Ratings based on 2,564 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mass

Decent hotel with a great location.

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Check in was easy. Was offered drinks while waiting in line. Arrived a few hours early and was given our pass so we could go eat and sit at the bar. Room First impression was great. Clean room. No odd smells or stains. The view was beautiful. The balcony was great. The shower was nice and double vanity was a plus. Bars All of the bars were fairly well stocked. A few decent brands but you need to ask for them. Drinks were delicious and well made. The in pool bar during the day was pretty crazy. The pool side portion of it was nice to sit and watch the shows at night. Plenty of tables and chairs. The sports bar was packed during the nba finals and it seems the shut off the A/C during the game and it was way to hot to enjoy it. The other bars were a tad on the nicer side but all were good and up to par. Pools If you would like to hit the pool up make sure you get there early. Everyday the seats were all taken by 9:30 AM. At least half of the seats were not in use but someone had placed their towel on it and folded it down to reserve it. Most of these chair were vacant until the afternoon and it was pretty annoying not being able to find a chair. To me that's just not good etiquette. I'm not sure how this resort manages spring break because from what I could tell there wouldn't be enough room. The pool with the bar wasn't in the best shape (i.e. Portions of the bar and in pool tables were missing) could use some major work. Food Pretty good in my book.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Not so friendly desk staff

Posted Jun 11, 2016
I've been to riu las americas in cancun and riu palace in riviera msya. Riu hotel in cancun is the worst. Not so friendly desk staff, food is not good, nothing goid to say about this hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Posted Jun 8, 2016
Pros: Great view, clean, excellent bartenders
Cons: - Reprogram the elevator so that unoccupied elevators default to the first floor
Location: - Downtown Cancun via Bus/Taxi - Walkable to the club area
Pros: - Staff was excellent. Very friendly, helpful and courteous - Dining was pretty good, though one may get tired of having the same buffet food for days - Nightly entertainment was on point and enjoyable - Close to Downtown Cancun and the club area Cons: - Mix of "Spring Break" and "Couples" environment, with the majority being the "Spring Break" group. If you're looking for a quiet vacation, you may wish to consider a different hotel. The main pool area is occupied by Spring Breakers. Those looking for a quieter pool, use the one by the "Corner Bar". - The elevators are small, hold a max of 8 people and is poorly programmed - it would be more efficient if unoccupied lifts default to the lobby.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta,GA.

Very nice hotel on the beach

Posted Jun 8, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, very nice restaurants and excellent food.
Cons: needs more ice machines, ( in each floor if is possible )
Location: Plaza caracol and a very nice supercenter cross of the street, Ferry to Isla mujeres at half of block, Coco Bongo is a nice Disco at walking distance
This is a great hotel on the beach. Also has a great shopping centers with a walk distance. Nice shows every night and overall good place to stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from So. California

Good enough to say...yes I like it

Posted May 19, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness and food.
Cons: stop using generic alcohol and give more variety beer brands
Location: Only thing good about location is its close to the clubs and bars. Other than that you are surrounded by hotels beach area is eroding need more sand
I really do like the food and quality. Steakhouse was slightly overrated though overly popular. I have had better steaks on a grill. Buffet was great What I do not like is how all the bars "hide" the better brands of alcohol...for instance if you want a mojito or any mixed drink they use the generic brand first unless you specifically ask for the known brand. Please get rid of the generic alcohol altogether also add more beer variety
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from costa rica

Great!

Posted May 11, 2016
Pros: great food beautiful beach
Everything went better than I expected. people treat me kind!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san antonio, tx.

Food was impressive.

Posted May 11, 2016
Pros: Bar service was incredible.
Cons: Music at the pool could have been better.
Location: Excursions are a van ride about 55 minutes away.
We tried all of the restaurants and enjoyed all of the food. In addition, the buffet was excellent. Food was fresh and tasted great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

To many guest for the hotel

Posted May 4, 2016
When I arrived at 3:30 pm my room it wasn't ready , they gave me another room when I got my room carrring all my luggage because there wasn't staff to do it I open the room oh! Surprise a women screaming from the bathroom jumping on my they gave me a room already taken. It was crazy too many guest and not enough staff. My staying was for 3 nights they told me make a reservation for the signature restaurants when I tried to do it all the days was full already in my first day , even if I explained I just arrived and I would like at least couple times get dinner the no nice lady on the desk told me it's full sorry . If it wasn't for the nice head of waiters who give me the opportunity to save me a place for two nights I won't have any.they should say make reservation in the moment you book your trip. In the swimming pool no enough towels and you can't use the room towells ! The security box it want reset so I had to wait until the manager has time to go and fixed . The food it wasn't impress
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 2, 2016
Was a great place to stay. Food and drinks were good and the people are very friendly. Would stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An amazing all inclusive hotel

Posted May 1, 2016
Riu Cancun was amazing. The buffet was delicious at every meal. The service at every bar was fantastic. The pools were great but the beach was even better. The nightly shows were always quality and very entertaining and the Pacha nightclub which is for hotel guest only was perfect when you wanted to party and not have to go out. The location is definitely the best in the area as you can walk to the nightclub strip and lots of shops. My only complaint would be that you have to book 48 hours in advance for the gourmet restaurants which was very inconvenient and hard to manage when going on all day tours and the food was better at the buffet anyway. If your looking for an all inclusive in Cancun I definitely suggest here.