Ratings based on 2,005 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Weston

Great hotel!

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Very nice facilities, beach front, and our room view was fantastic!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from f

Best beach experience I've had.

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Having been to the Yucatan area of Mexico nearly 10 different times, I have to say that this hotel had my favorite beach experience. The sand was fine, the huts with chairs were easy to get, the wait staff was responsive, and the water was perfect. Aqua in color with barely any seaweed. The food was average, If you stick to the seafood. Any time I had beef I was left wondering what I just ate, but that's Mexico sometimes. The suite delux pool view was incredibly spacious, and had a great bathroom and balcony. The staff on the beach seemed to go out of their way (thanks Sergio) to make sure you were taken care of, but the front desk, pool bar and other wait staff was nothing to write home about. We noticed that more people at his hotel had been there multiple times than any other hotel weve stayed at. If I could change one thing, it would be the pool. Cool it down somehow please! The pool's shape was fine, but the pool bar was not good. It was rare to see this many chairs open at the pool, but I think it was the fact that the beach was nice, the pool was very hot, and the bar staff was slow led to the pool scene being dead most of the time. If I could change two things, the second would be something not so easy to fix, which would be the nightlife. There is nothing going on after 10pm at this hotel. Maybe it was a good thing because it forces you to go to bed early so you can have a good day, but I like having a nightlife that you don't have to leave to get.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Flowood, MS

Great hotel with friendly staff

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Loved everything about the Privilege Aluxes. We were given a free upgrade because of it being our 20th Anniversary trip. Definitely worth paying for the all inclusive option. We'll be back for sure!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CUAUTLA

EXCELENTE

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: INSTALACIONES
Cons: EL BUFFETE DE DESAYUNO
Location: CUALQUIER TIPO DE ACTIVIDADES DE PLAYA, COMERCIOS Y TOURS
UN CUARTO MUYAMPLIO, MUY LIMPIO,MUY BUENA ATENCION Y MUY BUENA PLAYA
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wichita, KS

Excellent Island Resort

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Location, food quality, room comfort
Cons: The gratuity situation--difficult to know what is expected/appropriate. Maybe a pre-pay option?
Location: Playa Norte across the street. Get a golf cart; explore the island. Swim with whale sharks--90 minute boat ride but you won't forget the experience!
Privilege Aluxes is a beautiful, clean, quiet resort on Isla Mujeres. We chose Isla Mujeres over Cancun for the island's reputation as a place geared more toward relaxation than excitement. Privilege exceeded our expectations. Our rooms were fantastic (suites with jacuzzi tubs on the balconies) with views of the ocean and Cancun across the channel. We chose the all-inclusive package, and everything including room service and room mini-bar was part of the package. The hotel has only 3 restaurants, but we found them more than sufficient: the buffet (Sabor) serves a decent variety of choices for all 3 meals, and is open all day except for an hour or so for breakfast/lunch and lunch/dinner changeover. The "fancy" restaurant (Satay) serves Asian cuisine--sushi and a fair variety of entrees.The beach club has a good variety of appetizers and lunch selections during the day, and a small but good menu for dinner. We found ourselves at the beach club for lunch and dinner most of the time. Overall, the food quality was excellent--the best of any Mexican resort at which we have stayed. Bartenders and servers were friendly and attentive, but waiters at the beach bar were not as engaged and seemed very tip-conscious. The resort was not crowded at all, and many days we had one of the pools (there are two) to ourselves. Seating at restaurants was never a problem, but reservations are required for Satay. Great location on Playa Norte. Very happy with the experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Location: If your looking for a trip out to see the whale sharks, I recommend you contact Delfin Dive on Ilsa Mujeres. delfindiving.net and talk to Arturo.
Wonderful stay. The staff from the moment we arrived was very attentive with a special thanks to Henry who took care of our room and added extra charm to our stay. Very nice people here that know how to make you feel at home.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2016
We have stayed here several times and love it! We do not purchase the all inclusive because we love enjoying the restaurants on the island. We enjoy the hotel breakfast which is very nice. Along with just about any fruit, anti pasta, cereal, yogurt, pastries, etc. you could enjoy, there is an any way you want it egg or omelet station. Juices, milk, coffee, tea or breakfast cocktails are available as well. We have not tried any of the spa services so I can't comment. The pool area is beautiful and the beach is PERFECT. The waiters providing food and beverage at the beach club are friendly, attentive and prompt.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisville, KY

Our second stay and we will return again and again

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: Our room was on the street side but be had an amazing view of the town and marina!!! The jetted tube on the patio was also very nice.
Cons: We would suggest better lighting on both sides of the bed for better reading and a shelf in the shower to set toiletries on and a little step to shave
Location: Get a golf cart and explore the island....you can't get lost!! We highly suggest The Soggy Peso for Monday Lobster tacos!!! They are great!!
We LOVE PA!! The Hotel is located on the beach, the water is amazing!! The each bar restaurant and staff our wonderful!! Since our last stay we can say the food at the beach restaurant for lunch and dinner and Sabor has improved!! The pool area and pool bar are unparalleled!! Jose can mix a mean margarita and mojito!! When we arrived for our second stay we felt like we were at home!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Really did not expect to find this

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: JUST ABOUT EVERYTHING
Cons: I do not smoke - my wife does as do many other guest at the hotel when we were there. There can be some kind of comprise for people who smoke.
Location: Great location, near downtown and all things you need to see or do.
Had a room with a hot tub and an huge deck. Was at breakfast - asked to fill out a survey about the hotel - have been there before. I told them the room was great, but could use some lounge chairs on that huge deck. Next thing I know there are two loungers delivered to our room. MANICFO - worked out great. Also no problem to get an ice cold bucket of Coors Light delivered to the room. Really great stay, great rooms, great food, great service. Only problem I have is this place is starting to get FOUND - more people will find out about this great hotel and now what once was no problem becomes one. Example - my wife is a smoker, I do not and never have (bad habit). Regardless, her and many others enjoy a smoke, the hotel has started restricting smoking areas. WHY? it is an open area,, cars, buses, boats are going by - the pollutions from them are much worse than a smoke ten feet away. If you want to not be around the smokers - go to the nice a/c area that is reserved for you - why do you have to take over only area left for smokers - they mean you no harm - they only want a small area where they can enjoy a smoke - why do non - smokers have to have the whole resort? As said before, I have never smoked and never will - but smokers have the same right as everyone else - they paid for their vacation and are entitled to enjoy it as others. That is the only complaint my wife ( who smokes ) and I have against this resort - THINK OF ALL YOUR GUESTS! Other than that great resort.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Perfect resort.

Posted Jul 18, 2016
This was our second stay here and it was just as perfect as the first! This place is wonderful. The staff are very helpful and willing to help with whatever you need. The spa is great; my husband and I got a couples massage that was awesome. All the restaurants are great; opt for the all inclusive. Can't wait till our next trip here!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by Social Media, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your preference. We appreciate your detailed compliments of the service, the spa and the restaurants. We are particularly glad to hear that you will be staying with us again in the future and we look forward to it!