Ratings based on 2,557 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Beautiful Hotel, Friendly People

Posted Jul 18, 2016
First time at this hotel and Cancun with my boyfriend and it was amazing. The food was okay, not terrible, not amazing..just okay. The other vacationers were super friendly. You'll find the crowd to either couples or groups. Age ranged from 20s-30s. Hotel facilities were constantly being cleaned. Swim up bar pool not ideal for swimming unless its before 10am. Staff was great, plan to tip the bartenders otherwise you'll likely get called out on it lol.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Y., WI

Five star service

Posted Jun 27, 2016
We were beyond pleased with this hotel for our girls' trip. The staff was beyond excellent and very accommodating to our every need. The location is perfect as we were blocks away from downtown. The food was superb, and we enjoyed choosing from five different restaurants. There was a great nightlife was fun nightly shows and a lively nightclub on site. I would go back in a heartbeat!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful

Posted Jun 27, 2016
I always stay at this hotel for the last 11 years I love it
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from texas

Amazing

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Pros: The food was delicious we had the buffet every night it was the best
Cons: Nothing really maybe more umbrellas
Location: Amazing everything but airline.......,
The people were amazing staff so pleasant and helpful....the only thing that ruin our trip was the flight home unfortunately Expedia offered us spirit airlines with a connection in Fort Lauderdale sadly there was no way we could have made the connection as our luggage had been moved after we hunted it down and went thru customs our ticket had the wrong gate we asled the recheck baggage people the gate they as well gave us the wrong number we ran(and we are too old to run) then at the wrong they said they would call the right gate so we were left in Fort Lauderdale no room no ride no clothes
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sma

Hotel ótimo ! fácil acesso , praia tranquila!

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Otima estadia! Proximo a rua das boates e restaurantes onde fica a cocobongo (5min a pé). Ponto de onibus em frente. Agentes turismo p compra de passeios dentro do hotel. 4 restaurantes com menu p janta + 1 restaurante tipo buffet enorme( cafe/almoço/janta). Buffet lanche 24 hrs no sport bar. Otimos drinks.praia em frente tipo piscina. Standup, vela , caiaque e snorkel incluido ( paga taxa 2 dol p utilizar). Quartos nao tao modernos, mas com vista maravilhosa, limpeza otima e cama confortavel. Buffet grd enjoa com tanta fritura.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Wonderful 4 days!

Posted Jun 24, 2016
We spent 4 days at the Riu Cancun and had a wonderful time. The staff was great, the pools were nice and the beach was beautiful. The only complaint we had was that the food wasn't the greatest, there were some better days than others though.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Love this hotel except for the beach, some seaweeds on the shore need to be cleaned.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mass

Decent hotel with a great location.

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Check in was easy. Was offered drinks while waiting in line. Arrived a few hours early and was given our pass so we could go eat and sit at the bar. Room First impression was great. Clean room. No odd smells or stains. The view was beautiful. The balcony was great. The shower was nice and double vanity was a plus. Bars All of the bars were fairly well stocked. A few decent brands but you need to ask for them. Drinks were delicious and well made. The in pool bar during the day was pretty crazy. The pool side portion of it was nice to sit and watch the shows at night. Plenty of tables and chairs. The sports bar was packed during the nba finals and it seems the shut off the A/C during the game and it was way to hot to enjoy it. The other bars were a tad on the nicer side but all were good and up to par. Pools If you would like to hit the pool up make sure you get there early. Everyday the seats were all taken by 9:30 AM. At least half of the seats were not in use but someone had placed their towel on it and folded it down to reserve it. Most of these chair were vacant until the afternoon and it was pretty annoying not being able to find a chair. To me that's just not good etiquette. I'm not sure how this resort manages spring break because from what I could tell there wouldn't be enough room. The pool with the bar wasn't in the best shape (i.e. Portions of the bar and in pool tables were missing) could use some major work. Food Pretty good in my book.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Not so friendly desk staff

Posted Jun 11, 2016
I've been to riu las americas in cancun and riu palace in riviera msya. Riu hotel in cancun is the worst. Not so friendly desk staff, food is not good, nothing goid to say about this hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Posted Jun 8, 2016
Pros: Great view, clean, excellent bartenders
Cons: - Reprogram the elevator so that unoccupied elevators default to the first floor
Location: - Downtown Cancun via Bus/Taxi - Walkable to the club area
Pros: - Staff was excellent. Very friendly, helpful and courteous - Dining was pretty good, though one may get tired of having the same buffet food for days - Nightly entertainment was on point and enjoyable - Close to Downtown Cancun and the club area Cons: - Mix of "Spring Break" and "Couples" environment, with the majority being the "Spring Break" group. If you're looking for a quiet vacation, you may wish to consider a different hotel. The main pool area is occupied by Spring Breakers. Those looking for a quieter pool, use the one by the "Corner Bar". - The elevators are small, hold a max of 8 people and is poorly programmed - it would be more efficient if unoccupied lifts default to the lobby.