doesn't look enough for the population. We didn't like the food provided for room services. it wasn't fresh. Mattresses were not standard. They weren't comfortable at all which caused backache. Room was clean. there were few blood stain on bed sheet which everything were changed and replaced quickly. Do not forget to purchase private travel insurance. it is vital. We liked the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent resort. Family friendly. Great rooms

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Staff was very helpful. Celebrated our anniversary and they treated us like royalty. Several unasked for upgrades and service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2017 by Moon Palace Cancun, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for choosing Moon Palace Cancun and sharing your kind comments with us, we truly appreciate it. We keep improving everyday, always looking forward to surpass all of your expectations. We hope to see you around once again soon. Best regards, Moon Palace Cancun
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Nice complete facility

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: Everything you could think of has been planned for and programmed into your stay
Cons: Customer service, things shouldn't be so complicated. Staff should be less arrogant and at least acknowledge when a request is made.
Location: It's Cancun so its beaches, bars, and nightlife
This is probably the best facility in terms of anticipating your every need. Everything has been provided and It runs like clockwork, it must be German engineered. It is one resort where I can truly say I might be able to spend two weeks. Although its beach front was quite short and the ocean was not really being used something to do with seaweeds or rocks. It also gave you room credits which were a cash value to spend on things. BE careful because you have to pay 15% cash and the prices they charge are so high that your out of pocket tax is almost the same as the regular price of the item you are purchasing. It makes it seem like a scheme to get you to spend your cash on the resort. The one thing I felt it lacked was a visible commitment to customer service by the employees. There were long faces when you made requests, staff and managers were inflexible, made simple requests more difficult than they needed to be, were arrogant and deliberately ignored requests for service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 10, 2017 by Moon Palace Team, Hotel Management
We would like to thank you for taking your valuable the time to share you experience at Moon Palace Cancun, we always look forward on create excellent experiences and memorable moment, nevertheless after read your feedback we are truly sorry to know that your recent experience did not fully live up to your expectations. I would like to offer you my assistance next time you consider our property as your final destination and let us show our improvements and how can we exceed the standards of excellence. It will be a pleasure! With kind regards, Moon Palace Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chattanooga, TN

Moon Palace Review

Posted May 29, 2017
Pros: The amazing staff and the attention they pay to each guest.
Cons: The insistence on doing the 90 minute tour even after you have told them no. There should also be a separate smoking section at the pool.
Location: We never left the property. Chichen Itza was almost 3 hours away and the other excursions were mainly water related, which I do not participate in.
The overall experience was pleasant. There were a couple of disappointments during the trip. First, I didn't realize there were 3 different Moon Palace resorts in one. I wanted to stay in Sunrise which is here most of the pictures on the website is from but we got put in Nizuc, which looks more like a mall in the entrance than a nice hotel. Sunrise is amazing but we only got to see it because we ate there one night. The other resort is the Grand, which is for members only. So if you are wanting to eat at any of the restaurants at the Grand, you will want to check to make sure you can. We mainly ate at Nizuc just because we didn't want to deal with going from resort to resort. The staff, including the entertainment staff, was absolutely amazing!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by Moon Palace Cancun, Hotel Management
Dear Denise, Thank you for your preference in Palace Resorts. We would like to thank you as well for taking the time in sharing with us your very kind description of our services. Please allow us to mention that we have available this information in our main website, we also have our brand new Palace Resorts app in which you will be finding very useful information. Please be sure that we are at your complete service for any inquiry that you may have, even prior your arrival. One of our main goals is to create an outstanding vacation experience and we appreciate your feedback as it is of extreme importance. Thank you in advance and we remain at your service. Cordially, Carlos Cañedo Moon Palace Cancun
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Was okay. Would not go back.

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: the food was ok
Location: Nothing. It's hard to get off the resort. Takes forever.
Had ants. They sprayed. It wasn't good enough because they were everywhere. When we checked in the front desk girl was rude and not helpful. The hotel took an extra night off my card and did not refund as of yet. Still waiting. The resort is too big. Have to take a bus to get to the other side. The main pool is just some annoying girl on the mic all day yelling at people. We had 1500 people there wanting to party and they would not play any music. Definitely would not go back to this resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017 by Moon Palace Cancun, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your preference and for your feedback. We sincerely regret to read the inconvenience hat you are mentioning. Regarding your concern regarding ants we would like to inform you that we have a routine pest control program in place, which is governed by strict regulations that are set forth the Health & Sanitation authorities in Mexico and we are in compliance with them. We would like to apologize for the attitude you perceived from a member of our Front Desk towards you. Palace Resorts does not condone any kind of attitude and our personnel are not trained in such a manner. You can rest assured that we will take the necessary steps to ensure that this situation will not be a repeat occurrence. We sincerely appreciate that you have taken the time to bring this matter to our attention and you may rest assured that this will be shared with the departments involved as we are always improving our standards. Cordially, Carlos Cañedo Moon Palace Cancun
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Terrible beach! Confused staff!!!

Posted May 18, 2017
Biggest issue was the staff did not properly stored my breast milk. They kept it in the refrigerator instead of freezer!!!! Destroying my 8 day milk supply!!! Room service vs Public relations staff was providing missing information. They both should know the hotel policy.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Moon Palace Cancun, Hotel Management
Dear Daniela, First and foremost we would like to thank you for taking the time in sharing your comments. Please be sure that your feedback is of extreme importance to us. Please allow us to mention that according to the internal reports throughout your visit, as soon as we received your request about keeping in the freezer your breast milk supply, our Public Relations staff provided assistance in storing the supply and they provided the instruction that every time you need it you were be able to approach to their desktops or dialing number zero directly from your room. We were looking through the reports in order to check if they received a notification that the milk was not stored properly, nevertheless we did not find any. We sincerely regret to read the comments and we would like to apologize for any inconvenience that this situation may have caused. We sincerely appreciate that you have taken the time to bring this matter to our attention and you may rest assured that this will be shared with the departments involved as we are always improving our standards. We sincerely hope that you will return to Mexico many more times in the future and once again giving us the opportunity to host you at one of our many Palace Resorts. Cordially, Carlos Cañedo Moon Palace Cancun
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Pleasant experience!

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: The food was fantastic! The night life was incredible with the options to keep up entertained and staff were great! The hotel was rather large.
Cons: The rooms - our room was very damp not to mention meant for children.
Trip was great, food was incredible however when we checked into our room, we noticed we had an 'adjoining' room for families and we were in the 'kids' side. There was no alcohol in our fridge, our robes and slippers were kids sizes and the liquor cabinent was locked. We called the operator to have adult robes sent up but after a day of being in the room, and figuring our house cleaner or someone would recognize there were adults staying that they'd unlock everything. We finally got beer on our last night (of 6) that we stayed there. Room service was incredible, food was delicious and really 4-5 star at the Grand (where we could take the lobby to lobby bus).
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2017 by Moon Palace Cancun, Hotel Management
Dear L, Thank you for your preference and for taking the time in sharing with us your feedback regarding your most recent visit to Moon Palace Cancun. We sincerely regret to read that your experience was not as positive as expected. Please allow me to mention that our amazing Family connecting suites are designed for kids and adults, therefore on the kids room (that is normally the double bed room) alcohol is not supplied. You may rest assured that your comments have been shared with the respective areas for their attention in order to avoid this event be of repeated occurrence. We sincerely hope to be welcoming you back and regain your trust in us. We remain at your service. Cordially, Carlos Cañedo Moon Palace Cancun
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami

Beautiful hotel

Posted May 3, 2017
Ugly beach but the resort is big enough to spend the entire day filled with activities. Don't get too excited about the $750 or $1500 resort credit because they do charge you 16% tax on the amount you use and certain limits apply to excursions and spa facilities. Other than trying to brainwash us into a 90 min timeshare speal on their new hotel The Grand everything else was pretty much excellent including the view
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017 by Moon Palace Cancun, Hotel Management
Dear Janeise, Thank you for your preference in Palace Resorts and for taking some of your valuable time in sharing with us a review of your most recent visit. Please allow me to mention that we have available in our main website along with our Palace Resorts app the description of the services available with the Resort Credits, including description of the service fee. Please be sure that your comments are very important to us and we certainly will be delighted to welcome you again very soon. Warm Regards, Carlos Cañedo Moon Palace Cancun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Amazing Food and Service

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: It was HUGE, rooms were clean and a "garden view" has a view of the ocean
Cons: Not really. it was a sprawling resort though
Location: Tolum was very good. Our guide Erik was amazing
This is my 5th trip to Cancun and the 3rd to an all inclusive. I could not say enough ggod things abut the grounds, service and food. Amazinf time
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2017 by Moon Palace Cancun, Hotel Management
Dear Derek, Thank you so much for taking the time in sharing with us a review of your most recent visit to Moon Palace Cancun. We strive to provide the highest levels of service for all of our guests and it is rewarding to know that this was the case with you. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again in the very near future. Best Regards, Carlos Cañedo Manager Moon Palace Cancun