Ratings based on 2,209 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

A great hotel

Posted Jan 25, 2017
We enjoyed our stay -- the staff was so friendly and accommodating. The grounds were so well maintained; beach was beautiful. I hope to go back next year.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2017 by Social Media, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting a great review for us, we really value your feedback. We are delighted to see you mention our great customer service, we will forward your compliments to our staff. It was a great pleasure for us to welcome you at Privilege.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Great

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Was great place and best on island, I am looking forward to going again next year. Hotel and pools great and never wanted for anything with staff and waiters on top of game.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2017 by Social Media, Hotel Management
We appreciate you took the time for sharing your experience and also for giving us the opportunity to thank you. The efforts of our team worthwhile when it results in your satisfaction. We would be happy to welcome you again to provide you with more unforgettable moments.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Best staff ever!!!

Posted Jan 22, 2017
The hotel was great, the food was good, and the staff were WONDERFUL! Misael at the beach bar was amazing and made our trip so much fun!!! Great service!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2017 by Social Media, Hotel Management
We truly appreciate your review, it is our best reward from you. We are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay with us and your words will improve our staff motivation to work better day by day. We would like to express our sincere thanks on behalf of the employees. We look forward to welcoming you again, we will always try to cater for all your needs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Excellent hotel in the beach

Posted Jan 20, 2017
The rooms were much larger then we had anticipated. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly (especially Cecilia at the front desk). The beach was incredible. And be sure to book massages. Tere gave me one of the best massages I have ever had, and I have had a lot of massages. We will definitely be coming back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2017 by Social Media, Hotel Management
We are very happy that you had received the best service. This comment will motivate the staff to be every day better and better and they will get your congratulations. We remain at your service and we will be very pleased to welcome you in your next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania, USA

Our 2nd stay was every bit as good as the first!

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: No towel games played at the pool or beach. Small, intimate size and in-town location.
Cons: Offer more local dishes for dinner at the Beach Club.
Location: Excellent proximity to beach and town. Plenty to do and see within walking distance. Rent a golf cart and go see the island.
This was the first time we've done a repeat visit to a hotel and we loved it. Again! We were there the beginning of January 2017. Some upgrades and renovations had been made to the hotel and they look lovely! Now there is a nice little snack bar with seating right next to the pool bar. The beach restaurant must be under new management because it's now called The Privilege Beach Club. Raul, Misrael, and Omar outdid themselves and provided excellent beach service. The taco dishes and ceviches were as good as we remember them. The dinner menu was just OK. When it was the Cafe del Mar it seemed there were more interesting menu choices at dinner. The buffet in Sabor was fine. Every night has a different food theme, which made it fun. The food is nicely presented and the service is excellent. However, it's a buffet and items will be hit or miss depending on personal taste. You certainly won't go hungry, though. And if buffets aren't your thing, there are many excellent restaurants within walking distance to the hotel. We were in a Suite Deluxe and it had more than enough space for the two of us. The only complaint we had was minor. While there is plenty of storage in the suite, it just isn't very practical. It would be nice to have a dresser to store clothing in. Our stay was most pleasant and we'll be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2017 by Social Media, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are glad we were able to satisfy all your expectations regarding the upgrades and especially our staff as that is our key element. We are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay with us and your words will improve our staff motivation to work better day by day. We would like to express our sincere thanks on behalf of the employees. We look forward to welcoming you again, we will always try to cater for all your needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Very nice hotel with beautiful beach.

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Front desk service
Location: Great location near the best beach on Isla Mujeres, Playa Northe.
Overall everything was really good. The only thing what we didn't like was front desk service. People who work there was not nice. We need wait for our room because was not ready.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2017 by Social Media, Hotel Management
Thank you for your opinion, at Privilege we are always working to improve our services and facilities and the best way is listening to you. Thanks to opinions like yours we are in constantly improvement and growth
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, Ohio

Very Pleasant and Very Relaxing

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: Very nice staff. Very nice location and facilities.
Cons: During busy times, staff more than one person for room service. Had to call a few times before getting and answer.
Location: Very quiet. Day trip around the island is nice to do but sit back and relax. Let them serve you all day.
My girlfriend and I, both in our early 20's, decided to stay here on a whim. With a college student budget, Privilege Aluxes went above and beyond our expectations. I will itemize my review below as lengthy reviews can be hard to read. The food water and drinks- All-inclusive definitely worth it. Constant drinks and food on the beach all day. Perfect. A+ food. The facilities- I found the cigarette butts on the beach to be a bit annoying but the beach is very nice by the beach club. There is a lot of boat traffic but nothing bothersome. They all stay clear of shore. The room was perfect, A/C worked great, bed was very comfortable. Definitely opt for Suite Duluxe or higher. The others are not worth it in my opinion if you want nice views etc. The staff- Greeted with champagne upon arrival. Room service was stupendous. Waiters were always great. Just like anywhere else, waiters notice those who tip. Tip well and you'll have phenomenal service. The wristbands and signing- It's Mexico. Get over it. They are tight on security and it's nice to have. I just had them put my wristband on loose so I could slip it off for bed. The signing is not a concern. They are just trying to confirm you and they are not getting scammed. The island- Very nice. Very quiet at night. No night life but this place is for relaxation. Took a golf cart out one day. The island does have a bit of a trash issue but again, that's Mexico. Overall, very relaxing and we are already planning to come back again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2017 by Social Media, Hotel Management
We are delighted to learn that you had an amazing time with us. It is so encouraging to know that you enjoyed the whole experience at Privilege Aluxes. We found your praises very gratifying, after the work and effort made by our team. We thank you for your comments and look forward to providing you with the best of our attention and service excellence soon again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, good food, good drinks, great stay!

Posted Jan 11, 2017
We did the all-inclusive package and I wouldn't recommend anything else. The staff was excellent and all of the facilities were kept nice with daily maintenance. We loved our stay and can't wait to go back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2017 by Social Media, Hotel Management
Thanks for sharing your experience as a satisfied guest with others. Your testimony is very important to us and we truly appreciate it. We would like to assure you our commitment to continue improving to keep offering more unforgettable moments.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Great place to stay staff were very helpful and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2017 by Social Media, Hotel Management
Get good opinions about our services, facilities and care provided during your stay is the best prize we can receive. It is a pleasure to receive your congratulations, we will always try our best to fulfill your needs
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Big hotel in an small island

Posted Jan 8, 2017
The hotel is very big. On The best zone of Isla Mujeres. The rooms are wonderful very large and lovely. The beach is public but with good service. Nice restaurants but it is not a luxury resort. Dress code is absurd.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2017 by Social Media, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding Privilege. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your vacation with us. We are looking forward to a new opportunity to welcome you to Privilege Aluxes, Isla Mujeres